SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2010, 11:27 AM
Spartan's Avatar
Spartan Spartan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 109
SageTCPServer -- configuration problems...

Maybe I am just an idiot, but I cannot figure out how to configure SageTCPServer.

In my setup, I have a WHS SageTV Server, an HD200, and an MVP that I would like to control via the iHome iPhone remote.

So, I install the software on the server and add this to my sage.properties file:

Code:
sageTCPServer/clients=local.9250
...and the startup-runnable classes.

Via the logfile I can see that the class is getting loaded -- happy time.

Now, I want to get the client going on the server, just for basic testing so I add this to the sageclient.properties file:

Code:
sageTCPServer/clients=local.9251
...and, nothing. I get this in the server logfile (when I telnet to 9250 and issue a command):

Code:
Tue 9/7 12:58:53.287 [Thread-6@1d5047e] [[SageTCPServer-SageServer(local:9250)]]: Now 1 incoming message(s) in list.
Tue 9/7 12:58:53.288 [Thread-6@1d5047e] [[SageTCPServer-SageServer(local:9250)]]: (Processing messages) There is now 1 incoming message.
Tue 9/7 12:58:53.288 [Thread-6@1d5047e] [[SageTCPServer-SageServer(local:9250)]]: The following UI context are available: 
Tue 9/7 12:58:53.289 [Thread-6@1d5047e] [[SageTCPServer-SageServer(local:9250)]]: EXCEPTION java.lang.NullPointerException AT sagetcpserver.messages.Message.toString(Message.java:51)

Tue 9/7 12:58:53.289 [Thread-6@1d5047e] sagetcpserver.SageServer.processIncomingMessages(SageServer.java:287)

Tue 9/7 12:58:53.289 [Thread-6@1d5047e] sagetcpserver.SageServer.run(SageServer.java:172)
Now, what I don't understand is why the client needs a port number -- what's going on with that? I understand that the SageTCPServer is listening on 9250, but what is 9251 for and how do I get the Sage Client UI to register its context with the SageTCPServer?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2010, 12:20 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spartan View Post
Maybe I am just an idiot, but I cannot figure out how to configure SageTCPServer.
Have you checked the wiki?

Quote:
In my setup, I have a WHS SageTV Server, an HD200, and an MVP
OK, so you have a server and 2 clients (or 3 with the Server's UI)...

Quote:
So, I install the software on the server and add this to my sage.properties file:
So far so good.

Quote:
Now, I want to get the client going on the server, just for basic testing so I add this to the sageclient.properties file:
So you want to use the Server's UI as a client, since you are running in service mode, so far so good. You did launch the Server's UI, right and also added the running part?

As for the error, did you send a valid message?

Quote:
Now, what I don't understand is why the client needs a port number
Because each server/client runs in its own little space... Which pretty much goes back to the CQC control, which runs each server/client as a single independent driver, which requires its own port.

Quote:
I understand that the SageTCPServer is listening on 9250, but what is 9251 for and how do I get the Sage Client UI to register its context with the SageTCPServer?
Well the client's messages on port 9251 would be in the sagetvclient_0.txt... If you didn't put a runnable in sageclient.properties, then it's not running...

The server part on port 9250 is responsible for the list of recordings, scheduling a new favorite and things like that.

The client part on port 9251 is where you monitor/control a software SageTV client or some extenders. You can send keys/commands like with a remote control, start playback or display what is playing on that client.
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2010, 12:50 PM
Spartan's Avatar
Spartan Spartan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 109
Ah, that makes a lot of sense. I was under the impression that control for *all* of the extenders would go thru the server (via port 9250). So, for my case, I would want to control my Sage PC via a port specified in my sageclient.props file, and for my other 2 extenders, they would be in the sage.properties file, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2010, 12:59 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Yes, that's how it works.
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTCPServer - @Fonceur Osler SageTV Customizations 12 07-12-2010 09:02 PM
Video Configuration problems crarbo1 SageTV Software 29 09-05-2008 04:59 AM
transferring configuration fuzzymath10 SageTV Software 2 10-31-2004 09:03 PM
Problems with configuration kpaske SageTV Software 5 01-04-2004 03:36 PM
Installation and configuration problems ejr SageTV Software 2 01-04-2004 05:08 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.