SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-06-2004, 05:34 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,399
Thumbs up Hauppauge new 45 button remote control for sale

You get rigth here
Click here to buy

Last edited by SHS; 11-06-2004 at 05:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-06-2004, 06:27 PM
JasonJoel JasonJoel is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,043
Cool. As soon as it is supported in Matt's MediaMVP I'll probably pick up two of them.

Guess we'll have to wait for a new dongle.bin that supports it...

I like the button layout though.

Jason Bottjen
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-07-2004, 01:24 AM
mostlyfodder mostlyfodder is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 170
thanks for posting that! i just programmed girder to use the older IR remote that came with my hauppauge wintv pvr 250. this, after using 2 ATI remote wonders (too many buttons, and too many poorly-labelled buttons for gf to use easily. but ati's RF remote signal is quite strong) and a snapstream firefly remote (interference so bad not really useable.)

that new remote is only $14 !

$8 ground shipping, $15 two-day. woohoo!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-07-2004, 02:15 AM
mightyt's Avatar
mightyt mightyt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: CA.
Posts: 1,293
Do you know if it is still an OEM through Phillips like the previous remote that comes with the 250 cards?

I had to move off the Hauppauge Remote because it conflicted with my Phillips TV ...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-07-2004, 07:02 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,399
I find out mightyt
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-07-2004, 12:10 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
It uses the same Philips RC5 IR protocol as both of Hauppauge's older remotes. The old black one uses system code 0 (which intereferes with many Philips TVs), the old silver/grey one uses system code 31 (which _shouldn't_ interfere, but some have said it does), and the newest one uses system code 30 (which, again, shouldn't interfere, but who knows how the TVs look at the codes it gets).

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-07-2004, 05:59 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,399
Yup I got word back as what Opus4 is saying would be ture so the only thing you can do mightyt is get one and try it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-07-2004, 10:30 PM
mightyt's Avatar
mightyt mightyt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: CA.
Posts: 1,293
Thanks SHS and Opus4 ...

I suspect I would end up with the same results ... I'll just keep using the ATI until I either change TV's or maybe go with the Firefly at some point ...

T.

Last edited by mightyt; 11-14-2004 at 11:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-07-2004, 11:46 PM
mostlyfodder mostlyfodder is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 170
hey mightyt-

you can buy my firefly off me. it's brand new but doesn't seem to work well for me due to interference. (i'm losing about 10% of the keypresses.) i'm not trying to sell it really, in fact i'm not happy with it b/c of the interference which seems to be a not uncommon problem.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-08-2004, 08:41 AM
Stuntman's Avatar
Stuntman Stuntman is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hemet, CA - USA
Posts: 784
I currently use the remote that came with my PVR-250 cards.. I also use USB-UIRT with the SageClient to view my recordings.. Does anybody have a mapping for the Hauppauge Remote that I could add/import? I haven't been able to manually program Sage to perfectly map that remote to the way it would map if I had the 250 cards installed locally..

Thanks!!!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-08-2004, 08:57 AM
JUC's Avatar
JUC JUC is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vermont, USA
Posts: 1,399
I am currently using ATI's RF remote wonder. what would i need to do to change to an IR type remote ie. do the remotes come with a IR receiver? I currently have the actisys IR 200L for switching channels but I think that is only a sender.
thanks
JUC
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-11-2004, 06:49 PM
mostlyfodder mostlyfodder is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuntman
I currently use the remote that came with my PVR-250 cards.. I also use USB-UIRT with the SageClient to view my recordings.. Does anybody have a mapping for the Hauppauge Remote that I could add/import? I haven't been able to manually program Sage to perfectly map that remote to the way it would map if I had the 250 cards installed locally..

Thanks!!!
stuntman, i'm using the same IR remote from hauppauge that came with my pvr-250. i send signals to my USB-UIRT (which seems to pick them up from quite far away) and via the usb-uirt girder plugin. then i'm using the sendmessage program for sage that allows girder to send windows messages directly to sagetv without messing around (anymore) with keypress mapping. if you want my GML file i'll gladly email it. just pm me. or ask me questions about it here i'm glad to help-

fodder
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-11-2004, 07:00 PM
mostlyfodder mostlyfodder is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 170
juc- i just ordered the new (like updated within the past few weeks) IR remote from hauppauge mentioned at the start of this thread. it should arrive tomorrow but i do not think it's got an IR receiver. i'm planning on using the USB-UIRT IR-receiver i already own. that receiver works perfectly with the current hauppauge IR remote i'm using right now.

but i don't know why you'd switch from the ati remote wonder RF remote. i specifically ditched it b/c it's poorly labelled and has too many buttons. just too hard to use and i want something extremely simple. but i do miss the great distance that the ati remote got.

-fodder
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-11-2004, 07:07 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by mostlyfodder
i just ordered the new IR remote from hauppauge ... but i do not think it's got an IR receiver.
I know you are using a USB-UIRT, but just in case that comment makes anyone else wonder about this... the new remote doesn't need a new receiver. You can use it with the current Hauppauge IR receiver -- you just have to update the IR software, or at least modify/download irremote.ini to use this remote's codes.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-12-2004, 08:14 AM
JUC's Avatar
JUC JUC is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Vermont, USA
Posts: 1,399
I was thinking of switching because I would like a remote that can control both my PC as well as my other devices (receiver, tv...). I think the Niveus (maybe spelled wrong) has both RF and IR--might be a good option.
JUC
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-12-2004, 11:44 AM
mostlyfodder mostlyfodder is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 170
i think the niveus is like the x10/ati remote wonder in that it has RF only. should be easy to find out

i thought that the ati remote wonder II, however, does support both RF and learnable IR. can't look em up now though i'm "working".
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-12-2004, 12:15 PM
abasu2003's Avatar
abasu2003 abasu2003 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 551
niveus has both.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-12-2004, 09:38 PM
mostlyfodder mostlyfodder is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 170
those goofballs! i ordered the above remote and they sent me the old one! carp! well we'll see how they handle this one. it's gonna cost me more to send it back than to just eat it. grr....
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-14-2004, 03:16 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,399
Just let I post new MVP update today which is saying in Release Notes: New remote control support but I dosen't have one so I can't test it so any else has one can please on weahter not it work.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-14-2004, 06:05 PM
JasonJoel JasonJoel is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,043
Awesome. I think I'll order a couple of them then.

I would assume to get it to work with Matt's Sage front end would be to swap out dongle.bin's...

Maybe I should verify that before ordering.. Hmm...

Jason

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS
Just let I post new MVP update today which is saying in Release Notes: New remote control support but I dosen't have one so I can't test it so any else has one can please on weahter not it work.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.