SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-11-2009, 11:09 AM
MorfiusX MorfiusX is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 42
Full RGB

Is there anyway to set the HD200 to output full range RGB via HDMI?
__________________
Server: Windows Home Server - Intel Q6600 - 8GB DDRII 800mhz - 1.5 TB Storage
Clients: 1 HD200 - 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-11-2009, 12:14 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by MorfiusX View Post
Is there anyway to set the HD200 to output full range RGB via HDMI?
Why do you need to do that? Video is always YUV.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-11-2009, 12:24 PM
MorfiusX MorfiusX is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 42
On my HTPC (before getting the HD200), full rgb looked better (using an ATI 4550). Color range was noticeably improved.
__________________
Server: Windows Home Server - Intel Q6600 - 8GB DDRII 800mhz - 1.5 TB Storage
Clients: 1 HD200 - 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-11-2009, 12:30 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
What kind of TV are you connecting your HD200 to and how? HDMI, component?
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-11-2009, 12:33 PM
MorfiusX MorfiusX is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 42
It's a Westinghouse 42" LCD via HDMI tuned using a SpyderTV colorimeter.
__________________
Server: Windows Home Server - Intel Q6600 - 8GB DDRII 800mhz - 1.5 TB Storage
Clients: 1 HD200 - 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-11-2009, 01:03 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by MorfiusX View Post
It's a Westinghouse 42" LCD via HDMI tuned using a SpyderTV colorimeter.
Not sure what to tell you. But if you TV is capable of receiving YUV over HDMI the HD200 will be using that instead of RGB. There is no way to specify outputting RGB on it. Computers use RGB for outputting digital video. YUV is a narrower color spectrum compared to RGB and its possible your TV, even if it can accept YUV over HDMI, does not deal with YUV as well as it does with RGB.

And when you say the color looked better from your computer, how did it look better and what kind of video are you viewing? The ATI drivers are notorious for disabling YUV>RGB conversion for video below 720p. A registry key re-enables this conversion. When no conversion is done video looks washed out and black looks dark grey. Like watching a letterboxed DVD on a wide TV you'll notice a difference between the black bars on the video and the black background that's not part of the video.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-11-2009, 01:23 PM
MorfiusX MorfiusX is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 42
With non-full-rgb, the PQ looks OK. With full rgb, colors are more vibrant, gradients are rendered better, darks are darker, lights are lighter, etc. Sources include ripped DVDs (no processing, strait to hard drive) and recorded TV (Dish HD input via HDPVR).

Finding Nemo is a great example. The difference between non and full RGB is very noticeable.

If the HD200 can't do full-rgb, it's not a huge issue. I am just trying to tweak my picture quality as much as possible.
__________________
Server: Windows Home Server - Intel Q6600 - 8GB DDRII 800mhz - 1.5 TB Storage
Clients: 1 HD200 - 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-11-2009, 01:30 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Firstly there is no such thing as full RGB. Maybe your computer is better at converting YUV to RGB than your TV is at displaying YUV. Can't be certain whether or not your TV is capable of YUV input though.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-12-2009, 08:19 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by MorfiusX View Post
With non-full-rgb, the PQ looks OK. With full rgb, colors are more vibrant, gradients are rendered better, darks are darker, lights are lighter, etc. Sources include ripped DVDs (no processing, strait to hard drive) and recorded TV (Dish HD input via HDPVR).
You need to recalibrate your TV. Which "levels" you use have no effect like you describe when calibration is done properly. Sounds like you were comparing "PC" (full) and "video" (non-full) without recalibrating in between.

Black and white are identical at display time between PC and Video levels, if they're not, one of them isn't calibrated right.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-12-2009, 08:25 AM
MorfiusX MorfiusX is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
You need to recalibrate your TV. Which "levels" you use have no effect like you describe when calibration is done properly. Sounds like you were comparing "PC" (full) and "video" (non-full) without recalibrating in between.

Black and white are identical at display time between PC and Video levels, if they're not, one of them isn't calibrated right.
I probably forgot to recalibrate after changing the settings on the HTPC.
__________________
Server: Windows Home Server - Intel Q6600 - 8GB DDRII 800mhz - 1.5 TB Storage
Clients: 1 HD200 - 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-12-2009, 09:56 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Not uncommon
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video quality on PC monitor or TV with RGB ChrisR Hardware Support 4 02-02-2006 06:04 PM
VGA -> RGB SCART cable; flickery image Mahoney Hardware Support 6 08-25-2005 01:57 AM
RGB Downscaling Beelzebub Hardware Support 0 07-28-2004 05:52 AM
Full Screen? David Lawrance SageTV Beta Test Software 10 02-20-2004 10:45 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.