SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 07-10-2013, 01:42 PM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by clayfree View Post
This weekend I unplugged my last two HD100 boxes for the last time About 2 years ago I started using XBMC quite a bit for the streaming capabilities. With Sage I was using PlayOn and the experience was lacking. I've watched as the family has grown more dependent on the XBMC(ATV2's). I still kept the Sage up and running for live TV and recordings but scaled it back to a server and client 2 boxes. With the limited future of the ATV2's I decided I needed to finally make a move so that's what I've done over the past week.

My new setup is the same server hardware(htpc Win7) running NextPVR. NextPvr was really simple to set up and configure the epg data(I also tried MediaPortal and it worked well also). I've heard great things about many other backends but tried the Windows options first before moving to linux. I have 3-Clients that are Pivos Xios DS with the Linux XBMC builds. They run the NextPVR addon. Live and recorded TV is quick and smooth and the xbmc interface is plenty quick. In the newer Linux builds user data is stored on a micro sd card so a client can be cloned easily. NextPVR does not have the same full feature set as SageTV but I am so happy to be down to one system. The clients meet my $100 requirement and they all function with my existing Harmony remotes. I have not set up XBMC with Mysql yet but that will probably happen soon ( I've gone back and forth on the pros & cons of a server). I finally have one system that is a networked DVR, great media center with metadata support, multiple streaming options, wide range of skins and affordable clients. I also feel like this software will have unlimited hardware in the future. Very soon we should see support for dual core and even quad core boxes and they just seen to get smaller and cheaper.
So what do you do for streaming? last time i tried some of the plugins for streaming from Netflix, Amazon, and the like It was lackluster to say the least... MUCH like sage is.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 07-10-2013, 01:45 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by clayfree View Post
This weekend I unplugged my last two HD100 boxes for the last time About 2 years ago I started using XBMC quite a bit for the streaming capabilities. With Sage I was using PlayOn and the experience was lacking. I've watched as the family has grown more dependent on the XBMC(ATV2's). I still kept the Sage up and running for live TV and recordings but scaled it back to a server and client 2 boxes. With the limited future of the ATV2's I decided I needed to finally make a move so that's what I've done over the past week.

My new setup is the same server hardware(htpc Win7) running NextPVR. NextPvr was really simple to set up and configure the epg data(I also tried MediaPortal and it worked well also). I've heard great things about many other backends but tried the Windows options first before moving to linux. I have 3-Clients that are Pivos Xios DS with the Linux XBMC builds. They run the NextPVR addon. Live and recorded TV is quick and smooth and the xbmc interface is plenty quick. In the newer Linux builds user data is stored on a micro sd card so a client can be cloned easily. NextPVR does not have the same full feature set as SageTV but I am so happy to be down to one system. The clients meet my $100 requirement and they all function with my existing Harmony remotes. I have not set up XBMC with Mysql yet but that will probably happen soon ( I've gone back and forth on the pros & cons of a server). I finally have one system that is a networked DVR, great media center with metadata support, multiple streaming options, wide range of skins and affordable clients. I also feel like this software will have unlimited hardware in the future. Very soon we should see support for dual core and even quad core boxes and they just seen to get smaller and cheaper.

NextPVR is more limited than SageTV as a PVR so why would I switch?... NextPvr cannot record copy protected content neither can Sage. So what benefit is that over Sage? Scheduling recordings is much more limited in NextPvr than Sagetv. Try setting up a recording with an Actor limited to only horror movies and so on...... There is no better PVR out there than SageTV the only one that has an advantage is WMC only because it can record protected content and that is the only advantage.

The way I see it there is not an alternative to SageTV PVR but there are alternatives to the SagetvClient.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 07-10-2013 at 01:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 07-10-2013, 04:01 PM
clayfree clayfree is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
NextPVR is more limited than SageTV as a PVR so why would I switch?... NextPvr cannot record copy protected content neither can Sage. So what benefit is that over Sage? Scheduling recordings is much more limited in NextPvr than Sagetv. Try setting up a recording with an Actor limited to only horror movies and so on...... There is no better PVR out there than SageTV the only one that has an advantage is WMC only because it can record protected content and that is the only advantage.

The way I see it there is not an alternative to SageTV PVR but there are alternatives to the SagetvClient.
You got me there - I've never had the need to set up recordings of a specific actor in specific genre. I'll try Jack black in a western and see what NextPvr comes up with.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 07-10-2013, 04:20 PM
emveepee emveepee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Scheduling recordings is much more limited in NextPvr than Sagetv. Try setting up a recording with an Actor limited to only horror movies and so on......
It's possible to code this using NextPVR and the SD Utilities but it is pretty esoteric and there certainly has been no demand for it.

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 07-12-2013, 11:42 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
I probably wouldn't care much for XBMC other than I really like OpenELEC. Just drop some binaries on a flash drive and go, doesn't get much better than that. If only they'd bring in native resolution switching.
OpenELEC is pretty awesome. I wonder why the resolution switching isn't in there? XBMC and Plex both have it.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 07-12-2013, 03:22 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
They have refresh rate switching, but not resolution switching. Though there was this PR, but I fear it might have died.
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=64139&page=11
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 07-15-2013, 06:43 PM
KJake KJake is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,117
Not sure if this is a good place for this, but I saw this posted today and thought of Sage.

http://www.fanlesstech.com/2013/07/u...x-desktop.html
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 07-15-2013, 06:59 PM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner Send a message via Skype™ to mikejaner
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJake View Post
Not sure if this is a good place for this, but I saw this posted today and thought of Sage.

http://www.fanlesstech.com/2013/07/u...x-desktop.html
Unfortunately, neither SageTV, nor the Clients can run on this. Plus the starting price of $99 for the single core version, means it will get expensive for what it does with quad cores. My opinion at least
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 07-16-2013, 04:54 AM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner Send a message via Skype™ to mikejaner
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayneb View Post
I was just going to post a link to that Utilite box, it should work great for XBMC.

The price for a quad core version should still be less than a used HD300 and you can buy lots of them if they work well.
I looked into this yesterday when I read about that box. You can get quad core Android sticks now for under $70, which appear to perform pretty well with XBMC https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ChfsdmJVpzI
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 07-17-2013, 03:09 PM
QueOnda's Avatar
QueOnda QueOnda is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,093
I briefly played around with both Plex and XBMC. It appears XBMC is more fluid then Plex. XBMC uses the milkdrop when playing music, which I couldn't find in Plex.

Some here have said the the XBMC doesn't have the centralized server, this is true (for now). In XBMC Gotham (version 13), they are going to share databases using UPnP for watched and resume shows and sharing databases.

What I need is a set top box like for anything like the HD300. While there is Pi (cannot handle top skins or milk drop), Ouya (under development), other sticks (sure there are other limitations), you need to build your own computer or buy one which could cost up to $400-600 and most have a fan in it.

I know there is a plex scanner mentioned in this thread and someone was supposed to get his brother to try to work on a full fledged plugin for XBMC but don't think that took off. There is currently one which doesn't fully control content off of Sagetv.

I could be wrong with some of my statement above, I'm still playing and doing more research.
__________________
Server: HP AMD64 dual core running Win7 64bit (MCE disabled) with 4G memory Tuners: 2 PVR-500(disabled), 3 HDHR and 1 HDPVR Clients: 2 HD200 and 1 HD100 TV: 70" and 52" and 42" Media Storage: ReadyNas 8TB Recording media: 300GB + 200GB+ 250 GB Network: Gigabit backbone'

Thanks to all the developers who work on SageMC, code, utilities and plug-ins to make SageTV better!!!
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 07-17-2013, 06:09 PM
QueOnda's Avatar
QueOnda QueOnda is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,093
I found a link from about a year ago that compares HTPC: http://www.avforums.com/forums/home-...omparison.html

Here is a wiki link which compares PVR: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compari...tware_packages

There was a linux HTPC distro (not mythtv) which was pretty cool but can't find it. They even had a company making a set top box for them but nothing ever came of it (i think). BUt I can't remember the linux distro, I thought it was a ubuntu based.

EDIT: This is it: http://www.linuxmce.org/
__________________
Server: HP AMD64 dual core running Win7 64bit (MCE disabled) with 4G memory Tuners: 2 PVR-500(disabled), 3 HDHR and 1 HDPVR Clients: 2 HD200 and 1 HD100 TV: 70" and 52" and 42" Media Storage: ReadyNas 8TB Recording media: 300GB + 200GB+ 250 GB Network: Gigabit backbone'

Thanks to all the developers who work on SageMC, code, utilities and plug-ins to make SageTV better!!!

Last edited by QueOnda; 07-17-2013 at 06:14 PM. Reason: I remembered
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 07-17-2013, 07:03 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by QueOnda View Post
What I need is a set top box like for anything like the HD300. While there is Pi (cannot handle top skins or milk drop), Ouya (under development), other sticks (sure there are other limitations), you need to build your own computer or buy one which could cost up to $400-600 and most have a fan in it.
There's these:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16856102004

A tad bit more than an HD300 was, OpenELEC is free and really easy to install.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 07-17-2013, 07:29 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Just from a playing around perspective, I quite like OpenElec. Now I went a bit crazy and I'm running it on an i7 3770s with 16GB of ram .

The problem I have with it, and PCs in general is the lack of native output for video. Nothing on a PC can compare to my Lumagen for processing video.

There is this which seems promising:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=64139

I tried to build OE with this patch applied. I think it worked (I didn't notice any errors) but it doesn't seem to actually work. I suppose I might need to read through the thread a bit more to see if I missed something.

Of course as I read, it sounds like interlaced output in XBMC is a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 07-22-2013, 12:08 PM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayneb View Post
I am going to try either a Zotac box or Intel NUC and run Openelec off a thumb drive, I have a Raspberry Pi, a Pivos Xios DS and a Gbox midnight MX2. ...
I have a Zotac, the one with DVD and looks like a DVD player (Sort of). I run OE off of an SD card inserted in the back of the device and it act's like an embedded device, no moving parts. Much like the Gbox after XBMC is loaded, but better playback.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 07-22-2013, 02:10 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
XBMC on a "hardware" platform that offers native output switching would be pretty sweet.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 07-22-2013, 02:58 PM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayneb View Post
Thanks, I also saw someone recommend the Zotac ID80 somewhere, the little Android boxes get glowing reviews from people who just stream stuff off the internet, my experience with the ones I have tried is that none of them can meet my needs yet. The reason I liked that Utilite box is that it ran Linux as an option and that should make it more likely to work well with XBMC.

I read a couple of years ago that Sigma Designs was going to build hardware to run XBMC, I haven't seen a word about it since then.
This is the box I have except with DVD not BD. The bios in this box lets you boot from SD card. This works real well with OpenElec. The next gen nVidia graphics are real smooth. The whole thing "Just Works" after the 30 min setup of OpenElec to SD card to Zotac.

This was one of OpenElecs recomended platforms ~8 months ago. Theres a whole seperate build just for the nVidia ION graphics.

Last edited by Skybolt; 07-22-2013 at 03:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 07-24-2013, 01:18 PM
drewg drewg is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,038
If you're willing to use Zotac's & Intel NUC BOXxxxx as "extenders", it might be worth taking another look at MythTV. I ran it for ~4 years (then ran screaming from it when the HD100 came out).

Myth does roughly what SageTV does: Central TV server ("Mythbackend") talking to clients ("Mythfrontend"). Guide data, commercial skipping, imported media with metadata scraping, automatic resolution / refresh rate switching based on media, time-stretched fast/slow playback, customizable ffwd/rewind etc. From 5000 feet, it looks great.

But.. the last time I used it for real (5+ years ago now), the gui was shameful, there was no wire protocol (all clients shared the sql database), so the entire network had to be updated in lockstep, and playback tended to be buggy. A lot of this has probably improved, but I don't intend to find out until my HD300 kicks the bucket!

Drew
__________________
Server HW: Xeon CPU E3-1270, 16GB RAM, 9TB Raid-Z + L2Arc,
Server SW: Ubuntu 12.04 x86_64, ZFS on Linux, Java 1.6.0_21, SageTV 7.1.9.1
Tuner HW: Pinnacle 800i, Pinnacle 801e USB, HDHR
Client: HD300, HD100
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 07-24-2013, 04:31 PM
amac's Avatar
amac amac is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 107
No alternative required for me

Every year I look at alternatives but nothing come close to SageTV for me, especially the PVR for my HD OTA antenna recordings.

I also use the Plex plug-in to view Sage recordings on other clients thru Plex's DLNA client. Of course with Plex I get the added benefit of other channels of interest so between the two our family needs are well served.
__________________
amac's config:
Sage 7.1.9, Java Java 1.7.0_75, Windows 8.1, Athlon X4 620, 4GB, Hauppauge 950Q, ATI 650HD video encoder with IR/Blaster, Radeon 5450, HDMI out, TV is primary monitor, Plex Plug-in serves up to mobile devices/PS3/WiiU just fine
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 07-25-2013, 10:07 AM
maceie maceie is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 35
Samsung TV app for NextPVR

Came across this earlier today.
Some chap is developing an app for Samsung SmartTVs to connect to a NextPVR server.

It's very early days and he only has 2 TV's confirmed as working, but this is looking like a pretty good solution IMO.
No need for an extender at all (although you would probably have to buy a new TV, but we do like our shiny gadgets don't we?)

Follow link for video of it in action
http://forums.gbpvr.com/showthread.p...rt-tvs-blurays)

Anyone have any thoughts on this? Any downsides I'm not seeing?
(except the cost of new tv's)
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 07-25-2013, 10:16 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Isn't NextPVR still limited to just TV?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Colossus alternatives? fbures Hardware Support 5 05-22-2013 04:05 PM
Ceton and Sage Alternatives ThePaladinTech General Discussion 6 08-03-2011 12:28 PM
DVDShrink Alternatives? wrems The SageTV Community 15 11-23-2010 01:07 PM
alternatives to USB-UIRT yet? pat_smith1969 Hardware Support 10 08-01-2010 03:55 PM
today's alternatives snoopy SageMC Custom Interface 6 03-12-2010 06:43 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.