SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2006, 08:34 AM
mkanet's Avatar
mkanet mkanet is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,359
What will happen to SageTV when MS Vista w/ native digital DirecTV/Comcast support...

I am curious... What will happen to SageTV when Microsoft Vista w/ native digital DirecTV/Comcast support becomes available?
__________________
Upgraded to Comcast X1 + Netflix/Amazon Video streaming

***RIP SageTV***
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2006, 08:52 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Not a whole lot, you're not going to be able to build your own Vista+CableCard rig.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-30-2006, 09:14 AM
mlbdude's Avatar
mlbdude mlbdude is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Posts: 4,174
Rumor is that DirectTV will work with home built systems. Might be just the last thing to make me drop cable and go DirectTV.
__________________
Check out SageMC16x9 - Where form is function .

Don't forget the check out the SageMC16x9 Wiki if you have any configuration or general usage questions. New content is being added all the time!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-30-2006, 09:32 AM
mkanet's Avatar
mkanet mkanet is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,359
Looks like I'll have fun with SageTV while I can! I love my SageTV setup, but not THAT much to 'not' move forward with Vista's promised capabilities.

Thank for the info Stanger89!

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89
Not a whole lot, you're not going to be able to build your own Vista+CableCard rig.
__________________
Upgraded to Comcast X1 + Netflix/Amazon Video streaming

***RIP SageTV***
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-30-2006, 10:22 AM
ybrew ybrew is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 633
based on directv's past regarding hacking, I doubt they'd be too friendly to home built systems. I could be wrong, but i'd be suprised.

But regardless, the #1 reason I'm with sage instead of beyondtv or anything else is cheap, simple MVPs. I could see having 2 PC DVR solutions (one dedicated to a single TV, the rest dedicated to whole house) though.

But Vista's not here yet, and who knows what sage will offer by the time vista is here.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-30-2006, 12:28 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybrew
But Vista's not here yet, and who knows what sage will offer by the time vista is here.
Well said. We've got a lot coming down the pipe to y'all real soon.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-30-2006, 12:40 PM
heffe2001's Avatar
heffe2001 heffe2001 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 1,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex
Well said. We've got a lot coming down the pipe to y'all real soon.
HD extenders? Cablecard support?

And exactly how soon is soon? .
__________________
Server: AMD Phenom 2 920 2.8ghz Quad, 16gb Ram, 4tb Storage, 1xHVR-2250, 1 Ceton Cable Card adapter, Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-30-2006, 01:16 PM
sleonard's Avatar
sleonard sleonard is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,506
He ain't gonna answer that, we'll just have to be patient.



Aaaaahhhgggg! I can't take it. Come on Narflex, throw us a bone with some meat on it!

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-30-2006, 03:57 PM
Berg Berg is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex
Well said. We've got a lot coming down the pipe to y'all real soon.
Ah .... I hate when they do that !!!

Off course, I live for the times the Sage crew posts something that I can go to my crystal ball with

All that said, after playing the field (BeyondTV, Meddio) and keeping an eye on Sage all the while, I have been using my Sage system for a couple of months now, and all I can say is that if the next two years is anything like what Sage has put in place already, I am not the least bit worried about Vista, CableCard, etc.

They have been innovative, responsive and have led the way ! Keep up the good work.

As much as I like your posts Narflex ... get back to work ! I can't wait to see what's next
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-30-2006, 08:24 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,643
with the industry and government politics we foresee (lobbyists), are we users at risk at all for having our (No. American) EPG cut-off? I think our EPG data comes from Zap2it and I suppose they get some revenue from SageTV to offset their costs. I may recall icorrectly, but I think TiVo gets their data from Zap2it as well, and that must be a big revenue stream as compared to Sage.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-30-2006, 10:36 PM
Hector Hector is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Can-tuck-kee
Posts: 400
Boy wouldn't that be something. A move like that would more than make up for the seemingly bleak 'post-HD Tivo' future. AND make me feel better about being shackled to them via NFL Ticket for the last 10+ years

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlbdude
Rumor is that DirectTV will work with home built systems. Might be just the last thing to make me drop cable and go DirectTV.
__________________
PVR user since the late 1900's . . .
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-31-2006, 06:27 AM
Kirby's Avatar
Kirby Kirby is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex
Well said. We've got a lot coming down the pipe to y'all real soon.
I'll jump on this one too, native H.264 playback support?!
__________________
Sage Server: HP ProLiant N40L MicroServer, AMD Turion II Neo N40L 1.5GHz Dual Core, 8GB Ram, WHS2011 64bit, Sage 7.1.9 WHS, HDHR (1 QAM, 1 OTA), HDHR Prime 3CC, HD-PVR for copy-once movie channels
HTPC Client:Intel DH61AG, Intel G620 cpu, 8GB ram, Intel 80GB SSD, 4GB RamDisk holding Sage/Java/TMT5
Sage Client:Sage HD-200 Extender

Last edited by Kirby; 07-31-2006 at 06:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-31-2006, 07:26 AM
NEOSG NEOSG is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 271
Kirby, you beat me too it ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-31-2006, 09:13 AM
heffe2001's Avatar
heffe2001 heffe2001 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 1,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleonard
He ain't gonna answer that, we'll just have to be patient.



Aaaaahhhgggg! I can't take it. Come on Narflex, throw us a bone with some meat on it!

Scott
Oh I know very well he won't answer that question. Throw out a little bone like that and the world might come to an end .
__________________
Server: AMD Phenom 2 920 2.8ghz Quad, 16gb Ram, 4tb Storage, 1xHVR-2250, 1 Ceton Cable Card adapter, Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-31-2006, 09:37 AM
waynedunham waynedunham is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex
Well said. We've got a lot coming down the pipe to y'all real soon.
All Together now....... QAM QAM QAM!!!
__________________
Wayne Dunham
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-31-2006, 10:07 AM
Ken C Ken C is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynedunham
All Together now....... QAM QAM QAM!!!
Sure would be nice !

Ken C
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-31-2006, 10:27 PM
popechild popechild is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 725
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89
Not a whole lot, you're not going to be able to build your own Vista+CableCard rig.
Why would this mean nothing will happen with Sage? Couldn't Sage still be installed and used on a non-custom htpc purchased from one of the "official" big boys?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-01-2006, 07:48 AM
heffe2001's Avatar
heffe2001 heffe2001 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 1,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by popechild
Why would this mean nothing will happen with Sage? Couldn't Sage still be installed and used on a non-custom htpc purchased from one of the "official" big boys?
Depends on if Sage supports those cablecards or not.

I'm a partner in an pc integration business, so hopefully we'll be able to build vista/cablecard combo machines (I know one of our distributors will, so at least I can order them wholesale). I would just hope they have gotten over the 3 tuner limitation (yes I know you can have more, but that's more of a hack than a really supported thing), and that they are going to release a HD box that's NOT a x360, something really affordable.

The # of tuners, and the price/availablity of the HD extenders will really be my deciding factor as far as MCE/Vista or Sage goes in the future. Now if Sage would release a good HD extender soon, it'd seal me into the Sage group .
__________________
Server: AMD Phenom 2 920 2.8ghz Quad, 16gb Ram, 4tb Storage, 1xHVR-2250, 1 Ceton Cable Card adapter, Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-01-2006, 10:13 AM
Kirby's Avatar
Kirby Kirby is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,253
If companies like HBO are really going to have your recorded content delete itself after 2 weeks, or any time frame for that matter, that alone will keep me from ever going to MCE! Add an unknown quantity of MS-DRM to the mix, the removal of transport controls forcing us to watch commercials or whatnot, and I think I can see my Sage setup last for years to come.
__________________
Sage Server: HP ProLiant N40L MicroServer, AMD Turion II Neo N40L 1.5GHz Dual Core, 8GB Ram, WHS2011 64bit, Sage 7.1.9 WHS, HDHR (1 QAM, 1 OTA), HDHR Prime 3CC, HD-PVR for copy-once movie channels
HTPC Client:Intel DH61AG, Intel G620 cpu, 8GB ram, Intel 80GB SSD, 4GB RamDisk holding Sage/Java/TMT5
Sage Client:Sage HD-200 Extender
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-01-2006, 05:43 PM
malbec malbec is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex
Well said. We've got a lot coming down the pipe to y'all real soon.
It's close, but I think I will give Narflex the nod over my wife in the category of biggest tease.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.