SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-03-2010, 12:39 AM
mike1961 mike1961 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: California
Posts: 1,513
My Verizon FIOS QIP2500 STB Channel Changing Stopped Working

It seems that my serial cables can't seem to control my STB anymore. What happened? I'm thinking the Verizon updated firmware but I'm not sure.

I'm wondering first how I can test my com ports on my server to be sure it's not a serial issue. Second, what can I do to get Sage Service to start changing the channel again on my STB?

These things always seem to happen at the worst time.

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-03-2010, 07:15 AM
aflat aflat is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 302
I don't know why it's not working, but if you want to get it working again those boxes support firewire very nicely.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-03-2010, 12:15 PM
mike1961 mike1961 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: California
Posts: 1,513
Are you sure? There's a USB port in the back but I did not see a firewire port.

Is there a thread on this? How do I get this working?

Thanks,
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-03-2010, 12:25 PM
TechJunkie TechJunkie is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USA, Southern California
Posts: 82
Without looking up the information I believe the QIP2500 are standard definition. The High definition boxes have the firewire ports that work.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-04-2010, 07:57 PM
mike1961 mike1961 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: California
Posts: 1,513
Looks like I finally got it working. Two important details of which one was pointed out to me and the other I found on another thread. 1. When Learning the codes you have to be very close (within a few inches of the USB-UIRT). 2. The second and third blasters from the jacks of the USB-UIRT are not nearly as strong and therefore have to be right up against the STB. I read that some even take off the panel on some STBs.

QUESTION though - it seems that sometimes if I change the IR file for an STB then it does not always properly respond or not at all. It's as if I really have to stop SageService and start it up again.

Well - at least it is now working. Thank you Verizon for turning off the serial ports in the QIP2500.

Thanks,
Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Success Verizon Fios, QIP2500-3 STB, PVR-150 marcusjohn SageTV Linux 1 01-28-2009 05:03 AM
Verizon FIOS QIP2500-3 STB with SageTV killerkhan Hardware Support 9 02-27-2008 09:11 PM
Verizon FIOS QIP2500 Sometimes No Sound mike1961 Hardware Support 1 02-23-2008 07:33 PM
Verizon QIP2500 and DirecTVSerial mike1961 Hardware Support 1 02-21-2008 11:03 PM
Verizon FIOS w/Motorola QIP2500-2 mattporco Hardware Support 5 09-03-2006 05:54 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.