SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #261  
Old 03-03-2023, 10:53 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by garys255 View Post
Hi all,

Been using SageTV in a fairly vanilla way for many years. Running it on an Unraid box via docker for a year or two but now that Charter is close to killing cablecard support, wanted to spin up a new SageTV docker and see if i can get it working with Channels DVR...

I've read through the posts in this thread and think I've got things set up correctly, but I haven't been able to get Sage successfully capture/view a TVE stream from channelsdvr.

Sage can see the new tuners i've set up, and lets me add them, but when I set one up to use SD guide data and change one of the channels to use the number from Channels, I still can't get it to tune.

Looking for ideas as to where it might be going wrong.

Here's an example of one of my tuners in opendct:
sagetv.device.110742372.consumer=opendct.consumer.RawSageTVConsumerImpl
sagetv.device.110742372.custom_channels=
sagetv.device.110742372.delay_to_wait_after_tuning=0
sagetv.device.110742372.device_name=tve01
sagetv.device.110742372.encoder_listen_port=9000
sagetv.device.110742372.encoder_merit=0
sagetv.device.110742372.encoder_pool=generic_pipe
sagetv.device.110742372.exclusive_server_address=
sagetv.device.110742372.fast_network_encoder_switch=true
sagetv.device.110742372.last_channel=6073
sagetv.device.110742372.stopping_executable=
sagetv.device.110742372.streaming_executable=ffmpeg -i http\://192.168.1.92\:8089/devices/ANY/channels/%c%/stream.mpg?format\=ts -c copy -f mpegts -
sagetv.device.110742372.transcode_profile=
sagetv.device.110742372.tuning_delay_ms=0

I think SageTV sends a 2-1 Instead of 2.1 you have to remap the channels. or better yet use the XMLTV from Channels DVR.

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66899
__________________
Channels DVR UBUNTU Server 2 Primes 3 Connects TVE SageTV Docker with input from Channels DVR XMLTV and M3U VIA Opendct.
Reply With Quote
  #262  
Old 03-03-2023, 12:10 PM
getchannels getchannels is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: California
Posts: 2
FYI, you can cut out ffmpeg and it will probably speed up tuning.

sagetv.device.110742372.streaming_executable=curl.exe -s http\://192.168.1.92\:8089/devices/ANY/channels/%c%/stream.mpg
Reply With Quote
  #263  
Old 03-03-2023, 06:36 PM
hvymetal hvymetal is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I think SageTV sends a 2-1 Instead of 2.1
If you are using Linux then you can use a .sh so remaping is not required. It will convert 2-1 to 2.1.

1. Copy to OpenDCT /opt dir HDHR_TUNER.sh
2. chmod 777 HDHR_TUNER.sh
3. Also required is in OpenDCT /opt dir ffmpeg
Code:
#!/bin/bash
ch_num=$1
ch_offset=$2
ch_num="$(echo $ch_num | tr - .)"

/opt/opendct/ffmpeg -fflags +genpts -v 3 -hide_banner -y -threads 2 -i http://192.168.10.116:5004/auto/v$ch_num -map 0  -c:v copy -c:a copy -c:s copy -threads 7 -tune zerolatency -mpegts_service_type advanced_codec_digital_hdtv -f mpegts pipe:1

ch_offset=
ch_num=
opendct.properties
Code:
sagetv.device.70760.streaming_executable=./HDHR_Tuner.sh %c%

Nice thing about using a script you can modify the tunning command without having to restart OpenDCT. All that is require is just a retune of a different channel for testing

Last edited by hvymetal; 03-03-2023 at 06:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #264  
Old 03-04-2023, 05:46 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,741
Quote:
Originally Posted by getchannels View Post
FYI, you can cut out ffmpeg and it will probably speed up tuning.

sagetv.device.110742372.streaming_executable=curl.exe -s http\://192.168.1.92\:8089/devices/ANY/channels/%c%/stream.mpg
What exactly does ffmpeg do for us and is it necessary?
Reply With Quote
  #265  
Old 03-04-2023, 08:01 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by getchannels View Post
FYI, you can cut out ffmpeg and it will probably speed up tuning.

sagetv.device.110742372.streaming_executable=curl.exe -s http\://192.168.1.92\:8089/devices/ANY/channels/%c%/stream.mpg
Going to try this ... Much faster tunning thanks.... but had problems tuning some channels.... so will stick to ffmpeg.
__________________
Channels DVR UBUNTU Server 2 Primes 3 Connects TVE SageTV Docker with input from Channels DVR XMLTV and M3U VIA Opendct.

Last edited by nyplayer; 03-05-2023 at 08:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #266  
Old 03-04-2023, 08:27 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
What exactly does ffmpeg do for us and is it necessary?
You have to have some writer to get the Streams from Channels DVR ffmpeg does that, but you can also use curl.
__________________
Channels DVR UBUNTU Server 2 Primes 3 Connects TVE SageTV Docker with input from Channels DVR XMLTV and M3U VIA Opendct.
Reply With Quote
  #267  
Old 03-05-2023, 07:27 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,741
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
You have to have some writer to get the Streams from Channels DVR ffmpeg does that, but you can also use curl.
Just to confirm, with the suggested curl implementation, we can abandoned ffmpeg entirely? Will that create problems?
Reply With Quote
  #268  
Old 03-06-2023, 09:12 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
Just to confirm, with the suggested curl implementation, we can abandoned ffmpeg entirely? Will that create problems?
I posted above that I had Problems tuning some channels with Curl so I am sticking with FFMPEG.

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...&postcount=265
__________________
Channels DVR UBUNTU Server 2 Primes 3 Connects TVE SageTV Docker with input from Channels DVR XMLTV and M3U VIA Opendct.
Reply With Quote
  #269  
Old 03-06-2023, 06:20 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,741
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I posted above that I had Problems tuning some channels with Curl so I am sticking with FFMPEG.

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...&postcount=265
Yeah, I saw that, but I'm struggling to understand why the curl method would introduce "problems tuning," or how ffmpeg would resolve that.
Reply With Quote
  #270  
Old 03-06-2023, 07:28 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
Yeah, I saw that, but I'm struggling to understand why the curl method would introduce "problems tuning," or how ffmpeg would resolve that.
Try it for yourself you might not have a problem ... I am just stating my experience.... I could not tune Gettv 6.2 and Rewind TV 6.3 using Curl. They work fine using FFMPEG.
__________________
Channels DVR UBUNTU Server 2 Primes 3 Connects TVE SageTV Docker with input from Channels DVR XMLTV and M3U VIA Opendct.

Last edited by nyplayer; 03-06-2023 at 07:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #271  
Old 03-09-2023, 02:20 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,944
I am watching TVE 4K FS1 big east tournament in SageTV thanks to this setup.

__________________
Channels DVR UBUNTU Server 2 Primes 3 Connects TVE SageTV Docker with input from Channels DVR XMLTV and M3U VIA Opendct.

Last edited by nyplayer; 03-09-2023 at 02:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #272  
Old 03-12-2023, 03:23 PM
mgpaulus mgpaulus is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 191
I have to say a huge shout out to you guys who have figured out how to get everything working with Channels DVR as well as you have. Comcast has very recently dropped ALL of the channels we watch (Hallmark, HMM, UP, OVATN, etc) from their Cablecard lineup, which means that my HDHR Prime-CC units are pretty much worthless to me. That leaves me with paying a whole lot of $$ to comcast for the 2 STB that I have attached via HDPVR / BMI-3001, and my ChannelsDVR setup with a subscription to Philo and FrndlyTV. So, I'm thinking that the occasional premium channel thing that I watch isn't worth it, and I'll probably drop the whole comcast TV thing, and use them strictly for Internet and Phone, until Ting gets rolling in town. Then I'll probably switch to Ting (unless Comcast drops their $30 / month unlimited surcharge) and have to find a solution for my landline (which I keep b/c my parents only use it....)

So, this ChannelsDVR solution has given my system new life at a time when comcast just wants more money for fewer perks for me.
Reply With Quote
  #273  
Old 03-13-2023, 06:54 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgpaulus View Post
and have to find a solution for my landline (which I keep b/c my parents only use it....)
Look at PBX software and VOIP service. You can create your own PBX system using free software like FreePBX, PBX in a Box, etc. If you only have a couple phones, then you might just look at replacing them with digital phones. However you can get an analog phone converters that will connect to the PBX system as an extension and all the analog phones plug into that converter and then will work on the PBX system through that converter/extension.

Long story short, for the cost of the analog phone converter and an old computer (I actually run mine on a VM on my SageTV computer), you could drop your analog phone line and simply pay for VOIP service. I pay about $3.35/mo for my service (which includes e911 service).

I'm happy to answer any questions you might have or walk through my system and how I started with all analog phones using one of these converters and slowly made the conversion to digital phones over time.
__________________
i7-6700 server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all

Last edited by sic0048; 03-13-2023 at 07:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using the OpenDCT Generic HTTP Capture Device EnterNoEscape Hardware Support 46 04-08-2022 08:55 AM
Using the OpenDCT Generic Pipe Capture Device EnterNoEscape Hardware Support 101 01-20-2022 12:14 PM
Generic HDMI capture devices pjpjpjpj Hardware Support 11 03-11-2020 07:09 PM
A pipe dream or possible? digitalgm General Discussion 3 09-21-2004 01:18 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.