SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #281  
Old 09-08-2015, 01:25 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,922
Are the instructions for enabling SSL in SageTV's Jetty posted anywhere else? Apparently assembla.com has a robots.txt file that now prevents web crawlers so the archived page is apparently no longer available.

I'm having a chain problem with my StartTLS cert that is recently preventing me from getting to my SageTV web interface from my iOS devices. Not sure what changed that brought this about but I don't remember how I did it all and need to figure out how to get the intermediate and possibly the Start CA root in there to complete the chain.

Weird part is it works fine in any other browser. However, if I check my site using this tool: https://www.sslshopper.com/ssl-checker.html it complains that it is not trusted in all web browsers and that I need to install the intermediate cert.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #282  
Old 09-08-2015, 01:37 PM
KJake KJake is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
Are the instructions for enabling SSL in SageTV's Jetty posted anywhere else? Apparently assembla.com has a robots.txt file that now prevents web crawlers so the archived page is apparently no longer available.

I'm having a chain problem with my StartTLS cert that is recently preventing me from getting to my SageTV web interface from my iOS devices. Not sure what changed that brought this about but I don't remember how I did it all and need to figure out how to get the intermediate and possibly the Start CA root in there to complete the chain.

Weird part is it works fine in any other browser. However, if I check my site using this tool: https://www.sslshopper.com/ssl-checker.html it complains that it is not trusted in all web browsers and that I need to install the intermediate cert.

If you combine the webserver cert and intermediary cert into one cert file and point Jetty to that, it will probably work. I've had to do this on nginx and other Jetty installs before.
Reply With Quote
  #283  
Old 09-08-2015, 03:12 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
Are the instructions for enabling SSL in SageTV's Jetty posted anywhere else? Apparently assembla.com has a robots.txt file that now prevents web crawlers so the archived page is apparently no longer available.

I'm having a chain problem with my StartTLS cert that is recently preventing me from getting to my SageTV web interface from my iOS devices. Not sure what changed that brought this about but I don't remember how I did it all and need to figure out how to get the intermediate and possibly the Start CA root in there to complete the chain.

Weird part is it works fine in any other browser. However, if I check my site using this tool: https://www.sslshopper.com/ssl-checker.html it complains that it is not trusted in all web browsers and that I need to install the intermediate cert.
Huh. I have a GoDaddy cert and that SSL checker site is telling me the same thing, (browsers have never complained). I grabbed the GoDaddy root and intermediate bundle, and used keytool to stick them in the keystore Jetty's using, but no luck so far. I'll play around with it tonight if no one has the answer by then. On my Ubuntu server I have this same certificate installed along with the GoDaddy certificate bundle and it checks out fine on that SSL checker site.
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #284  
Old 09-08-2015, 03:24 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
Huh. I have a GoDaddy cert and that SSL checker site is telling me the same thing, (browsers have never complained). I grabbed the GoDaddy root and intermediate bundle, and used keytool to stick them in the keystore Jetty's using, but no luck so far. I'll play around with it tonight if no one has the answer by then. On my Ubuntu server I have this same certificate installed along with the GoDaddy certificate bundle and it checks out fine on that SSL checker site.
Yeah, I tried that also. Not sure why that doesn't work for Jetty.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #285  
Old 09-08-2015, 03:29 PM
KJake KJake is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,117
Oh, I forgot about keystores...and I haven't done this with Jetty, it was Tomcat - forgot. I know with Tomcat (and thus Jboss), you can point the config to a pfx/p12 file instead of dealing with keystores if you want.
Reply With Quote
  #286  
Old 09-08-2015, 03:50 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,922
I had originally done the certificate request from my personal IIS server. I believe I have re-exported the key with the entire chain to a pfx file. It is double the size of the original pfx file. Now I think I just need the instructions on how to get this into the keystore to have it work with Jetty.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #287  
Old 09-08-2015, 05:06 PM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
I had originally done the certificate request from my personal IIS server. I believe I have re-exported the key with the entire chain to a pfx file. It is double the size of the original pfx file. Now I think I just need the instructions on how to get this into the keystore to have it work with Jetty.
Ah, that did it. I did not export the entire chain before, (I also have this loaded on IIS then used the PFX file to create all the other certificate files). This time I exported the entire chain then created the keystore like so:

keytool.exe -importkeystore -srckeystore my_domain_com_full.pfx -srcstoretype pkcs12 -destkeystore my_domain_com.jks

The SSL checker now says everything's good.
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #288  
Old 09-08-2015, 06:48 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
Ah, that did it. I did not export the entire chain before, (I also have this loaded on IIS then used the PFX file to create all the other certificate files). This time I exported the entire chain then created the keystore like so:

keytool.exe -importkeystore -srckeystore my_domain_com_full.pfx -srcstoretype pkcs12 -destkeystore my_domain_com.jks

The SSL checker now says everything's good.
Cool, thank you. That fixed it for me. Didn't know how to convert the pfx keystore into a java keystore. Now working again from iOS.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #289  
Old 09-09-2015, 09:39 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,922
On a side note, my SHA-1 certificate will be expiring at the end of the year. Is this version of Jetty capable of using a SHA-256 certificate?
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #290  
Old 09-09-2015, 09:56 AM
KarylFStein KarylFStein is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Westland, Michigan, USA
Posts: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
On a side note, my SHA-1 certificate will be expiring at the end of the year. Is this version of Jetty capable of using a SHA-256 certificate?
It's working fine with mine.
__________________
Home Network: https://karylstein.com/technology.html
Reply With Quote
  #291  
Old 09-09-2015, 09:59 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarylFStein View Post
It's working fine with mine.
Thanks, just thought I should double check that. Still have a few months but it's better to not be caught off guard since StartCom is issuing only SHA-256 certs now.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #292  
Old 11-12-2015, 03:51 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,568
I am not sure if anyone has taken this over but in case they have here is a feature request:

In the Currently Watching portion of the home page it would be great if you could see the current timestamp of the program being watched. That way when accessing the web browser you would know if the show was just started or if it is almost done. The SageTV widget for Win Vista/7 had this and I found it very useful.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #293  
Old 11-12-2015, 09:52 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I am not sure if anyone has taken this over but in case they have here is a feature request:

In the Currently Watching portion of the home page it would be great if you could see the current timestamp of the program being watched. That way when accessing the web browser you would know if the show was just started or if it is almost done. The SageTV widget for Win Vista/7 had this and I found it very useful.
That would not be a part of the Jetty Plugin (which is what this thread is for), that would be the Web Interface plugin.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #294  
Old 11-12-2015, 10:03 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,568
Whoops wrong thread
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #295  
Old 02-02-2016, 07:00 PM
clip clip is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 36
The Jetty plugin is failing to install in my fresh Windows 10 build. Worked fine under Windows 7. I've tried uninstalled and reinstalled the plugin several times, but it just tells me failed. It looks like it's having trouble downloading some of its files. Is that what's going on? I have Java 1.6 and 1.8 installed currently. I disabled my firewall and that didn't help. Can anyone give me a nudge in the right direction?
Reply With Quote
  #296  
Old 02-04-2016, 12:22 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
Are the instructions for enabling SSL in SageTV's Jetty posted anywhere else? Apparently assembla.com has a robots.txt file that now prevents web crawlers so the archived page is apparently no longer available.
Ditto! After installing SageTV v9, I'm trying to get things set up and now I need the Jetty installation instructions. It has been so long, I don't have a clue where to start. Are they posted anywhere or does someone have a copy?

UPDATE: I'm not sure if all of this was necessary and it probably won't help everyone, but I managed to get this working by copying over the following files from my old setup:

jetty-ssl.xml (if you don't use SSL, then the jetty.xml would be the one)
keystore
realm.properties


Then, I went into the Jetty setup (via SageTV) and changed any settings which were not correct. Once that was done, I was able to login to the BMT web UI.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7

Last edited by Skirge01; 02-04-2016 at 12:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #297  
Old 02-04-2016, 01:21 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,922
I finally figured this out on my own. I have been using an IIS server for key requests. But here are the general steps:

1. Create a Java keystore with the keytool utility.

2. Import key into keystore. For me I exported the key from IIS that I had requested from StartSSL to a pfx file, including the whole certification path. I used keytool to import the pfx into the keystore with no name:

Code:
keytool.exe -importkeystore -srckeystore sagetv.pfx -srcstoretype pkcs12 -destkeystore sagetv.keystore
3. Stop your SageTV service. Edit the Sage.properties file to match your keystore's location and password. Keystore location is in a weird format. You have to escape the colon and backslash with a backslash like, "C\:\\keystore\\sage.keystore":

Code:
jetty/jetty.ssl.keypassword=<keystore password>
jetty/jetty.ssl.keystore=<keystore location>
jetty/jetty.ssl.password=<keystore password>
jetty/jetty.ssl.trustpassword=<keystore password>
jetty/jetty.ssl.truststore=<keystore location>
4. Start your SageTV service. Go to the Jetty plugin settings and set Enable SSL to "true".
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #298  
Old 06-17-2016, 07:18 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,800
Password Woes

I'm trying to pass the user and password to jetty in my url (http://userassword@ipaddress/....) but it's not being recognized, or at least Jetty is returning a 401 error.

I've also tried disabling the password altogether by commenting out the userassword line in the realm.properties file but I'm still getting a 401 error.

Any ideas what may be causing this?
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #299  
Old 06-17-2016, 07:28 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,568
@tmiranda - Did that used to work? I think I have tried this in the past and could never get it to work which is annoying as there doesn't seem to be any way of saving the password on iOS devices.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #300  
Old 06-17-2016, 07:45 AM
egeller egeller is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 237
@tmiranda
The username@password probably no longer works. That is a security hole that browsers have plugged over time.

I am doing this from memory, but I think there is an authentication parameter in the XML that is set to True. You need to change it to False to get it to quit requiring a password. I keep notes on it, at home, because, with every upgrade, it gets reset to True.
__________________
Server:UnRaid;2x Intel Xeon E5; SuperMicro moboard;Also:BM3000 w/ WMC; 2x Ceton ETH 6; OpenDCT
SageTV Extender:3x HD200 1x HD300
Sage TV: 9.1.10, Standard STVi, Comskip Playback, Web Interface, 24 Hour Clock, SRE, YouTube2015, Playon
All in lovely Drexel Hill, PA
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugin: SageTV Web Interface V2 for Jetty jreichen SageTV Customizations 256 02-09-2014 08:05 AM
Plugin: Jetty Starter 1.6 jreichen SageTV Customizations 122 09-07-2012 06:48 PM
error message with web server plugin edgley SageTV Customizations 3 01-15-2006 11:32 AM
Sage Web Server and existing web server compatibilty? Brent94Z SageTV Customizations 6 01-18-2005 11:29 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.