SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2013, 11:51 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,067
Is TWC using Google Fiber?

I just looked at Time Warner Cable's website under internet services and their top package is 100MBps, with a deal going where you get a free Samsung Galaxy Tab 3, "only available in Kansas City."

Hmmmm.
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-2013, 01:06 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpjpjpj View Post
I just looked at Time Warner Cable's website under internet services and their top package is 100MBps, with a deal going where you get a free Samsung Galaxy Tab 3, "only available in Kansas City."

Hmmmm.
Looks like it's simply good, old-fashioned competition doing its job.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-2013, 03:42 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpjpjpj View Post
I just looked at Time Warner Cable's website under internet services and their top package is 100MBps, with a deal going where you get a free Samsung Galaxy Tab 3, "only available in Kansas City."

Hmmmm.
100Mbps is still only 1/10 as fast as Google Fiber's Gigabit speeds (I assume you mean "b" for bits per second and not "B" for Bytes per second).
__________________
Server: Athlon II X4 630 CPU, Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P (AM3) Motherboard, VisionTek Radeon HD4670 PCIe w/ Component output to 50" CRT Rear-Projection HDTV (Mitsubishi), Win7-64Bit (Home Premium), 4GB RAM
Capture Devices (8 tuners): Colossus (x1), HD-PVR (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-2013, 04:20 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
These are the exact reasons I don't think I'll see google fiber where i live - and why i am hoping that someday, sagetv v8 will be available.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-12-2013, 07:56 AM
dgeezer dgeezer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
100Mbps is still only 1/10 as fast as Google Fiber's Gigabit speeds (I assume you mean "b" for bits per second and not "B" for Bytes per second).
But it's 14 times faster than 7 mbits per second which is what Time Warner Cable offers me for the same price here in NC where they have no competition.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For those on google fiber tv, what client are you using? twitch General Discussion 36 09-28-2013 11:09 AM
Google Fiber ipad app rwc General Discussion 8 07-07-2013 09:46 AM
Google Fiber + SageTV SHS General Discussion 58 05-02-2013 07:45 AM
Google Fiber Launched Yesterday...any word about the Google Fiber TV? rwc General Discussion 4 11-14-2012 03:23 PM
Google Fiber nycjoe General Discussion 300 10-22-2012 08:26 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.