SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2008, 07:01 PM
Apap's Avatar
Apap Apap is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 216
UNC paths causing problems

I recently changed over to a full server/client configuration for Sagetv.

Sage server has a Q6600 cpu,Asus P5Q mobo and 3.2 TB of storage spread over 5 drives. Everything had been working fine until I just had to mess with it.
I decided to change the TV recording paths from standard paths to UNC paths. The recording directories were shared then the path was changed. For example I:\tv was changed to \\server\tv. All seemed well when playing files or or watching "Live" tv from the server.However my extenders and clients were not doing so well.they would play a recoing ok but "Live" tv would hang in 1 to 10 seconds. Recordings would sometimes be broken up into multiple files and timelines be all screwed up.

After much hair pulling, reloading previous good versions,reloading Sage from scratch,hardware diagnostics, severe WAF drop, etc........ I changed the recording path back to conventional paths and the problems seem to have stopped.

Can anybody tell this hapless fool why UNC paths would cause such a problem? Am I just cursed?

Beaten and Bloody
Apap
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-27-2008, 10:20 PM
CollinR CollinR is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,305
Is the service logging in with an account that has rights? The system account (default) has limited networking rights.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-28-2008, 05:12 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,818
Make sure you add the Microsoft loopback adapter if you are using a microsoft operating system when using unc paths. If you dont than any hiccup on your router or switch will cause interrupts in your recordings.



See this thread.
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...0&postcount=28

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apap View Post
I recently changed over to a full server/client configuration for Sagetv.

Sage server has a Q6600 cpu,Asus P5Q mobo and 3.2 TB of storage spread over 5 drives. Everything had been working fine until I just had to mess with it.
I decided to change the TV recording paths from standard paths to UNC paths. The recording directories were shared then the path was changed. For example I:\tv was changed to \\server\tv. All seemed well when playing files or or watching "Live" tv from the server.However my extenders and clients were not doing so well.they would play a recoing ok but "Live" tv would hang in 1 to 10 seconds. Recordings would sometimes be broken up into multiple files and timelines be all screwed up.

After much hair pulling, reloading previous good versions,reloading Sage from scratch,hardware diagnostics, severe WAF drop, etc........ I changed the recording path back to conventional paths and the problems seem to have stopped.

Can anybody tell this hapless fool why UNC paths would cause such a problem? Am I just cursed?

Beaten and Bloody
Apap
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-28-2008, 05:59 AM
Apap's Avatar
Apap Apap is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 216
Thanks for the suggestions!
I will try them out tonight.

Cheers
Apap
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-29-2008, 09:39 AM
Apap's Avatar
Apap Apap is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 216
Update on problem.

1. Changed service control to log on as a user with administrative priveliges.

2. Tried out system with UNC paths defined for recording directories. Same problem as originally described. Reverted back to standard paths.

3. Setup loopback adapter as per TOXMOX's instructions. MVP would not connect. Read the rest of the thread and changed the order of network adapters and defined miniserver IP.

4. Rebooted server and MVP. MVP now connects and functions properly. Changed recording paths back to UNC. Rebooted server and MVP.

Same Problem!

Filling out official Support request.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Tools: Problems encoding HDTV w/UNC paths evilpenguin SageMC Custom Interface 0 04-03-2008 11:17 AM
Many Problems pvr599 SageTV Software 37 03-16-2008 06:47 PM
UNC paths and playback problem Jesse SageTV Software 1 10-22-2006 12:20 PM
UNC Paths not working with Service Bandit SageTV Software 8 02-22-2005 02:05 AM
UNC paths and mapped drives?? JUC General Discussion 18 01-05-2005 05:21 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.