SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV International User Forums > SageTV United Kingdom

Notices

SageTV United Kingdom SageTV and SageTV Recorder Users from the UK - This forum is for you to post about specific issues using SageTV software in the UK.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2007, 12:40 PM
pryderi pryderi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Music Distribution - How good is it?

I'm new to the concept but I'm currently renovating a house and planning to install a sage tv sort of system into it. 3 zones
- kitchen with 7.1 sound@?!
- bedroom with 5.1 sound
- living room with 5.1 sound

I'll be using the HD Extender once it's released??

I'm looking forward to it's music capabilities as well as the video. How good are the music capbilities and does it work with the apple AAC file format as the majority of my music files are based on iTunes.

Appreciate any comments back on this one.

Thanks,
Pryderi
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2007, 01:05 PM
Mahoney Mahoney is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 483
One thing it doesn't do at the moment is synch playback between clients - so you can't tell the kitchen and the bedroom to playback the same thing in synch. Slingbox can do this, so I presume it would be possible, and would be a very good feature.
__________________
Server:
Sage 6.1.9, Java 1.6.0_01, AthlonXP 3000+, 512MB RAM, Terratec Cinergy 2400i, Technotrend S2-3200

Client:
Sage Client 6.1.9, Java 1.6.0_01, AthlonXP 3000+, 512MB RAM, GeForce 6150, ForceWare 93.71, nForce 8.26, PureVideo 1.02-223, SageMC 6.3.2c
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2007, 01:09 PM
Mahoney Mahoney is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 483
I would guess this is actually something an STV might be able to do... don't you have access to all the clients programatically from an STV? Can anyone with Studio experience comment? I could add it to the long list of things I'll do when I no longer need to have a job...
__________________
Server:
Sage 6.1.9, Java 1.6.0_01, AthlonXP 3000+, 512MB RAM, Terratec Cinergy 2400i, Technotrend S2-3200

Client:
Sage Client 6.1.9, Java 1.6.0_01, AthlonXP 3000+, 512MB RAM, GeForce 6150, ForceWare 93.71, nForce 8.26, PureVideo 1.02-223, SageMC 6.3.2c
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-30-2007, 01:23 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
Nielm's webserver can tell a single client to play a specified file, so I imagine it wouldn't be too hard to extend that to tell all clients to play a specified file. However, bear in mind that this wouldn't give you truly syncronized audio, essentially it would be like manually trying to press play on multiple CD players.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-30-2007, 02:44 PM
Mahoney Mahoney is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 483
Yes... I was wondering if something more sophisticated could be achieved by checking time against the server. Be an interesting problem, but if Slingbox can solve it then Sage can.
__________________
Server:
Sage 6.1.9, Java 1.6.0_01, AthlonXP 3000+, 512MB RAM, Terratec Cinergy 2400i, Technotrend S2-3200

Client:
Sage Client 6.1.9, Java 1.6.0_01, AthlonXP 3000+, 512MB RAM, GeForce 6150, ForceWare 93.71, nForce 8.26, PureVideo 1.02-223, SageMC 6.3.2c
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-30-2007, 04:19 PM
pryderi pryderi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
I'm not to worried about syncing the music in different rooms. I guess people in different rooms would like to listen/look at different things.

Another "newbie" question... if I had a server with , let's say TerraByte Hard Disk could I drop my DVD collection into SAGEtV and use it to look at the dvd's, without the need for a DVD MultiPlayer/Changing Dvd's everytime I want to look at something else.

Would an external Hard Disk drive be a solution?

I'm yet to purchase my server. What sort of spec would be "ideal".

Many thanks for the response in advance,

Pryderi
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-30-2007, 06:57 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by pryderi View Post
Another "newbie" question... if I had a server with , let's say TerraByte Hard Disk could I drop my DVD collection into SAGEtV and use it to look at the dvd's, without the need for a DVD MultiPlayer/Changing Dvd's everytime I want to look at something else.
Yup, absolutely. Between my SageTV server (1.75TB RAID-5) and my ReadyNAS (1.5TB "X-RAID"), I've got Sage serving about 400 DVDs through my house.

Quote:
Would an external Hard Disk drive be a solution?
If I were doing it (and I will probably be redoing/expanding this winter), I would go either internal to the server, external to the server via eSATA or SAS, or via a Gig-E connected NAS.

Quote:
I'm yet to purchase my server. What sort of spec would be "ideal".
If you're not going to have any SD extenders, then I'd go one of two routes:

Draft an existing PC (save some money).

Or build a new server, focused on energy efficiency (within reason). I think I figured my server costs me about $17/month (200W). Buying today, I'd buy 1TB drives (the WD GP series looks interesting) and fewer of them, than 500GB drives.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-30-2007, 08:05 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
Quote:
Originally Posted by pryderi View Post
I'm not to worried about syncing the music in different rooms. I guess people in different rooms would like to listen/look at different things.

Another "newbie" question... if I had a server with , let's say TerraByte Hard Disk could I drop my DVD collection into SAGEtV and use it to look at the dvd's, without the need for a DVD MultiPlayer/Changing Dvd's everytime I want to look at something else.

Would an external Hard Disk drive be a solution?

I'm yet to purchase my server. What sort of spec would be "ideal".

Many thanks for the response in advance,

Pryderi
I'm sorry, I was confused about what you are were asking in the first post. Yes, Sage has great support for audio codecs (mp3, flac, aac, Vorbis) and you'd have access to them anywhere you put your HD extender. The only thing that would give you trouble would be if the videos were purchased from the itunes music store and contain DRM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-31-2007, 01:35 AM
Mahoney Mahoney is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by pryderi View Post
I'm not to worried about syncing the music in different rooms. I guess people in different rooms would like to listen [to] different things.
Sometimes I get up and move between rooms, doing stuff . Also useful for parties.
__________________
Server:
Sage 6.1.9, Java 1.6.0_01, AthlonXP 3000+, 512MB RAM, Terratec Cinergy 2400i, Technotrend S2-3200

Client:
Sage Client 6.1.9, Java 1.6.0_01, AthlonXP 3000+, 512MB RAM, GeForce 6150, ForceWare 93.71, nForce 8.26, PureVideo 1.02-223, SageMC 6.3.2c
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-31-2007, 03:20 AM
pryderi pryderi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mahoney View Post
Sometimes I get up and move between rooms, doing stuff . Also useful for parties.
good call mahoney!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-31-2007, 07:29 AM
jasongrimme jasongrimme is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 49
Maybe the next update will support external audio streams to extenders(slimplayer)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-31-2007, 09:54 AM
pryderi pryderi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
hmmmm..... is it possible to hook up an FM radio to work with sage tv via an extender box? I guess all it means is getting another card in the server???

Pryderi
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-31-2007, 05:38 PM
CollinR CollinR is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,304
If you want sycronized playback like that all you need to do is plug an MVP into an open encoder and give it a channel. Tune that MVP to whatever you like, then all other clients can simply call that channel and jump to the front of the framebuffer which should be the same for all clients.

Or you can just plug an MVP into a conventional or 70v amplifer and go to town all over your home. You then control that MVP via the webserver.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
good place to buy bulk DVD's? steingra The SageTV Community 18 08-27-2015 01:28 AM
QAM Channel Maps - List Your Channels Morgan111 SageTV EPG Service 192 01-28-2013 12:23 AM
Music Playlists - Where Stored? How To Convert? geogecko SageTV Software 15 11-22-2011 10:04 AM
Music chip33az SageTV Linux 4 01-04-2007 07:25 AM
Music Management (just questions no rant) DwarF SageTV Software 6 01-28-2006 11:34 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.