SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-21-2022, 09:23 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,187
Best, remote streaming from Sage server?

I’m visiting a friend in Minnesota.
They’ve got xfinity everything.
Using a Amazon Fire 4K stick….

Sage TV Mini Client on the stick or Android phone (Galaxy 21) - stumbles and crashes.

JellyFin (on same, plus an iPad), stops and starts every 10 seconds, but doesn’t crash. It also jumps into a ‘repeat’ loop, often replaying the same 10 seconds of video several times before advancing 10 more seconds. Still annoying.

Good ‘ol AirVideoHD on my iPad? Never stutters, never crashes, never fails.

At my house back home, a house-sitter is likely streaming Netflix, but not from my Sage server. I have unlimited caps, and 250gb down, 10gb up. Arris 3.0 6190 cable modem with Puma chipset and 32x8 architecture.

So, why do JellyFin and Sage Miniclient stutter, stop, fail on Android/Apple, while AirVideoHD on Apple just rolls right along…..

Miffed.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson

Last edited by tvmaster2; 08-21-2022 at 09:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-24-2022, 07:44 AM
t4runnr t4runnr is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
I’m visiting a friend in Minnesota.
They’ve got xfinity everything.
Using a Amazon Fire 4K stick….

Sage TV Mini Client on the stick or Android phone (Galaxy 21) - stumbles and crashes.

JellyFin (on same, plus an iPad), stops and starts every 10 seconds, but doesn’t crash. It also jumps into a ‘repeat’ loop, often replaying the same 10 seconds of video several times before advancing 10 more seconds. Still annoying.

Good ‘ol AirVideoHD on my iPad? Never stutters, never crashes, never fails.

At my house back home, a house-sitter is likely streaming Netflix, but not from my Sage server. I have unlimited caps, and 250gb down, 10gb up. Arris 3.0 6190 cable modem with Puma chipset and 32x8 architecture.

So, why do JellyFin and Sage Miniclient stutter, stop, fail on Android/Apple, while AirVideoHD on Apple just rolls right along…..

Miffed.
Wow, your internet is 250gbps download? Or did i misread your internet throughput? I only have 900mbps xfinity. and my uploads are 25mbps.

I was about to question the hardware you're using to stream from but if Jellyfin is on the same server as your AirVideoHD, then hardware may not be the problem.

I can tell you I don't have any issues using jellyfin. Not sure if it matters, but my Sage/Jellyfin servers are on a i5-10400 using quicksync. The transcoding on this processor is effortless. I do cap all external accounts to 4 mbps so that multiple connections from different locations can stream at the same time. again, no hiccups. And that is confirmed while using fast internet at the other locations, or in a hotel room (not very fast), or on our cell phones. The other locations use Roku, Firesticks, Shield TVs, xbox one, or even TVs that Jellyfin can be installed to directly.

Has this always been an issue or just at your friend's house? Maybe issues with the connection at your friend's house? Perhaps if using wifi that the signal is weaker where the streaming device is being used?

Last edited by t4runnr; 08-24-2022 at 07:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-24-2022, 08:03 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by t4runnr View Post
Wow, your internet is 250gbps download? Or did i misread your internet throughput? I only have 900mbps xfinity. and my uploads are 25mbps.

I was about to question the hardware you're using to stream from but if Jellyfin is on the same server as your AirVideoHD, then hardware may not be the problem.

I can tell you I don't have any issues using jellyfin. Not sure if it matters, but my Sage/Jellyfin servers are on a i5-10400 using quicksync. The transcoding on this processor is effortless. I do cap all external accounts to 4 mbps so that multiple connections from different locations can stream at the same time. again, no hiccups. And that is confirmed while using fast internet at the other locations, or in a hotel room (not very fast), or on our cell phones. The other locations use Roku, Firesticks, Shield TVs, xbox one, or even TVs that Jellyfin can be installed to directly.

Has this always been an issue or just at your friend's house? Maybe issues with the connection at your friend's house?
lol, yes, sorry, 250mbps down. Late night entry. Reading your post, it’s possible my processor just doesn’t have the jam (AMP Phenom II X4 905e). I have no need to set caps as I’m always the only one connecting.
Is there anything my lousy cable company can be doing to mess with upstream traffic? I noticed that the house I was visiting had 40mbps up speeds, but our cable company (Cox) seems to limit upload speeds to 10mbps.
Nonetheless, I still don’t understand why old, abandoned AirVideoHD works so well, and others, not so well.
And yes, my Jellyfin, Sage and Airvideohd servers are all on the same box.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson

Last edited by tvmaster2; 08-24-2022 at 04:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-24-2022, 09:57 AM
t4runnr t4runnr is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 85
I don't know if its the hardware. I was just showing what I run without issue.

As far as connection, I was wondering how your friend's wifi signal is. It may not be the internet connection itself but how the device connects to the router/modem. i know that when i stream from my iphone on jellyfin from my garage, there is sometimes streaming issues. The signal from the router has to pass through at least 2 different walls at an angle to the garage. And the signal gets worse if the microwave oven is running. The signal doesn't pass directly through where the microwave is but its not far off from direct line to router.

As for Airvideo HD, does it transcode the movie when you watch it from the ipad? Im guessing that at least Jellyfin will be transcoding over the internet.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-24-2022, 04:32 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by t4runnr View Post
I don't know if its the hardware. I was just showing what I run without issue.

As far as connection, I was wondering how your friend's wifi signal is. It may not be the internet connection itself but how the device connects to the router/modem. i know that when i stream from my iphone on jellyfin from my garage, there is sometimes streaming issues. The signal from the router has to pass through at least 2 different walls at an angle to the garage. And the signal gets worse if the microwave oven is running. The signal doesn't pass directly through where the microwave is but its not far off from direct line to router.

As for Airvideo HD, does it transcode the movie when you watch it from the ipad? Im guessing that at least Jellyfin will be transcoding over the internet.
Good point. I seem to think he was using signal amplifiers all over the house, and I may have been hooking into that. I'll try another friend who's local, and who's wifi is more stable, etc. in the weeks ahead, and report back.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
video streaming via web server tchapin SageTV Customizations 2 12-20-2009 07:35 PM
Use of Hauppauge remote on sage server EdPhotoguy Hardware Support 3 09-08-2008 06:07 PM
No Streaming Server Found jal SageTV Media Extender 10 11-26-2007 04:35 PM
No streaming server found aclarke SageTV Media Extender 1 08-11-2006 09:13 PM
spec'ing out a streaming server edgley SageTV Software 2 03-07-2004 12:42 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.