SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-26-2010, 11:55 AM
SkierHiker SkierHiker is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 102
HD-PVR Recordings Have Low Audio Volume

I just got my HD-PVR (HDPVR) installed with a Comcast RNG110 STB and have noticed that all recordings have very low audio volume. I'm comparing it against my PVR-350 recordings. The volume is so low that I have to turn up my TV to almost max volume to hear anything. I looked through the STB settings and didn't find any output volume adjustments. This is in the recording as it sounds the same whether you're using SageTV, VLC, or WMP. Would this be a HD-PVR issue or SageTV? I'm using the latest HD-PVR (Windows 7) drivers on my Win2008 Server.

Also, I'm a little confused as to what parts the HD-PVR and SageTV play in the recording. I understand that the HD-PVR encodes the video. Does it also encodes the audio and then passes the data off to SageTV for recording to disk?
__________________
Server: SageTV 7, Google Mini, Intel Pentium 4, 3.0 Ghz, 2 GB RAM, 3 TB Sata, Comcast RNG110, ActiSys IR200L, Hauppauge HD-PVR.
Client: Windows 7 64 Bit, Dell Studio 15, Intel Core 2 Duo T8100 2.1 ghz Processor, 4 GB RAM, 300 GB IDE, Intel RDPDD Graphics, Dell HD Audio.
Network: Cat 6, 1G

Last edited by SkierHiker; 09-26-2010 at 12:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-26-2010, 02:57 PM
toricred's Avatar
toricred toricred is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 1,729
What type of audio connection are you using (digital/spdif or analog)?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-26-2010, 03:49 PM
Spectrum Spectrum is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 720
The PVR-350 is probably encoding the audio to mp2 and the HDPVR encodes to the audio to AC3. AC3 has a lower reference level. If you are using client for playback you could adjust the gain in AC3 filter to level things out some. AFAIK there isn't a way to do this on an extender though.

As far as the interaction, sage just tells the HDPVR when to record and the HDPVR encodes the video to an h264 stream and the audio to an AC3 stream and muxes them into a .TS container.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-26-2010, 05:14 PM
SkierHiker SkierHiker is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by toricred View Post
What type of audio connection are you using (digital/spdif or analog)?
Sorry, forgot to mention that. It's SPDIF.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spectrum View Post
The PVR-350 is probably encoding the audio to mp2 and the HDPVR encodes to the audio to AC3. AC3 has a lower reference level. If you are using client for playback you could adjust the gain in AC3 filter to level things out some. AFAIK there isn't a way to do this on an extender though.

As far as the interaction, sage just tells the HDPVR when to record and the HDPVR encodes the video to an h264 stream and the audio to an AC3 stream and muxes them into a .TS container.
I'm new to this whole H.264 and AC3. Where do I adjust the gain in the AC3 filter? - Thanks.

Edit 10:00 PM - Ok, I found AC3Filter Config. Going over to the Software forum to try to figure out how to use it.
__________________
Server: SageTV 7, Google Mini, Intel Pentium 4, 3.0 Ghz, 2 GB RAM, 3 TB Sata, Comcast RNG110, ActiSys IR200L, Hauppauge HD-PVR.
Client: Windows 7 64 Bit, Dell Studio 15, Intel Core 2 Duo T8100 2.1 ghz Processor, 4 GB RAM, 300 GB IDE, Intel RDPDD Graphics, Dell HD Audio.
Network: Cat 6, 1G

Last edited by SkierHiker; 09-26-2010 at 11:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2010, 02:55 PM
ericscottf's Avatar
ericscottf ericscottf is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: ny
Posts: 357
I'm having this same problem (using regular SD video and RCA audio in on my pvrs).
It is annoying because i watch things recorded off the PVRs, the HDHR and downloaded video, and if i don't remember to turn the volume down when i switch to something not recorded by the PVR, the audio is LOUD.
With PVR recordings, i have to turn the volume all the way up and I still can't hear over the A/C.

I'm only using HD200s to view, so i'm looking for a software fix where i can pass video to some piece of software and have it bump up the audio. Haven't found anything good yet. Ideally, it would be very fast and not touch the video track or cause any audio/video shift (i'm very intolerant of audio/video unsyncing. )
__________________
Sage Server(7): Win7SP1 32bit Quad core 2.6ghz 4gb ram (~3.2ish)
1TB RAID 10 Promise TX4310, 1TB external USB
2x HD PVR (1.05.301 whql working flawlessly) <-Verizon FIOS HD QIP7100 2 cable box controlled by USB-UIRT 2 zones
1x HDHR (dual tuner) <- Verizon wire
3x HD200 wired latest beta fw
Gig-E wired network
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-27-2010, 04:11 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
You say you're using optical. Are you getting 5.1 audio or is it strictly stereo? The reason I ask is because if the STB is sending out PCM stereo the HDPVR will automatically convert the audio to stereo AC3. Many STB's have their own volume control in this case which is usually set low. If you're just doing stereo you want to make sure the volume on your STB is up all the way.

If you're using the original audio (i.e. 5.1 or stereo depending on the source) then keep trying to adjust AC3Filter. You might also give ffmpeg a try. It has normalization options for AC3.

I will tell you that volume can vary pretty widely between channels. For the most part most channels are about the same volume but there is the odd channel that has more quiet audio. The SyFy channel I've noticed has audio that is a little more quiet than the norm. I always have to turn the volume up a little more on that channel than on the rest. But I've not noticed anything really extreme unless my cable box is messing up and has decided to start sending out PCM stereo rather than AC3. Those recordings tend to be fairly quiet.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2010, 01:30 AM
SkierHiker SkierHiker is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 102
Got it working with AC3Filter. My week of going to HD and SageTV 7 is over at http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=50986
__________________
Server: SageTV 7, Google Mini, Intel Pentium 4, 3.0 Ghz, 2 GB RAM, 3 TB Sata, Comcast RNG110, ActiSys IR200L, Hauppauge HD-PVR.
Client: Windows 7 64 Bit, Dell Studio 15, Intel Core 2 Duo T8100 2.1 ghz Processor, 4 GB RAM, 300 GB IDE, Intel RDPDD Graphics, Dell HD Audio.
Network: Cat 6, 1G
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hd-pvr, hdpvr, rng110


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hd pvr low volume audio and buzzing profit SageTV Software 2 07-01-2009 06:18 PM
HD-PVR volume is *low* CanadianEh Hardware Support 6 07-16-2008 07:18 AM
Voice volume very low in audio in HD easygoer SageTV Software 21 02-16-2008 06:54 PM
Audio volume low on XVID playback on MVP jpaddock3000 SageTV Media Extender 3 09-10-2007 01:03 PM
Audio recording volume levels too low (PVR-250 and Sage TV) proudrooster SageTV Software 1 08-02-2004 10:04 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.