SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-25-2019, 12:50 PM
PeteCress's Avatar
PeteCress PeteCress is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Paoli, PA - USA, AKA "The Navel Of The Universe"
Posts: 830
Dedicated Fanless SageTV server?

I am thinking about building up a fanless (no moving parts) PC to use as a dedicated box for SageTV - intending to record TV to a NAS box.
  • Would it be practical to run the Linux version of Sage...just to save a buck on the OS?
    .
  • Does anybody have any hardware recommendations? I'm thinking Sage does not need a lot of horsepower - or does it? I have one remote user which seems to invoke trans-coding on the server side.
__________________
Server: SageTV 7, Windows 7, Intel i7 @3.5GHz, 8 GB RAM, 80-gig SSD drive
Clients: HD200*4 over Cat5e Ethernet + Asus Zen running Client over WiFi-ac + 1 HD200 remote at another residence
Plugins: (none yet, looking for recommendations)
Storage: NetGear Ultra-6 NAS 10 TB total w/dual redundancy. Plus (3) 2-tb local drives for RecordedTV.
Capture: 3 Silicon Dust HomeRun tuner boxes (6 tuners total)
Program Source: OTA antenna
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-25-2019, 01:30 PM
UgaData's Avatar
UgaData UgaData is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 372
I am using an Intel NUC as my Sage server. Works great. I was able to load Windows 7 on it (it is a NUC7 with only USB 3 ports - I also have a NUC8 and I can't get Windows 7 to load). I use Ceton and HDHR cablecard tuners.

I don't see why you couldn't run Linux on a NUC but I can't answer that specifically.
__________________
"Unencumbered by the thought process"

The only constant in the Universe is change.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-25-2019, 06:30 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,289
I very seldom use SageTV usually for only watching LIVETV. I run it on a windows VM in my synology NAS. My Main Choice for DVR is Channels DVR which I also run on my NAS.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-25-2019, 08:23 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,871
I think unRAID Linux should be anyone's first choice for a SageTV PC.

I have two HTPCs that are fanless and completely solid state but these are intended to be used as clients rather than servers. They use HD-Plex cases where the case acts as a heat sink with heat pipes that draw heat from the CPU to the case. I have the earlier generation H3 and H1.

https://www.hdplex.com/

__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-26-2019, 07:29 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,289
All you need to run SageTV is a $200 NUC.... no need for a large Power hungry server.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-20-2020, 06:04 AM
PeteCress's Avatar
PeteCress PeteCress is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Paoli, PA - USA, AKA "The Navel Of The Universe"
Posts: 830
Quote:
Originally Posted by UgaData View Post
I am using an Intel NUC as my Sage server. Works great. I was able to load Windows 7 on it (it is a NUC7 with only USB 3 ports -
Can you give the model# (NUC7i3DNHNC1, NUC7CJYH...) memory, and CPU?

There seems to be a large number of NUC 7 configs and, while I want to be sure of getting enough horsepower to do the job, I don't want to blow the big bucks on an i7 if I don't need to.
__________________
Server: SageTV 7, Windows 7, Intel i7 @3.5GHz, 8 GB RAM, 80-gig SSD drive
Clients: HD200*4 over Cat5e Ethernet + Asus Zen running Client over WiFi-ac + 1 HD200 remote at another residence
Plugins: (none yet, looking for recommendations)
Storage: NetGear Ultra-6 NAS 10 TB total w/dual redundancy. Plus (3) 2-tb local drives for RecordedTV.
Capture: 3 Silicon Dust HomeRun tuner boxes (6 tuners total)
Program Source: OTA antenna

Last edited by PeteCress; 07-20-2020 at 06:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-20-2020, 06:50 AM
UgaData's Avatar
UgaData UgaData is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 372
Intel NU7i3BNH - It is a 7th Gen i3 Intel CPU (and I think it is a quad core). Depending on the OS you wish to use, an earlier NUC (NUC6, NUC5) may be a better choice. Windows 7 doesn't have native drivers for USB 3, if you're going with Win 10 it won't matter. I don't remember what the GHz are but I think it is around 2.5GHZ. Sage doesn't need a super powered CPU.

This model has no memory and no storage. It uses laptop memory modules (I have 8GB - 2 4GB modules). For Storage it supports both (1) 2.5" drive and (1) M.2 SSD. I have a 120GB M.2 SSD for OS drive and a 750GB HDD for recordings.
__________________
"Unencumbered by the thought process"

The only constant in the Universe is change.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-20-2020, 01:25 PM
PeteCress's Avatar
PeteCress PeteCress is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Paoli, PA - USA, AKA "The Navel Of The Universe"
Posts: 830
Thanks for the specifics - it helps a lot.

I have all my movies on a NAS box.

Currently trying to dope out the setup on a little box that presents a single drive as a LAN share for RecordedTV.

Once I get that working, I think I'll be ready to buy the NUC.
__________________
Server: SageTV 7, Windows 7, Intel i7 @3.5GHz, 8 GB RAM, 80-gig SSD drive
Clients: HD200*4 over Cat5e Ethernet + Asus Zen running Client over WiFi-ac + 1 HD200 remote at another residence
Plugins: (none yet, looking for recommendations)
Storage: NetGear Ultra-6 NAS 10 TB total w/dual redundancy. Plus (3) 2-tb local drives for RecordedTV.
Capture: 3 Silicon Dust HomeRun tuner boxes (6 tuners total)
Program Source: OTA antenna
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-20-2020, 04:50 PM
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 214
I also have a 7th gen NUC i3 running Windows 10 and it is a great little box. I use mine for my HTPC but it also runs SageTV service and serves as a network recorder for my Unraid server.

I have no doubt that it could be a full time server handling multiple input/output streams if need be.

Last edited by Zogg; 07-20-2020 at 04:51 PM. Reason: added "running Windows 10"
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-21-2020, 08:18 AM
checkbin checkbin is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Central NJ, USA
Posts: 73
PeteCress, I would definitely recommend using Linux over Windows, and not just to save a few dollars. I used to run SageTV on Windows and always had occasional video glitches in recordings and other typical Windows weirdness. After switching to Linux (Ubuntu specifically) it has been bullet proof and I very rarely have any issues at all with recordings or stability. Also highly recommend a NUC, they work great and are inexpensive.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-06-2020, 06:20 PM
PeteCress's Avatar
PeteCress PeteCress is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Paoli, PA - USA, AKA "The Navel Of The Universe"
Posts: 830
Do you run it headless?

If so, which remote desktop do you use?

TeamViewer?, Chrome Remote?, something else?
__________________
Server: SageTV 7, Windows 7, Intel i7 @3.5GHz, 8 GB RAM, 80-gig SSD drive
Clients: HD200*4 over Cat5e Ethernet + Asus Zen running Client over WiFi-ac + 1 HD200 remote at another residence
Plugins: (none yet, looking for recommendations)
Storage: NetGear Ultra-6 NAS 10 TB total w/dual redundancy. Plus (3) 2-tb local drives for RecordedTV.
Capture: 3 Silicon Dust HomeRun tuner boxes (6 tuners total)
Program Source: OTA antenna
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-06-2020, 08:23 PM
Striker:WG Striker:WG is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 279
If you are planning to setup a NAS and you want to run a linux based version of Sage, i'd throw a vote in the ring for running an Unraid server.

Unraid is a multi-drive NAS solution that also runs Virtual Machines and Docker containers. I set one up several months ago and it has been a fantastic step forward in my setup.

Not sure if you've committed to hardware already, but Unraid does offer a free 30 day trial that you can install and try out the setup. Even if you have some old hardware kicking around, its worth the time to see what it can do.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-06-2020, 08:49 PM
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteCress View Post
Do you run it headless?

If so, which remote desktop do you use?

TeamViewer?, Chrome Remote?, something else?
If you're talking about Unraid, once it's installed you can just access it via a webpage UI. You can also log in on the console (monitor) but you don't have to. Mine is in a closet upstairs. Then you can VNC into any VM, or run a web-based console terminal for Unraid itself or other dockers/VM's that support it.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building New SageTv/PlayOn Server: Dedicated Video Card? nyc6035 Hardware Support 1 02-17-2014 11:46 AM
ATOM D525 fanless server! bjkiller Hardware Support 3 01-29-2011 11:20 PM
Dedicated Server Zippster SageTV Software 5 06-23-2008 07:42 AM
New dedicated SageTV Server mazakmaster Hardware Support 8 05-24-2006 09:44 AM
SW for dedicated Video Server; XP or Win Server 2003 Blacksheep General Discussion 10 11-30-2005 10:46 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.