SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-26-2012, 10:25 AM
nycjoe's Avatar
nycjoe nycjoe is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 104
Google Fiber

hey theyre actually announcing something about google fiber television
"future airings" "past airings"
looks familiar
__________________
{"HW": "NUC",
"CPU": "i7-5557U",
"RAM": "16GB",
"Recordings": "2TB SATA",
"Imports": "2x 4TB USB",
"Clients": ["HD300", "HD200", "SageTVClient"]}
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-26-2012, 10:26 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by nycjoe View Post
hey theyre actually announcing something about google fiber television
I'm watchin'

I have a feeling Jeff might have been involved with this. Just guessin.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-26-2012, 10:37 AM
phareous phareous is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
I'm watchin'

I have a feeling Jeff might have been involved with this. Just guessin.
If that is the case, then that is depressing because I'll never get fiber where I'm at, and no future for Sage except for fiber customers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-26-2012, 11:07 AM
phelme's Avatar
phelme phelme is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,027
Here's a blurb about it an Engadget. Yeah, this does like SageTV-ish from the images. There is a "storage box" DVR with 2 TB of space.

And an image from The Verge's coverage:


Last edited by phelme; 07-26-2012 at 11:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-26-2012, 11:18 AM
nycjoe's Avatar
nycjoe nycjoe is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 104
Kinda cool actually - who cares about drm if I can stream to my tablets?
They also said something about loading person videos to it - I wonder if you can point it at existing NFS/cifs shares (Jeff?)
__________________
{"HW": "NUC",
"CPU": "i7-5557U",
"RAM": "16GB",
"Recordings": "2TB SATA",
"Imports": "2x 4TB USB",
"Clients": ["HD300", "HD200", "SageTVClient"]}
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-26-2012, 11:18 AM
phareous phareous is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 233
Here is their product page:

https://fiber.google.com/plans/residential/

So if it is true this uses SageTV technology, then they bought the product and killed it just so they could use the talent and technology in 2 cities right now. And how long before it is available to every former user of Sage? Never. So I guess our only hope is for another company (maybe Ceton?) to come out with a product we could switch to
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-26-2012, 11:23 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,800
I wish I could get it but that's not likely given where I live.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-26-2012, 11:25 AM
MickBurke's Avatar
MickBurke MickBurke is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by nycjoe View Post
- who cares about drm if I can stream to my tablets? (Jeff?)
Me.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-26-2012, 11:28 AM
phelme's Avatar
phelme phelme is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,027
here's the video of the announcment. At roughly the 30 minute mark they get into the interface. Tell me this isn't an evolution of SageTV.

So I guess this settles the bet that the Sage crew wasn't and isn't working on Google TV.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-26-2012, 11:28 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,800
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
I'm watchin'
Did you pre-register? Any way to see how many others in your "FiberHood" have pre-registered?
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-26-2012, 11:29 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,800
I want to know if the "TV Box" can be used as an extender and if the "Storage Box" can be used as a server. Jeff?
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-26-2012, 11:36 AM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,805
I wonder if this might be something that Jeff and company have been working on...

http://news.yahoo.com/google-unveils...9--sector.html

Everyone's been speculating that Google doesn't want anything to do with DVR, but this is the first thing I've seen that actually records network TV. I haven't seen any articles with photos showing the user interface or detailed features yet, but this seems much more Sage-like than GoogleTV ever did.
__________________
Server: Athlon II X4 630 CPU, Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P (AM3) Motherboard, VisionTek Radeon HD4670 PCIe w/ Component output to 50" CRT Rear-Projection HDTV (Mitsubishi), Win7-64Bit (Home Premium), 4GB RAM
Capture Devices (8 tuners): Colossus (x1), HD-PVR (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-26-2012, 11:44 AM
phelme's Avatar
phelme phelme is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
I wonder if this might be something that Jeff and company have been working on...

http://news.yahoo.com/google-unveils...9--sector.html

Everyone's been speculating that Google doesn't want anything to do with DVR, but this is the first thing I've seen that actually records network TV. I haven't seen any articles with photos showing the user interface or detailed features yet, but this seems much more Sage-like than GoogleTV ever did.
We're talking about this here. Yes, this looks like what they've been working on for the past year. The interface can be found found in the announcement. See the thread.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-26-2012, 11:47 AM
phareous phareous is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
I want to know if the "TV Box" can be used as an extender and if the "Storage Box" can be used as a server. Jeff?
Well I think its a moot point unless you live in Kansas or Missouri. I looked over all their product info and they never really address it... just that you can stream over wifi from your TV box to any device but doesn't mention extenders
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-26-2012, 11:53 AM
phelme's Avatar
phelme phelme is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,027
FYI. Jeff confirmed it is SageTV on Google+.
__________________
Server: AMD 9600 Phenom on XP, Gigabyte GA-MA78GPM, 2GB RAM, 320+250+500 GB SATA drives, HDHomeRun Prime, HD-PVR x.5.1, Paterson serial
Client/Encoder:AMD 3800+ X2, 512 MB RAM, ATI X1650 XT, nMediaPC case, Hauppauge HD-PVR, Cyberlink/ArcSoft decoders, USB-UIRT
Client/Encoder: AMD 3800+ X2, 512 MB RAM, 6150 graphics, nMediaPC case, ArcSoft decoders
Client: HD300, Asus Pundit P1-AH1, AMD 3800+ X2 CPU, 1 GB RAM, 6150 graphics, ArcSoft decoders
Backup: Synology
SageTV version: FINAL

Last edited by phelme; 07-26-2012 at 11:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-26-2012, 12:11 PM
rwc rwc is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 284
At least it's good to know that "sagetv" wasn't just shelved!

And I must admit, I thought the demo looked really slick
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-26-2012, 12:14 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by phelme View Post
FYI. Jeff confirmed it is SageTV on Google+.
That's really interesting. I figured a GoogleTV thing was more likely, but this is certainly something that people speculated about before.

I really wonder what the system architecture is for this. Remember, CableVision had to basically have dedicated infrastructure for each user in their network DVR. It seems like Google would have to do the same thing (e.g., dedicated tuners for each user), unless they negotiated with the local broadcast networks (which is possible, seeing as there is only a handful of them).

I'm kind of torn about learning that this is what the old Sage guys have been working on. Doesn't that strongly suggest that the vast majority of us aren't going to be able to benefit from this anytime soon? And in the long-run, it still seems like this is a bridging technology. In the end, why would we mess around with recording to back-end storage? Why not just stream everything on an on-demand basis?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-26-2012, 12:29 PM
phelme's Avatar
phelme phelme is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie14 View Post
I'm kind of torn about learning that this is what the old Sage guys have been working on. Doesn't that strongly suggest that the vast majority of us aren't going to be able to benefit from this anytime soon? And in the long-run, it still seems like this is a bridging technology. In the end, why would we mess around with recording to back-end storage? Why not just stream everything on an on-demand basis?
Jeff had another "Stay tuned" non-comment on a possible solution outside of their fiber system on Google+.

So the speculation continues I guess.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-26-2012, 12:34 PM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
Quote:
Originally Posted by phelme View Post
here's the video of the announcment.
Seems like the video is now private? Can't view it from here either: http://www.businessinsider.com/meet-...-google-2012-7
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-26-2012, 12:35 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggie14 View Post
I really wonder what the system architecture is for this. Remember, CableVision had to basically have dedicated infrastructure for each user in their network DVR. It seems like Google would have to do the same thing (e.g., dedicated tuners for each user), unless they negotiated with the local broadcast networks (which is possible, seeing as there is only a handful of them).
It sounded like they've got a DVR local to each house, so basically it works just like a normal DVR, but with a Google fiber connection rather than "Cable"

Quote:
In the end, why would we mess around with recording to back-end storage? Why not just stream everything on an on-demand basis?
Because there's still a decent amount of content/content providers that don't want to support us doing that.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google Fiber GFHD100 Brent General Discussion 17 06-14-2012 01:06 PM
Long Run Ethernet or Fiber dgeezer The SageTV Community 11 11-17-2011 10:31 PM
Fiber to the Home hemicuda The SageTV Community 6 01-12-2010 12:08 PM
Google with PVR-350 allen SageTV Beta Test Software 2 10-15-2006 07:10 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.