SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-24-2007, 07:41 PM
vvulture vvulture is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 138
Question MCE user wants to switch to SAGETV.. but i need answers

Hi all.
New here.
I am a current MCE user and i am looking at alternatives because MCE is driving me nuts.
My setup is as follows :
1 x Server and 2 x Clients

Here are my requirements. I need to know if SAGE can cater :
* Record TV on server if i put tuners in server
* Stream Live TV FROM server to clients
* Some sort of DVD cataloging ability like THIS or similar
* Can SAGE server go into standby after period on inactivity ?
* Can SAGE server wake up from standby when client is turned on ( WOL ) ?

Now, if all this is possible, what would be the best way to set all this up ?
I am guessing that :
* SAGETV v6.0 on server
* Placeshifter on each client

or

* SAGETV v6.0 on all 3

I hope someone can help me make the switch.

thank you :-)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-24-2007, 07:53 PM
IVB's Avatar
IVB IVB is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oak-town, CA
Posts: 1,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by vvulture View Post
Hi all.
New here.
I am a current MCE user and i am looking at alternatives because MCE is driving me nuts.
My setup is as follows :
1 x Server and 2 x Clients

Here are my requirements. I need to know if SAGE can cater :
* Record TV on server if i put tuners in server
yep. I have 2 SD tuners and 1 HD tuner in my server, and 3 clients.
Quote:
* Stream Live TV FROM server to clients
eww, live TV? I mean, yes, it can do that.
Quote:
* Some sort of DVD cataloging ability like THIS or similar
yep.

Quote:
* Can SAGE server go into standby after period on inactivity ?
* Can SAGE server wake up from standby when client is turned on ( WOL ) ?
dunno, i don't do that.
Quote:
Now, if all this is possible, what would be the best way to set all this up ?
I am guessing that :
* SAGETV v6.0 on server
* Placeshifter on each client

or

* SAGETV v6.0 on all 3

I hope someone can help me make the switch.

thank you :-)
sagetv6.0 on server, sagetvclient on clients.
__________________
------------------------------------
My Home Automation YouTube channel
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-24-2007, 08:09 PM
sainswor99's Avatar
sainswor99 sainswor99 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by vvulture View Post
Hi all.
Now, if all this is possible, what would be the best way to set all this up ?
I am guessing that :
* SAGETV v6.0 on server
* Placeshifter on each client

or

* SAGETV v6.0 on all 3
Your choice for running SageTV, Placeshifter, or SageTVClient depends on your usage scenarios (which you haven't totally specified).

1. The only practical reason for running multiple copies of SageTV is if you have multiple boxes that you want to use as recording servers; you can run them in a networked fashion so that one of them is a master scheduler, and the others are simply recording what they are being told to do. They can also be used to watch TV. This is useful if you have a need for more tuners than a single box can hold. Most users won't fall into this scenario.

2. SageTVClient is a very powerful app that allows you to configure the video output (and other parameters); it's primary goal is to watch TV signals served up by a server on a local LAN. It's ideal if you're driving a television from your client PC; you should note that SageTV client is licensed on a per-pc basis. You must have a license for each client PC you plan to use.

3. Placeshifter is primarily designed for remote usage, streaming TV over the Internet. However, many of us (myself included) use Placeshifter instead of SageTVClient on the local LAN. Note that the configuration options are much more restricted for picture quality on Placeshifter, but the licensing structure is more flexible; placeshifter is licensed on a concurrent user basis. You must have a license for each user that watches SageTV concurrently. In other words, if you're the only one watching SageTV on both of your PC clients, and you're only watching one TV at a time, you only need one license. The Placeshifter license may also be used for the MediaMVP media extender.


In sum, if you are building dedicated clients to serve up SageTV to television sets OR you're only going to watch TV on a limited number of computers on your LAN, you probably want SageTVClient. If you are a roaming user, and want to watch TV on a variety of PC's, you may want to consider Placeshifter.

HTH,
Stu
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-2007, 08:21 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Now that 6.1 has been released, you'd probably rather use that than 6.0.

Regarding standby and WOL, there's probably a way to make that work. But most of us just leave the server running so it can do its job of recording programs unattended. This is especially true if you want to use Intelligent Recording to capture shows you might be interested in at any hour of the day or night.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sainswor99 View Post
This is useful if you have a need for more tuners than a single box can hold.
This is a bit misleading, since you're not limited to tuners that fit inside the box. With USB tuners, there's no practical limit on the number of tuners per server. (I have seven on my server.) A more plausible reason for setting up network encoders is if you have multiple cable or satellite STBs at different locations in your house and it's not feasible to move them all to one location. But still, this is a fairly advanced setup option that most users won't need.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-24-2007, 08:30 PM
vvulture vvulture is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by GKusnick View Post

Regarding standby and WOL, there's probably a way to make that work. But most of us just leave the server running so it can do its job of recording programs unattended. This is especially true if you want to use Intelligent Recording to capture shows you might be interested in at any hour of the day or night.

Thats all fair enough, but i am trying to avoid leaving the server on all the time because of my electricity bill. It is adding an extra $120 per bill and the WAF is dropping.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-24-2007, 08:30 PM
vvulture vvulture is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 138
WOW !!! what fast response !!
I am impressed :-)

Thank you for the help so far.
Basically, i would like to setup a server that :
* Can stream LIVE TV to clients
* Can record all my TV shows
* Can go into standby when no activity
* Can wake up from standby automatically when client is turned on

I need my clients PC's to be able to :
* Send TV recording schedule to server
* Wake up the server from standby when turned on

In addition to all this, i need to be able to catalog my collection of DVD Box sets.
I am a big Seinfeld and X-Files fan ( don't laugh ) and i have the box sets of each on my hard drives.

My usage scenario would be one client connected at a time with maximum picture quality.

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-24-2007, 09:00 PM
flavius flavius is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,257
Extender / placeshifter licenses can be used by multiple machines - as long as you don't exceed the number of licenses registered, *full* Sage client licenses are per machine.

You probably want *full* licenses. And what's with the standby?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-24-2007, 09:08 PM
wvpolekat wvpolekat is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Buckhannon, WV
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to wvpolekat Send a message via MSN to wvpolekat
Quote:
Originally Posted by vvulture View Post
Thats all fair enough, but i am trying to avoid leaving the server on all the time because of my electricity bill. It is adding an extra $120 per bill and the WAF is dropping.
$120 a bill?! My whole bill isn't $120 and I have 5 REAL rack mount servers in the basement that run 24x7 sucking down 500+ watts each one of them pushing 1000 watts.

I would put a desktop PC in the $3-5 a month class at most.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-24-2007, 09:39 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by vvulture View Post
I need my clients PC's to be able to :
* Send TV recording schedule to server
Clients have the same UI as the server, so anything you can do from the server you can also do from any client. This is not a case of uploading a schedule from client to server; rather, no matter where you sit, you're interacting directly with the server's schedule.

Quote:
Originally Posted by flavius View Post
You probably want *full* licenses.
I'm not sure what flavius means by "*full*", but just to be perfectly clear, SageTV Client ($30/license) is not the same as the full version of SageTV Media Center ($80/license). For clients you want either SageTV Client or SageTV Placeshifter, not the full SageTV Media Center. For best image quality on non-portable clients you probably want Client rather than Placeshifter, since Client offers a lot more flexibility in terms of decoding and rendering. Placeshifter is most useful for portable clients that you want to take on the road and connect to your server via the Internet.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-24-2007, 09:50 PM
flavius flavius is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,257
Just quote my *full* post, then it should be clear what I meant to say.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-24-2007, 10:58 PM
samgreco samgreco is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Villa Park, IL (Outside Chicago)
Posts: 617
I run 2 servers (one business, not Sage) and 3 desktop PCs, 24x7 and my whole house electric bill has been averaging just about $100/mo. And that includes a 26 cubic foot GE Profile fridge and my whole house audio system running 3-6 channel power amps.

I live in the 'burbs of Chicago. I don't think you need to worry about your electric bill The last server I added only uses about $3 or $4 a month.

I am trying to cut back on the electrical stuff because of the environmental issues, not budget.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-24-2007, 11:17 PM
vvulture vvulture is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by wvpolekat View Post
$120 a bill?! My whole bill isn't $120 and I have 5 REAL rack mount servers in the basement that run 24x7 sucking down 500+ watts each one of them pushing 1000 watts.

I would put a desktop PC in the $3-5 a month class at most.
Not in Australia my friend... We don't have it as cheap as you guys.
Also, the bill is over 80 days
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-24-2007, 11:23 PM
vvulture vvulture is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by samgreco View Post
I run 2 servers (one business, not Sage) and 3 desktop PCs, 24x7 and my whole house electric bill has been averaging just about $100/mo. And that includes a 26 cubic foot GE Profile fridge and my whole house audio system running 3-6 channel power amps.

I live in the 'burbs of Chicago. I don't think you need to worry about your electric bill The last server I added only uses about $3 or $4 a month.

I am trying to cut back on the electrical stuff because of the environmental issues, not budget.
My server is currently using 0.375Kw/Hr.. At a rate of 0.13327c per Kw/H, it works out at $1.20 per day, or $95 per quarter ( 80days ).

Anyway, well off the topic.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-24-2007, 11:24 PM
vvulture vvulture is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by flavius View Post
And what's with the standby?
What do you mean ?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-25-2007, 02:16 AM
Alfiegerner Alfiegerner is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 383
Out of interest, what is it that is making you switch from MCE? I get the feeling the network distribution aspects of Sage are important to you. Could this be done with MCE and some xbox 360's? I'm thinking about trying out MCE soon and am bracing myself to deal with some limitations.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-25-2007, 02:27 AM
vvulture vvulture is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfiegerner View Post
Out of interest, what is it that is making you switch from MCE? I get the feeling the network distribution aspects of Sage are important to you. Could this be done with MCE and some xbox 360's? I'm thinking about trying out MCE soon and am bracing myself to deal with some limitations.
Well, MCE has too many restrictions.
For instance, support for only 2 tuners without tweaking. When tweaked, it doesn't work properly.
Secondly, streaming of live tv is not supported.. period.
Thirdly, network recording possible with tweaking but unreliable because if there is a network dropout, you have to re-enable it manually.
Finally, the recording machine needs to stay on as well as the server.. waste of electricity in my books. At least with Sage, you can set your recordings from a client and shut it down when finished. The server takes care of the rest.

Also, using xbox360 is too fidly. Still too much tweaking to get them to do what you want...

Tell me, why are you looking at MCE ? Is Sage no good ?

My other option is MediaPortal, but the development is so slow ( because its free ), and i am sick of waiting. Also, i have tried it twice, and both times i found it extremely un-usable.

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-25-2007, 03:11 AM
Alfiegerner Alfiegerner is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 383
I've been using Sage for about 2-3 years and it's been very good to us, don't let me put you off. You should definitely try out the MVP extender btw as a client, excellent bit of a kit, great picture quality and the same Sage UI from a tiny silent box.

I came to Sage through trying Myth, Beyond and Mediaportal - though I never tried MCE as I didn't have have an MCE OS disk. At the time, with the equipment I had, it was simply the only PVR software that could record shows on 2+ tuners at the same time reliably, everything else was very unstable.

Sage has been very good to us and its functionality is top notch, but like a lot of people I have a few holes that need to be plugged and MCE may be able to do it.

The things I'm looking to get from MCE that sage doesn't provide are:

A reliable UK EPG source that doesn't involve using 3rd party tools (and potentially may stop working).

A decent HD front end extender. Sage has plans to release one, but for me using an xbox 360 as an extender is a winner as I like gaming too.

Built in radio support for FM and DVB radio.

In addition, from what I've seen of it the MCE interface is a lot nicer. I use SageMC (which you should definitely try if you haven't already) which I much prefer over the stock interface. Even so though, the MCE interface is very good and definitely a draw for me.

I keep on trying Mediaportal but lilkewise its always too unstable: also, it would need some sort of extender in my books to make it a contender. I get the feeling the project doesn' have enough developers. I know that in Frodo's last project (XBMC) development was much quicker as more people were interested.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-25-2007, 03:31 AM
vvulture vvulture is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfiegerner View Post
I've been using Sage for about 2-3 years and it's been very good to us, don't let me put you off. You should definitely try out the MVP extender btw as a client, excellent bit of a kit, great picture quality and the same Sage UI from a tiny silent box.

I came to Sage through trying Myth, Beyond and Mediaportal - though I never tried MCE as I didn't have have an MCE OS disk. At the time, with the equipment I had, it was simply the only PVR software that could record shows on 2+ tuners at the same time reliably, everything else was very unstable.

Sage has been very good to us and its functionality is top notch, but like a lot of people I have a few holes that need to be plugged and MCE may be able to do it.

The things I'm looking to get from MCE that sage doesn't provide are:

A reliable UK EPG source that doesn't involve using 3rd party tools (and potentially may stop working).

A decent HD front end extender. Sage has plans to release one, but for me using an xbox 360 as an extender is a winner as I like gaming too.

Built in radio support for FM and DVB radio.

In addition, from what I've seen of it the MCE interface is a lot nicer. I use SageMC (which you should definitely try if you haven't already) which I much prefer over the stock interface. Even so though, the MCE interface is very good and definitely a draw for me.

I keep on trying Mediaportal but lilkewise its always too unstable: also, it would need some sort of extender in my books to make it a contender. I get the feeling the project doesn' have enough developers. I know that in Frodo's last project (XBMC) development was much quicker as more people were interested.
I guess if you don't need more than 2 tuners or network recording and so on, MCE will be fine for you. Very stable. Otherwise, MCE is way too restrictive.
Good luck with it.
As far as the MPV extenders are concerned, i could be wrong but it seems that they do not support DVI output which is a must for me. But i guess i could use one for the bedroom which runs on a standard 34cm TV.

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-25-2007, 06:56 AM
amg amg is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 160
You would probably want SageTV Clients as Placeshifter will not allow playback of your DVD box sets.
__________________
unRaid Server:Quad-Core Xenon, 20 GB Ram, openDCT/sageTV Dockers, HDHR,HDHR Prime
Network Encoder:Dell Inspiron 1000 Laptop, 512MB Ram, Windows XP, HDPVR
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-25-2007, 06:58 AM
mohanman mohanman is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 268
As a previous media center fan, I gotta tell you, Sagetv is like 100x better. You can do anything, and share tv/recorded files with other pcs, I love it! There are a few bugs but there are workarounds. Gotta use sagemc, it is the best. Very easy to use, multiple tuners, picture looks great. Lastly I gotta mention that going from MCE to Sagetv and using dvds and music, I swear the picture quality is much better and the sound is better despite using the same decoders.. weird.

Mo!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Here's why I'm thinking of moving from MCE showson1 SageTV Software 17 03-14-2007 10:04 AM
Need to Fully Disable MCE Sandbox General Discussion 1 11-12-2006 05:13 PM
Problem getting the MCE Remote Green Button to work bitbyte Hardware Support 10 05-09-2006 03:59 PM
Using the MS MCE Keyboard/Mouse/IR with SageTV. deria Hardware Support 3 04-08-2006 07:19 AM
MCE2005 = Sage 2.0 killer? rotaryracer General Discussion 45 10-27-2004 06:50 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.