SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-19-2011, 07:08 AM
svemuri svemuri is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 77
HDHomeRun (HDHR) Prime + SageDCT

Apparently 6 tuner version of Prime is shipping this week and 3 tuner version next week. I have a 3CC on order (placed before Sage was swallowed by Google).

In response to my post on SiliconDust forums (http://www.silicondust.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10142) Jason confirmed that changes would have to be made to Sage to support virtual channel tuning (basically instead of xx.xxxx, tune to xxx) for a native support. Well, I guess that won't happen any more.

But, he also confirmed that there is a DRI interface available. SageDCT author (bobgvant) indicated that (http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...pnp#post498592) this interface is what it uses to work with Ceton.

Hopefully, Prime would "just work" with SageDCT with UPnP discovery. If bobgvant can comment on any changes that may be needed that would be great. Is the source for SageDCT available? I didn't find it in his SourceForge repository.

If that fails, the other method Jason from SD mentioned is the MythTV libhdhomerun. May be someone can use that information to create a Network Encoder for Prime (I don't think my skills are up to it).

I really want CableCard support for CopyFreely stuff. Comcast is encrypting everything but locals here, but supposedly is not marking everything but premiums CopyFreely.

I will keep this thread updated with any progress.

Thanks
Sarat.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-19-2011, 07:38 AM
babgvant babgvant is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by svemuri View Post

Hopefully, Prime would "just work" with SageDCT with UPnP discovery. If bobgvant can comment on any changes that may be needed that would be great. Is the source for SageDCT available? I didn't find it in his SourceForge repository.
It won't just work, some change will be required to make it go. I don't expect it to be significant, but there is always the possibility that their implementation of DRI is different from Ceton's so the only way to know for sure is to test it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by svemuri View Post

Is the source for SageDCT available? I didn't find it in his SourceForge repository.
SageDCT is not OSS.
__________________
babgvant.com | @babgvant | Missing Remote
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-19-2011, 08:25 AM
svemuri svemuri is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post
It won't just work, some change will be required to make it go. I don't expect it to be significant, but there is always the possibility that their implementation of DRI is different from Ceton's so the only way to know for sure is to test it.
Thanks for the clarification. I don't know if you have a Prime on order, but I am willing to test(when I get it of course) and provide feedback. I have 7MC as well. So, I can do packet captures and such if necessary. Just let me know.

I would even offer up to send my Prime for you to test if you don't have it, but the CableCard thing is probably a pain to pair and then un-pair.

Thanks for you work on SageDCT and other stuff.

Sarat.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-19-2011, 01:45 PM
Deacon Crusher Deacon Crusher is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 503
2nd.

I've got a prime on order also and have and am using a Ceton via sagedct.

Hoping to switch to just using the Prime at some point or if I get both working well then will probably drop all my atsc and qam tuners and just use prime and ceton and hdpvrs (for HBO etc.)

Thanks
__________________
Server: PhenomII X4 810, 16GB, 4850, C: 256GB Samsung SSD, D: HGST 3TB, E: HGST 4TB, H: 3T Seagate, 1.5 TB on NAS via UNC, Win 10 x64,
Sage 9 Cable provider is Comcast, Schedules Direct
Tuners: 4 ATSC - 2 seperate HD Homeruns all via Channel Master CM2016 on roof, 6 cable via 2 hdhomerun primes (opendct), 1 HD-PVR (in tuner priority order)
Clients: Wired: HD300, HD200, HD200 running Squeeze Slave, Placeshifters, HD200 (via wireless N bridge)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-21-2011, 11:23 AM
jm9843 jm9843 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deacon Crusher View Post
2nd.

I've got a prime on order also and have and am using a Ceton via sagedct.

Hoping to switch to just using the Prime at some point or if I get both working well then will probably drop all my atsc and qam tuners and just use prime and ceton and hdpvrs (for HBO etc.)

Thanks
How reliable are you finding the ceton to be via sagedct?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-21-2011, 02:04 PM
Deacon Crusher Deacon Crusher is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 503
sagedct is fairly reliable, but not rock solid. however, I'm running it on a separate box from sage and I think that's causing occasional reliability issues.

I'm actually in the midst of upgrading my sage server to win 7 (almost done) and then I'll move the ceton card into my sage server box and see if that solidifies things.

thanks
__________________
Server: PhenomII X4 810, 16GB, 4850, C: 256GB Samsung SSD, D: HGST 3TB, E: HGST 4TB, H: 3T Seagate, 1.5 TB on NAS via UNC, Win 10 x64,
Sage 9 Cable provider is Comcast, Schedules Direct
Tuners: 4 ATSC - 2 seperate HD Homeruns all via Channel Master CM2016 on roof, 6 cable via 2 hdhomerun primes (opendct), 1 HD-PVR (in tuner priority order)
Clients: Wired: HD300, HD200, HD200 running Squeeze Slave, Placeshifters, HD200 (via wireless N bridge)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-21-2011, 09:03 PM
ThePaladinTech's Avatar
ThePaladinTech ThePaladinTech is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 451
Mines been running great 98% of the time. every once in a while a recording will cause an error to be logged and up to 5 minutes to be missing. but I am trying to figure out the pattern (is it always FX? is always tuner 3? what?)

very pleased so far
__________________
(current) SageServer: SageTV Open Source V9 - Virtual Ubuntu on Win10 HyperV MSI 970A-G46, AMD FX-8370 , SD Prime via OpenDCT, Donater ComSkip
Clients: HD-200, Nexus Player w/ Android miniclient
Storage: "nas" 16 drive Win10 w/ DrivePool running Plex, Emby, & SD PVR
Retired - Hava, MediaMVP, HD-100, HD-PVR, HVR-2250, Ceton InfiniTV4, Original (white) HDHomeRun Died - HD-100, HD-300
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-25-2011, 02:19 PM
doncote0's Avatar
doncote0 doncote0 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 396
Lightbulb HDHR Prime Release Date Pushed Back Again?

I am anxious about the progress.

Initial Published Release Dates

3 tuner version 07/25/2011
6 tuner version 07/22/2011

New Implied/Published Release Dates

3 tuner version 08/18/2011
6 tuner version 08/15/2011

Newegg got pounded with pre-orders and the 3 tuner version is now listed as "Out Of Stock".
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-28-2011, 05:13 PM
Fallen Kell Fallen Kell is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 79
Yeah, I had been holding off until I heard some more news about SageTV working with Prime. When it is working I plan on buying a 3 tuner version (don't see the need for the 6 tuner, at least with my current usage/needs).
__________________
HTPC: Intel i5-4670, 8GB DDR3, PowerColor HD5750 SCS3, Intel 510 120GB SSD, 8TB storage disk space, LG GGW-H20L BD-ROM, 3x Sony VGP-XL1B3 200 disc Media Changers, Win7 Premium 64bit, Haupauge HD-DVR 2 Gaming Edition Plus
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-18-2011, 02:09 AM
doncote0's Avatar
doncote0 doncote0 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 396
Red face Another Delay

http://thedigitalmediazone.com/2011/...rt-august-8th/

Looks like Hauppauge and Silicondust decided to wait until 2 weeks after the 8th of August change. (Legal reasons?)

So for now it looks like:

HDHR Prime 6 Tuner 2CC version 08/22/11
HDHR Prime 3 Tuner 1CC version 08/25/11

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-18-2011, 07:16 AM
Kirby's Avatar
Kirby Kirby is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,253
The 6 tuner has been shipping for a while now, and according to their daily status thread on their forums, all backorders have shipped. And the 1CC has been on track for 8-22 shipping from newegg for a while now. First 1CC units arrived at SD yesterday are were undergoing final tests/pack outs.
__________________
Sage Server: HP ProLiant N40L MicroServer, AMD Turion II Neo N40L 1.5GHz Dual Core, 8GB Ram, WHS2011 64bit, Sage 7.1.9 WHS, HDHR (1 QAM, 1 OTA), HDHR Prime 3CC, HD-PVR for copy-once movie channels
HTPC Client:Intel DH61AG, Intel G620 cpu, 8GB ram, Intel 80GB SSD, 4GB RamDisk holding Sage/Java/TMT5
Sage Client:Sage HD-200 Extender
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-18-2011, 10:40 AM
doncote0's Avatar
doncote0 doncote0 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 396
Red face Strange

Absolutely zero reviews on newegg, and newegg customers are kinda religious about that.

I guess theirs is still in the mail.

http://thedigitalmediazone.com/2011/...til-august-22/

Last edited by doncote0; 08-18-2011 at 10:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-19-2011, 08:33 PM
babgvant babgvant is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,834
We got our hands on a Prime. Check out the screenshot at the end
__________________
babgvant.com | @babgvant | Missing Remote
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-19-2011, 09:02 PM
Sparhawk6 Sparhawk6 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post
We got our hands on a Prime. Check out the screenshot at the end
Alright!!! Keep us updated.
__________________
Server: Gigabyte EP43-UD3L; Intel Core2Duo E5200; 4 GB DDR2 RAM; NVidia GeForce 9400GT; 6 tuners: Hauppauge HVR-1600 NTSC/ATSC/QAM combo, Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual Hybrid QAM, HD Homerun Prime (using SageDCT); 3.06TB total space: Seagate 160 GB, Maxtor 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 400GB, Hitachi 2 TB
Extender: HD200
Netgear MCAB1001 MoCA Coax-Ethernet Adapter Kit
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-19-2011, 09:12 PM
d2globalinc's Avatar
d2globalinc d2globalinc is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 109
PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE - Keep me updated! My tacking number (for the 6 tuner version) shows it will be here Monday.. at which time I'll be going to get some CableCards..

Thanks!
__________________
Server Hardware: 34TB Total using Custom Intel Q6600, 20tb storage w/ 3ware SATA2 RAID, bluray R/W, 3x hd300 clients, 5xhd200 clients, HDHR Prime 6, 7TB RAID5 w/ Synology DS1010+ NAS, 7TB RAID5 w/ Synology DS1511+ NAS Server Software: Win 7 64bit w/ SageTV 7.1.9
Primary Workstation: Custom AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 6xCore 2.81Ghz, Asus Crosshair IV, 8GB DDR3, 1xCorsair 128GB SSD for OS, 4x WD Velociraptor 300gb HDD, 2xATI Eyefinity 6 Edition GPU's w/ CrossFireX - connected to 6x20" LCD, 1500w PSU

Last edited by d2globalinc; 08-19-2011 at 09:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-22-2011, 08:04 PM
babgvant babgvant is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by d2globalinc View Post
PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE - Keep me updated! My tacking number (for the 6 tuner version) shows it will be here Monday.. at which time I'll be going to get some CableCards..

Thanks!
Hope you got your CableCARDs.
__________________
babgvant.com | @babgvant | Missing Remote

Last edited by babgvant; 08-22-2011 at 08:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-22-2011, 08:24 PM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner Send a message via Skype™ to mikejaner
Sweet!! Did anybody get shipping emails from newegg yet? I haven't.
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-23-2011, 12:37 PM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner Send a message via Skype™ to mikejaner
Nevermind, just got an email from them!!
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-23-2011, 02:00 PM
doncote0's Avatar
doncote0 doncote0 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 396
Cool HDHR Prime Shipping Date 08/22/11 Verified

Quote:
HDHomeRun® PRIME™HDHomeRun PRIME™ is our CableCARD™ tuner for Windows 7 Windows Media Center. HDHomeRun PRIME™ begins shipping August 22nd.
http://www.silicondust.com/

I want one!

If it was not pre-ordered, a delay is probable.

From SiliconDust:
Quote:
General stock available in September.
NOTE: 3 reviews on newegg since 08/19/11 for the 6 tuner model. Seems the six tuner model started production shipping a little earlier (like silicondust said it would).

Last edited by doncote0; 08-23-2011 at 02:12 PM. Reason: Verified Review Times
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-23-2011, 03:16 PM
d2globalinc's Avatar
d2globalinc d2globalinc is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post
Hope you got your CableCARDs.
Got em yesterday, posted on the Preview about the process I went through with cox.. Here is a quote of that:

"Getting the HDhomerun Prime today (2 card version).. Called Cox here in Omaha, Nebraska to get the cablecards, at first they tried to say it was $35 installation charge and a tech would have to come out for a "Professional Install" I told them about the FCC Cablecard Self install mandate that went into effect on Aug 8th, and after about 5 call transfers and then a call back from a "Finally" helpful rep the let me know 2 "Self-Install" kits are ready for pickup at my local Cox store. So I will be going to pick them up later this afternoon.. I'll post my results after everything is said and done here.

The reps didn't know what I was talking about at first with the "Self-Install" - so I had to send them this information from their own website before I got a callback and everything was good.

Cox CableCard FAQ:
http://ww2.cox.com/residential/omaha...-000000000000}
"

and followup:
"FYI - to follow up - walked into Cox Solutions Center, and said I'm here for the CableCard Self Install kit, and picked up two of them without a problem. Save yourself a phone call and just go into one of their stores, a bigger store the better."

..

I'm in the process of configuring windows media center in order to call and activate the cards.. Hit a snag with media center not giving me the "Extras Gallery" but got that figured out by going into tasks/settings and enabling downloadable content.

Its a work in progress.. Will post my results after I get this all running
__________________
Server Hardware: 34TB Total using Custom Intel Q6600, 20tb storage w/ 3ware SATA2 RAID, bluray R/W, 3x hd300 clients, 5xhd200 clients, HDHR Prime 6, 7TB RAID5 w/ Synology DS1010+ NAS, 7TB RAID5 w/ Synology DS1511+ NAS Server Software: Win 7 64bit w/ SageTV 7.1.9
Primary Workstation: Custom AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 6xCore 2.81Ghz, Asus Crosshair IV, 8GB DDR3, 1xCorsair 128GB SSD for OS, 4x WD Velociraptor 300gb HDD, 2xATI Eyefinity 6 Edition GPU's w/ CrossFireX - connected to 6x20" LCD, 1500w PSU
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDHomeRun PRIME CableCARD does work with premium channels Homebuilder Hardware Support 1 05-17-2011 08:08 AM
HDHR Prime Available For Pre-Order on Amazon, $207.20 USD (or not) mayamaniac General Discussion 20 05-14-2011 04:15 PM
Let's add support for the new silcon dust HDHR Prime (copy freely channels) Gustovier Hardware Support 30 05-05-2011 08:32 AM
HDHomerun Prime? cenwesi Hardware Support 26 04-19-2011 05:40 PM
HDHomeRun Prime with CableCARD might work with MythTV after all KJake The SageTV Community 4 07-22-2010 09:10 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.