SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-15-2019, 08:14 AM
timg11's Avatar
timg11 timg11 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 430
What is the setting for % of time to mark a show "Watched"?

I regularly have cases where I watch a show to near the end, and get interrupted. Either have to do something else, or the show has reached live, and I have to watch something else until the first show finishes.

The problem is there is some point near the end where SageTV assumes you're done watching and marks it Watched. When returning to the show, it starts from the beginning rather than the point where you stopped previously.

There is a setting for "Reset Watched Shows when played again", but that doesn't offer a way to set how "watched" is calculated.

There is a setting to "Ask to resume or restart partially watched shows", but it is already yes, and in the situation above, it doesn't ask.

Is there another setting to set the threshold for considering a show watched for the purpose of resume vs restart? Like "2 minutes from end"?
__________________
HD300 extender with SageTV V9.1.10 (service mode), Running on Windows 7 (32 bit), E8400 3GHz dual core CPU, 4G RAM, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L motherboard. NVidia 8600GT; Viewsonic LCD on one output and Mitsubishi WD57734 HDTV via DVI/HDMI on other output. HDHomeRun HDHR5-4US tuner, Hauppauge 1512 HD-PVR2 connected to Google Fiber TV GFHD200, tuned with USB-UIRT.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-17-2019, 11:44 PM
xjim1's Avatar
xjim1 xjim1 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: colorado
Posts: 189
That would be a good thing to know. But from my observations, it seems to to vary. I've experienced a showed being tagged as watched way earlier than other shows for a given program length. And the other extreme as well. If I remember, I'll make note of some just to make sure I'm not crazy.

Doesn't answer your question, but may indicate it's more than just a single variable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-18-2019, 01:14 AM
wnjj wnjj is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,288
Looks like it’s a hardwired to be 5 minutes from the end for shows and 10 minutes for movies.

https://github.com/google/sagetv/blo...other.java#L22

It would be a simple code change to make those constants come from a configurable property in sage.properties.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-18-2019, 10:11 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,868
There is a setting to change this somewhere in the options. This used to drive me nuts - especially for sporting events that run long and have end padding added.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-18-2019, 10:50 AM
wnjj wnjj is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,288
Have you tried setting the “Always ask whether to resume or restart...” setting to “No”? Then i think it always starts where it was last watched. Ours is set that way and I don’t remember ever running into a restart when I didn’t want it to.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-2019, 10:00 PM
xjim1's Avatar
xjim1 xjim1 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: colorado
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Have you tried setting the “Always ask whether to resume or restart...” setting to “No”? Then i think it always starts where it was last watched. Ours is set that way and I don’t remember ever running into a restart when I didn’t want it to.
I finally figured out what I was seeing as a varying "watched" status to shows. It seems to relate to the "run time" variable of a recording's metadata, seen in the recording detail under "Aired on", rather than show length. I only see this item on programs with commercials (my PBS programs don't include run time). If a program shows run time of 25 minutes, but recording length is 30, it gets "Watched" at the 20 minute mark.

And I also changed the setting wnjj notes above. In "Detailed Setup>Customize", I confirmed setting that parameter to "no" seems to resume a recording where previously stopped, regardless of watched status, which is much better.

Can't speak to partially recorded shows or imported videos.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-03-2019, 06:43 AM
timg11's Avatar
timg11 timg11 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 430
I'll try setting the “Always ask whether to resume or restart...” setting to “No”.

However, it seems it is still not quite the right behavior.

The current behavior (as I understand/experience it) when the setting is yes.
  • Show is watched for duration below threshold: Ask resume/restart.
  • Show is watched for duration above threshold: Don't ask, but always restart.

This behavior causes me to have to fast-forward from start to end of show to resume at a point in the last 5 minutes.

Assumed behavior if setting is "no"
  • Always resume, never offer option to restart

This behavior causes me (or someone else) to have to rewind from resume point to start to restart the show if partially watched.

Desired behavior
  • Always offer option to resume or restart for partially watched shows, regardless of how much has been watched.


Actually that sounds like the proper behavior based on the text of the option: "Always ask whether to resume or restart partially watched videos"
__________________
HD300 extender with SageTV V9.1.10 (service mode), Running on Windows 7 (32 bit), E8400 3GHz dual core CPU, 4G RAM, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L motherboard. NVidia 8600GT; Viewsonic LCD on one output and Mitsubishi WD57734 HDTV via DVI/HDMI on other output. HDHomeRun HDHR5-4US tuner, Hauppauge 1512 HD-PVR2 connected to Google Fiber TV GFHD200, tuned with USB-UIRT.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-03-2019, 09:33 AM
wnjj wnjj is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by timg11 View Post
I'll try setting the “Always ask whether to resume or restart...” setting to “No”.

However, it seems it is still not quite the right behavior.

The current behavior (as I understand/experience it) when the setting is yes.
  • Show is watched for duration below threshold: Ask resume/restart.
  • Show is watched for duration above threshold: Don't ask, but always restart.

This behavior causes me to have to fast-forward from start to end of show to resume at a point in the last 5 minutes.

Assumed behavior if setting is "no"
  • Always resume, never offer option to restart

This behavior causes me (or someone else) to have to rewind from resume point to start to restart the show if partially watched.

Desired behavior
  • Always offer option to resume or restart for partially watched shows, regardless of how much has been watched.


Actually that sounds like the proper behavior based on the text of the option: "Always ask whether to resume or restart partially watched videos"
The ask option does do that. It’s just that the devs had a different opinion about what was considered “watched” and apparently the show lengths mess with the determination.

With the don’t ask option (all we’ve ever used) we just fast forward until the show ends and replay if we want to start over. It’s faster that way. I think I turned the option to “no” on day one because I hate being asked every time.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-03-2019, 07:53 PM
xjim1's Avatar
xjim1 xjim1 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: colorado
Posts: 189
I use a mouse for a remote control, so restarting or picking a playback point is a simple point and click.

One thing which may help is to select the recording and and toggle the "watched" status. It will put the recording back to the beginning. I opt to display "Advanced Options" when I select a recording, but I have to believe watched status also shows up on basic display options.

I'd try it with the basic but I think I have to go into detailed setup to set it back and can never find it.

After testing on a few programs, I've found a recording can be considered watched about half way thru it. An episode of Friends, for example, has a runtime of 23 minutes and show length of 30. So it showed watched at 18. And as TV episodes have increasingly shrunk over the years, I suspect the watched status will continue to lose meaning.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-22-2019, 01:35 PM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Looks like it’s a hardwired to be 5 minutes from the end for shows and 10 minutes for movies.

https://github.com/google/sagetv/blo...other.java#L22

It would be a simple code change to make those constants come from a configurable property in sage.properties.
Q: Did you ever modify the code to take a sage.properties setting?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-22-2019, 04:59 PM
wnjj wnjj is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by graywolf View Post
Q: Did you ever modify the code to take a sage.properties setting?
No but I could if you want it. I could make a jar available with it before an official release gets built.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-22-2019, 05:29 PM
wnjj wnjj is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by graywolf View Post
Q: Did you ever modify the code to take a sage.properties setting?
Here's a jar built from the latest codebase with those times turned into properties. It's completely untested but a fairly straightforward change.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/kfsn1qk5mr..._prop.jar?dl=0

Back up your existing Sage.jar then rename this one to "Sage.jar".

The new properties are called:

Code:
wizard/watch_ignore_time
wizard/watch_ignore_time_movie
They are the amount of time to ignore at the end of a show/movie to consider it still watched, in milliseconds. If you launch SageTV with this jar these properties should get created with the original defaults of 5 and 10 minutes (300000 and 600000 ms).
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-24-2019, 10:16 AM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,278
On my test box. Stopped sage, replaced with the new Sage.jar file (backed up/renamed old Sage.jar to Sage-20191224.jar)

Started Sage, and the properties were created with default values.
Stopped Sage, then modified values to 1 (1ms).

View Movie, Recording time = 1hr 57 mins, Run Time = 1hr 50 mins.
I could get to 1hr 46min 55sec stop viewing and still marked unwatched.
Got to 1hr 47min 2 sec, stop viewing and was marked watched.

TV show, Recording time = 28 mins, Run Time = 25 mins.
Watched 19mins 57sec and stopped...still marked unwatched
Watched 20mins 3 sec and stopped....recording marked watched.


PS. Could there be a property also to designate for it to be RunTime (default like it is now) and Recorded Time?

Last edited by graywolf; 12-24-2019 at 10:19 AM. Reason: additional info
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-24-2019, 11:51 AM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,278
CORRECTION - Doh

Quote:
Originally Posted by graywolf View Post
On my test box. Stopped sage, replaced with the new Sage.jar file (backed up/renamed old Sage.jar to Sage-20191224.jar)

Started Sage, and the properties were created with default values.
Stopped Sage, then modified values to 1 (1ms).

View Movie, Recording time = 1hr 57 mins, Run Time = 1hr 50 mins.
I could get to 1hr 46min 55sec stop viewing and still marked unwatched.
Got to 1hr 47min 2 sec, stop viewing and was marked watched.

TV show, Recording time = 28 mins, Run Time = 25 mins.
Watched 19mins 57sec and stopped...still marked unwatched
Watched 20mins 3 sec and stopped....recording marked watched.


PS. Could there be a property also to designate for it to be RunTime (default like it is now) and Recorded Time?
OK. Correction time.
Since my test environment is on my PC, was running both the Sage Server & Client for testing.
The previous observations were because I forgot to modify the properties in the SageClient.properties so it was taking the defaults (TV 5min ; Movie 10min)

Retesting shows that setting the properties to 1 (ms), then the Watch icon does not show until you hit the Run Time (doesn't account for commercials).

Definitely appreciate it.
Only thing that would make it better would be if could make a property to designate for it to be RunTime (default like it is now) or Recorded Time instead. Would provide greater consistency/expectations from the Wife.

PS - Checked an old recording that for some reason (from 2012 - Sage6?) did not display a Runtime and it wasn't marked Watched until it hit the very end

Merry Christmas - this will help me get the WAF higher.

Last edited by graywolf; 12-24-2019 at 11:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-24-2019, 12:06 PM
wnjj wnjj is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by graywolf View Post
OK. Correction time.
Since my test environment is on my PC, was running both the Sage Server & Client for testing.
The previous observations were because I forgot to modify the properties in the SageClient.properties so it was taking the defaults (TV 5min ; Movie 10min)

Retesting shows that setting the properties to 1 (ms), then the Watch icon does not show until you hit the Run Time (doesn't account for commercials).

Definitely appreciate it.
Only thing that would make it better would be if could make a property to designate for it to be RunTime (default like it is now) or Recorded Time instead. Would provide greater consistency/expectations from the Wife.

PS - Checked an old recording that for some reason (from 2012 - Sage6?) did not display a Runtime and it wasn't marked Watched until it hit the very end

Merry Christmas - this will help me get the WAF higher.
Ok that’s a relief. I was wondering how those defaults could still be in play. As for the run vs recorded time, I’m not exactly sure since the code doesn’t refer to them as that. There is some code to choose between the airing duration and show duration (choosing the lessor). I’m thinking the airing is the recording time and the show is the run time but your example above had one larger and one smaller value used so I have to make sense of that.

I’ll take a look over the break and see what I come up with, particularly if you’re willing to try a couple rounds, maybe with some logging added.

Merry Christmas to you as well.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-24-2019, 12:26 PM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,278
Greatly appreciated and definitely willing to perform some testing and provide feedback. Have to run some errands/chores but later today i'll see about getting you more detailed info that might help you track it down.
Got some slow time until things kick into high gear at work after New Years Day
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-24-2019, 03:25 PM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,278
wnjj - hope the following details help. Looks like AiringDuration is the one that I would be wanting to set it to and ShowDuration would be the Default unless ShowDuration is 0 (or some very small number)

Old show (2012 - Sage6) that does not display Run Time when display Recording Detail info.
"Aired On" info shows 1hr 36mins
ShowAPI.GetShowDuration() is 0
AiringAPI.GetAiringDuration() is 96 mins

Newer TV Recording that does display Run Time when display Recording Detail info.
"Aired On" info shows 1hr 2mins
Run Time = 45mins
ShowAPI.GetShowDuration() is 45 mins
AiringAPI.GetAiringDuration() is 62 mins

Movie that does display Run Time when display Recording Detail info.
"Aired On" info shows 1hr 57mins
Run Time = 1hr 50mins
ShowAPI.GetShowDuration() is 1hr 50 mins
AiringAPI.GetAiringDuration() is 1hr 57 mins


So if a property could be set to use AiringDuration instead of ShowDuration, that would be wonderful.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-24-2019, 05:57 PM
wnjj wnjj is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by graywolf View Post
wnjj - hope the following details help. Looks like AiringDuration is the one that I would be wanting to set it to and ShowDuration would be the Default unless ShowDuration is 0 (or some very small number)

Old show (2012 - Sage6) that does not display Run Time when display Recording Detail info.
"Aired On" info shows 1hr 36mins
ShowAPI.GetShowDuration() is 0
AiringAPI.GetAiringDuration() is 96 mins

Newer TV Recording that does display Run Time when display Recording Detail info.
"Aired On" info shows 1hr 2mins
Run Time = 45mins
ShowAPI.GetShowDuration() is 45 mins
AiringAPI.GetAiringDuration() is 62 mins

Movie that does display Run Time when display Recording Detail info.
"Aired On" info shows 1hr 57mins
Run Time = 1hr 50mins
ShowAPI.GetShowDuration() is 1hr 50 mins
AiringAPI.GetAiringDuration() is 1hr 57 mins


So if a property could be set to use AiringDuration instead of ShowDuration, that would be wonderful.
Try this version: https://www.dropbox.com/s/vsix7w4r52...prop2.jar?dl=0

Set "wizard/always_use_airing_for_watched_status=true" to force the use of airing all the time. I think this is the only place I need to edit so let me know if it works for you.

Merry Christmas
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-25-2019, 11:28 AM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Try this version: https://www.dropbox.com/s/vsix7w4r52...prop2.jar?dl=0

Set "wizard/always_use_airing_for_watched_status=true" to force the use of airing all the time. I think this is the only place I need to edit so let me know if it works for you.

Merry Christmas
Did testing on the 3 test cases using different time settings for
Code:
wizard/watch_ignore_time
wizard/watch_ignore_time_movie
with having the wizard/always_use_airing_for_watched_status= set to true and false

All is working as expected. My wife thanks you very much for her Christmas gift
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-25-2019, 01:24 PM
wnjj wnjj is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by graywolf View Post
Did testing on the 3 test cases using different time settings for
Code:
wizard/watch_ignore_time
wizard/watch_ignore_time_movie
with having the wizard/always_use_airing_for_watched_status= set to true and false

All is working as expected. My wife thanks you very much for her Christmas gift
Excellent and you’re welcome. I’ll see if Narflex is ok with putting this into the main codebase. I don’t see why not since the defaults are the way it works now.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Set defaults" for Series forgets "Keep"/"Auto-delete" setting maxpower SageMC Custom Interface 9 05-14-2008 09:44 PM
Question about the "show watched" flag CarlR SageTV Software 0 09-12-2007 02:22 PM
Mark "Don't Like" on categorized view mwhitlock SageTV Beta Test Software 3 03-03-2004 09:37 AM
Feature Request: Time limited "watched" list Deadbolt SageTV Beta Test Software 2 02-10-2004 05:34 PM
Export "watched" show list? blackbear SageTV Software 0 10-27-2003 05:44 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.