SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

View Poll Results: What firmware version were you running? Did the Superbowl record successfully?
FW >= 1.0.1.51, Successfully recorded 1 50.00%
FW < 1.0.1.51, Successfully recorded 0 0%
FW >= 1.0.1.51, Recording failed 1 50.00%
FW < 1.0.1.51, Recording failed 0 0%
Voters: 2. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2011, 10:57 AM
jason531 jason531 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 61
Superbowl DRM (Ceton InfiniTV)

Update: I got a call from Ceton support. I sincerely believe this is not their fault and am extremely impressed by them. They are working on these issues and I trust that they will get this worked out. Keep in mind that all of the layers of DRM are rather complex and not under Ceton's control.

There has been some discussion about this in another thread, but I am trying to gather more information to find out what happened and felt it best to start a new one. A number of Ceton InfiniTV users have reported that their recording of the Superbowl stopped abruptly at the end of the third quarter. Given that I have had issues recording NFL games with the InfiniTV in the past, and am running the beta firmware that supposedly fixes the issue, I initially assumed that Ceton is to blame.

Upon further review, I am not so sure. There are mixed reports of people running the beta firmware being able to record the game without incident, using various methods. I have a theory about how people running the beta firmware could have had this issue based upon the actions (or inaction) of their local provider. The full details are here over at TGB.

In summary, according to Jeremy Hammer (VP Systems Integration, Ceton Corporation) there are a number of levels of copy protection including CCI, CGMS-A, and RC (broadcast flag). A flag with a higher priority will override another, as long as it is actually set. This is where, according to my theory, the local provider comes into play. I suspect that Fox set something at the CGMA-A or RC level precisely at the end of the third quarter. If your local provider left the signal untouched and didn't set CCI to "copy freely" then your recording got screwed.

I am not a cable systems engineer or DRM expert, so please let me know if I have something wrong here. I am doing my best to stick with the information provided by Jeremy Hammer, who is not just an executive but apparently does hands-on coding -- he should be considered an authoritative source on this.

So, here are my questions:
Did you attempt to record the Superbowl using the InfiniTV? If so, how (SageMCTuner, SageDCT, or WMC7)? Did it record successfully? What firmware version and HW version were you running at the time? Who is your cable provider and market?

Thank you for all of your help.

-Jason
__________________
Sage Clients: STX-HD100, STP-HD200
Sage Server: Intel E8400 Core2 Duo@3GHz | Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R MB | 8GB RAM | ATI HD4350 GPU | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Ceton InfiniTV 4
4x500GB RAID5 | Intel ICH10R: 250GB OS/Programs | 1.13 TB Recordings
4x1.5TB RAID5 | eSATA Promise DS4600: 4.1 TB Archived recordings, DVD rips & other media, backups


Last edited by jason531; 02-09-2011 at 01:05 PM. Reason: More info from Ceton
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2011, 11:03 AM
jason531 jason531 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 61
Fail

My recording stopped at the end of the third quarter.
FW 1.0.1.51
HW 4790
Provider/Market: Comcast/Nashville
Methods: SageMCTuner and WMC7 (both failed)
__________________
Sage Clients: STX-HD100, STP-HD200
Sage Server: Intel E8400 Core2 Duo@3GHz | Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R MB | 8GB RAM | ATI HD4350 GPU | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Ceton InfiniTV 4
4x500GB RAID5 | Intel ICH10R: 250GB OS/Programs | 1.13 TB Recordings
4x1.5TB RAID5 | eSATA Promise DS4600: 4.1 TB Archived recordings, DVD rips & other media, backups

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2011, 12:06 PM
Mythikal's Avatar
Mythikal Mythikal is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 107
Successfully recorded.
FW 1.0.1.51
HW 4790
Provider/Market: Comcast/Minneapolis
Methods: SageDCT
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ceton Infinity-4 new multicard recorder compatible with SageTV???? Ericft Hardware Support 50 12-16-2010 08:33 AM
I wonder if Ceton is ever going to ship their cablecard adapters... panteragstk General Discussion 15 07-16-2010 04:26 AM
&^$%*# Superbowl sleonard The SageTV Community 15 02-05-2008 08:48 PM
Handling the Superbowl jbarr SageTV Customizations 11 02-06-2007 10:13 PM
Superbowl observation... GollyJer SageTV Software 10 02-06-2007 09:20 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.