SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-29-2013, 10:44 AM
dmelnyk dmelnyk is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 12
Question USB-UIRT not working with SageTV

Hi Folks:
I am trying to get a USB-UIRT working with my installation of SageTV (v7) and a Rogers Cable STD definition cable box and seem to be having a great deal of difficulty. What I have determined so far:

Note: Using Windows 7 Pro 64x

a) USB-UIRT drivers are installed properly;
b) USB-UIRT works properly with lrnHelper to transmit learned codes and change channel properly.
c) did the set up to learn the channel codes - (.ir file attached - RogersDC1)
d) made sure appropriate .ir file selected for the usb-uirt
e) under setup of video sources in sagetv, tuner control, the "Test infrared code" seems to work - i.e. select number 9, then check if channel has changed and that works.

However, if I select a channel through the keypad on my keyboard, or if I choose a channel from the program guide it always seems to tune to channel 3 only.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. If some one has a really detailed step by step setup instructions for the USB-UIRT (USB-UIRT set up for dummies and the hopelessly inept!) I would really appreciate it.

Best regards, Dave Melnyk
Attached Files
File Type: txt RogersDC1.txt (2.6 KB, 239 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-29-2013, 10:59 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,585
Try this
RogersDC1 0 0 3 600 800
to
RogersDC1 0 0 3 6 100
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2013, 12:10 PM
dmelnyk dmelnyk is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 12
Hi thanks for the reply. Tried it ... but still the same result.

Anything entered shows "0 0 3" as the digits being sent to the cable box (shows on screen of rogers guide info) and then I get channel 3.

Any other ideas?

Thanks in advance .... Dave Melnyk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-29-2013, 01:00 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,585
Have try Testing each infrared code in SageTV ?
How about two and three digits number as well in the Test infrared code?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-29-2013, 01:19 PM
dmelnyk dmelnyk is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 12
Have tested that and it seems to work ok, both two digit and three digit codes... just cant seem to get it to work from the keyboard or from the program guide selection. Recordings that are set up also fail to change to the correct channel.

Does something else have to be set up? link infrared/key stroke?

Again, thanks for the reply....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-29-2013, 01:38 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,585
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmelnyk View Post
Have tested that and it seems to work ok, both two digit and three digit codes... just cant seem to get it to work from the keyboard or from the program guide selection. Recordings that are set up also fail to change to the correct channel.

Does something else have to be set up? link infrared/key stroke?

Again, thanks for the reply....
No but you should try reprogram all infrared code in SageTV only.
That or you don't have something in right places.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-29-2013, 01:52 PM
dstanley's Avatar
dstanley dstanley is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: LaHave, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 291
This is an IR file that I had used a long time ago with my USB-UIRT and one of my old Rogers Scientific Atlantic boxes. (Remove the .TXT after downloading)
You can ignore the reference to the model as I had used this with 3200, 3250s and 4250HDs as they used the same ir codes.
This file is setup to use Zone1 but that could be removed (replace Z10000 with 0000 in the file)
At one point i was switching four units with two USB-UIRTs as each on has three 'zones' that can be used - I used Zone1 and Zone2 on two USB-UIRTs for a while until I changed to using firewire changing on them all. Zone1 and Zone2 were on the emitters and Zone3 is the front of the unit if I remember correctly!?
Hope this helps a bit in your search for a solution ...

Dwight
Attached Files
File Type: txt SA3200-Z1.ir.txt (2.9 KB, 259 views)
__________________
SERVER: Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz - UnRaid Server 6.8.0/DVB LibreELEC with Docker stuckless-sagetv-server-java9 MOTHERBOARD: ASRock-Z77 Extreme4 / 32GB RAM CACHE DRIVE: SSD 1TB ARRAY: 24TB/7 DRIVES PARITY: 8TB
EXTERNAL DEVICES: 4x HD-PVR's Firewire Channel Changing
TUNERS:NO LONGER RECORDING LIVETV
CLIENTS: 2xHD300 2xHD200 SONY ANDROIDTV MINI-CLIENT
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-29-2013, 03:46 PM
dmelnyk dmelnyk is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 12
Thanks SHS ... could you elaborate on where items should be - I assume they would be items related to the USB-UIRT and the .ir file. Currently the .ir file is in SageTV/Common/Remote Codes/ USB Transceiver

Regards, Dave Melnyk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-29-2013, 03:56 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,585
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmelnyk View Post
Thanks SHS ... could you elaborate on where items should be - I assume they would be items related to the USB-UIRT and the .ir file. Currently the .ir file is in SageTV/Common/Remote Codes/ USB Transceiver

Regards, Dave Melnyk
Yup it that should be
?:\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Common\RemoteCodes\USB-UIRT Transceiver

If had an older ver it may end up in user folder
?:\Users\[Your PC Name]\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\SageTV\Common\RemoteCodes\USB-UIRT Transceiver
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-29-2013, 04:08 PM
dmelnyk dmelnyk is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 12
Thanks dstanley .... gave it a try, but still no dice ... wondering if I need to uninstall and completely reinstall SageTV now that I have the USB-UIRT installed

regards, Dave melnyk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rogers, setup, usb-uirt


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB-UIRT isn't working heffneil Hardware Support 10 01-18-2011 05:58 AM
USB-UIRT to control a STB (not working) verdin77 Hardware Support 5 01-13-2010 03:27 PM
Sage usb uirt not working akenis Hardware Support 6 11-17-2009 09:22 PM
USB UIRT Zones not working? jptaz SageTV Software 0 10-02-2004 08:38 AM
usb uirt not working jphhughes SageTV Software 38 02-07-2004 06:02 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.