SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations > Diamond

Notices

Diamond This forums is for discussing the user-created Diamond plugin for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-17-2011, 08:53 PM
les_bloom les_bloom is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kirkland, WA, USA
Posts: 187
What does the 'Delete All' really do?

Hi there,

When I delete a single item, I am prompted with an option to explain why I want to delete the file. Usually I am deleting a file because the file's contents are screwed up some how (I have had a lot of HDPVR problems). Therefore, I choose the 'delete because it is the wrong recording' option. I choose this option because I assume that Sage will then flag the episode for re-recording. And if I were to choose some other option then Sage would never record that episode again.

I just recently got my HDPVR bugs figured out (yay!) and now I want to re-record my episodes. All 488 of them.

So my question is about what the Diamond 'Delete All' option really does. It does not prompt me with the option to explain why I am deleting all of the grouped episodes. So which explanation is Diamond giving Sage? I don't want to use the 'Delete All' only to find out that my 488 recordings will not be re-recorded my Sage. But I also don't want to have to manually delete each of the 488 files my hand if I don't have to

Thanks for everything

Les
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-17-2011, 10:00 PM
jorton jorton is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,273
Hey Les_Bloom,

When you select "Delete All" on a group of recordings in Diamond that is the same default prompt for deleting a group of recordings you see in the default STV so nothing fancy from Diamond going on there.

It is limited it seems as it only asks you if you want to delete x number of recordings or not, with no option to set them all as watched or clear them all as watched etc... If you have watched some of them you will get the option to only delete the watched ones or all of them.

Not sure if that helps. You might want to have a look in the Sagetv manual to see what the different "Group" deletions options are and what they do. Or someone that has already done the research may chime in.

Good Luck.

Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-18-2011, 01:06 AM
les_bloom les_bloom is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kirkland, WA, USA
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by jorton View Post
Hey Les_Bloom,

When you select "Delete All" on a group of recordings in Diamond that is the same default prompt for deleting a group of recordings you see in the default STV so nothing fancy from Diamond going on there.

It is limited it seems as it only asks you if you want to delete x number of recordings or not, with no option to set them all as watched or clear them all as watched etc... If you have watched some of them you will get the option to only delete the watched ones or all of them.

Not sure if that helps. You might want to have a look in the Sagetv manual to see what the different "Group" deletions options are and what they do. Or someone that has already done the research may chime in.

Good Luck.

Jeremy
Hi Jeremy,

I am sorry, I didn't realize that was a default behavior I have never really used my Sage w/o Diamond installed lol.

Thanks for the info

Les
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-18-2011, 01:44 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
I don't believe there's a clean way to 'Delete All because it's the wrong recording'. Unfortunately, the way to clear out the history on those files so they record again would be through the favorites manager. You can go ahead and delete the group, then from the favorites manager, select the favorite, and choose additional options, and choose set/clear watched status. Then choose clear watched. This will pretty much wipe all status's for all episodes of that favorite, so they will be re-recorded.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-18-2011, 03:32 AM
jorton jorton is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
I don't believe there's a clean way to 'Delete All because it's the wrong recording'. Unfortunately, the way to clear out the history on those files so they record again would be through the favorites manager. You can go ahead and delete the group, then from the favorites manager, select the favorite, and choose additional options, and choose set/clear watched status. Then choose clear watched. This will pretty much wipe all status's for all episodes of that favorite, so they will be re-recorded.
Thanks Fuzzy.

J
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-18-2011, 03:43 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
One of those STV guys could probably come up with a UI Mod that would add the reason dialog to the delete all options...
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-18-2011, 05:59 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Just use the group option to clear watched on all before deleting all.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-18-2011, 11:33 AM
les_bloom les_bloom is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kirkland, WA, USA
Posts: 187
Thanks everyone for the info. It will make this chore much easier
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When you delete recordings are they deleted then or marked okay to delete later? personalt SageTV Software 4 05-17-2011 07:35 PM
Delete doesn't delete! SageFL SageTV Software 11 04-24-2007 01:44 PM
How to delete multiple recordings or set it to auto delete? batigol9 SageTV Software 24 11-10-2006 07:57 PM
ask to delete... snoopy SageTV Customizations 2 08-05-2005 06:50 AM
Can't delete? ikarus79m SageTV Beta Test Software 9 03-23-2004 10:27 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.