SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-23-2012, 09:32 AM
bunch92 bunch92 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France / UK
Posts: 335
Shall i use Intel Xeon X3450 ?

Hi

At the moment , I have a Sagetv server running on an Abit I-N73HD / E5200 Dual Core @ 2.5GHz / 2Gb RAM / XP.

I have the opportunity to get a cheap Intel Xenon X3450 Quad Core @ 2.66 GHz / 4Gb RAM / Win7.

I have 6 tuners , 1 client PC and 1 HD300 , all runing fine at the moment.

Is it worth rebuilding my server with the X3450 ? ( the E5200 would then be used by my daughter as a normal PC ) or not worth the hassle ...

Thank you for your help
__________________
Server : Asus M4A79XTD Evo / AMD Phenom II X4 955 @ 3.2GHz / 4Gb RAM / Win 10 64-bit / Cinergy 2400iDT (French Freeview - TNT) / 2 * Hauppauge NOVA-HD-S2 (UK Sky) / TT CT-3650 CI / HDD : 4.5 To / Sage V7 / XMLTV Importer / EPG from WebGrabPlus+/ LM DVB Recorder for all tuners / 2 Clients : STP-HD300
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-23-2012, 09:51 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,653
Ask your self if the server you have is doing exactly what you want it to do... As for SageTV I see no development in the future...

I too had to make that decision but since my Server was adequate I decided not to spend any money right now in upgrading the server... but decided to see what Other products might be coming down the line and save my money for now.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-23-2012, 11:22 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
All comes back to "if it ain't broke, don't fix it"
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-23-2012, 11:38 AM
UgaData's Avatar
UgaData UgaData is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 418
It can also be said "If it ain't broke, fix it til it is"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-23-2012, 02:17 PM
bunch92 bunch92 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France / UK
Posts: 335
Thank you Guys

I will leave as is for the time being then. Cheers
__________________
Server : Asus M4A79XTD Evo / AMD Phenom II X4 955 @ 3.2GHz / 4Gb RAM / Win 10 64-bit / Cinergy 2400iDT (French Freeview - TNT) / 2 * Hauppauge NOVA-HD-S2 (UK Sky) / TT CT-3650 CI / HDD : 4.5 To / Sage V7 / XMLTV Importer / EPG from WebGrabPlus+/ LM DVB Recorder for all tuners / 2 Clients : STP-HD300
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-23-2012, 02:20 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by UgaData View Post
It can also be said "If it ain't broke, fix it til it is"
There is also that.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-23-2012, 03:58 PM
tomatodave's Avatar
tomatodave tomatodave is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Central, Illinois
Posts: 43
Just my 2 cents worth

I also have struggled with the thoughts of whether to upgrade Sage hardware or not. Heck at one time I was ready to ditch the whole mess. I realized that I liked what Sage did for me, so I have continued with it. While I haven't added any sage extenders I may add a client (already have an extra client license). I have updated my Sage server a bit with a little memory. I am also considering a processor upgrade (used processor from ebay). I have moved my Sage server to a rackmount case and I am in the process of acquiring a rack for Sage, a FreeNAS server, a Pfsense router and anything else I can put into it. I think I know that I will have a computer based DVR system of some kind well into the future. I look at the hardware that I am investing in can be re purposed (if necessary) in the future. Just like you are re purposing the processor into your daughter's computer.

Sage does 2 thing for me.

1. I does a really nice job of handling PVR/movie/music tasks at my house, including placeshifting.

2. Sage also provides a means for me to actively tinker with a worthwhile and rewarding project. And I do love to tinker with computers.

To me investing in hardware that could be re used for something else (if Sage stops doing what I need it to do)makes sense and makes it all worth while.

I may have changed my expansion strategy a bit, but at least for now Sage will be at the core.

I have come to grips with the whole sage/google thing and will not let that rain on my parade.

and to borrow a phrase
Full steam ahead!
__________________
8 gig ram windows 10 64 bit, sage V9.2.0.441 64 bit running in a VM on a ESXI 6.0 host - Xeon 1246 E3 - 32 GB ram, 2 TB recording drive with the controller passed through and 5 TB recording drive spave in a Freenas server, 1 silicon dust HDHR DUO and 1 Quatro for 6 OTA tuners, 1 HDHR Prime for 3 cable tuners, 2 BM1000-HDMI network encoders for cableboxes, 2 Placeshifters, 3 extenders, 1client
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-23-2012, 10:41 PM
drewg drewg is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,040
The upgrade would give you more headroom for transcoding, if an extender dies or you get a new TV, and end up using something like a roku & Plex.

Drew
__________________
Server HW: AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2990WX 32-Core
Server SW: FreeBSD-current, ZFS, linux-oracle-jdk1.8.0, sagetv-server_9.2.2_amd64
Tuner HW: HDHR
Client: Nvidia Shield (HD300, HD100 in storage)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-24-2012, 07:23 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
In all honesty, I got a new motherboard and CPU for my server just for the simple fact that what I had been using wasn't good enough for transcoding using either placeshifter or plex. Once I got my quad, I have more than enough power to do anything I need. There won't be any need to upgrade unless something fails.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-25-2012, 09:00 AM
jlmdxtv jlmdxtv is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 182
Thumbs up

Since SageTV worked so well for me, I decided to junk 3 XP systems (one server, two clients) and install Intel I3s with Windows 7 Home just in case this board (or the plugin host) went away or I couldn't get any tech support later.

It took me a few days and some $$ to rebuild, but this setup is better than a vacation, and will last a lot longer. I didn't want to have a bunch of antiquated XP boxes running at my house for years to come because they do other things too. (e.g. webserver, home security, site monitoring for work, etc.)

john
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xeon processors SteveD Hardware Support 7 10-03-2011 10:28 AM
Xeon versus Pentium based servers Petrucci Hardware Support 13 06-14-2009 10:18 AM
Mac 6.3.5 on Intel flavius SageTV Beta Test Software 9 01-17-2008 12:24 AM
Sage server upgrade to Xeon, client help. mleonard Hardware Support 1 07-08-2007 10:45 AM
Dual Xeon OS choice heffe2001 Hardware Support 4 06-22-2006 10:26 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.