SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2008, 08:35 AM
Dean_H Dean_H is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 105
TV shows skipping time after pressing jump

I need some help. The family is about to give up on Sage because during a television show, when a commercial is detected (using comskip) the show jumps forward but not to the end of the commercial (we loose some of the show). I've turned off comskip and if you press jump forward, the show jumps forward, but seems to loose track of where it was. Meaning, say you are at the 12 minute mark. If you press jump forward 1.5 minutes, then press jump back 1.5 minutes, you are at a totally different point in the show.

Comskip seems to find the correct start and stop points, but it appears that Sage can't keep track of where it should be throughout the show.

I don't know if I've explained this well enough or not. Hopefully someone will have some recommendations. I have the latest java, sagemc, sagetv and comskip files all loaded.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-14-2008, 04:56 PM
Dean_H Dean_H is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 105
Has no one else had issues like this before?

I've searched the forums and can't find any mention to this problem. Has no one else had this problem (I'd hate to be singled out)?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-14-2008, 05:52 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,596
If you have a Hauppauge tuner, check this FAQ, and/or see the beta section of the forum for a Demux beta.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2008, 06:35 AM
Dean_H Dean_H is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 105
Andy,

I"ll check the registry setting as soon as I have a second. I record two cable feeds from a PVR-500, but I also record an HD feed via firewire from a cable box. I believe that either/both types of recordings have this time skip issue. I'll search for info on a demux beta to read up on that.

Thanks for the reply,
Dean....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2008, 04:22 PM
OldPCGUY's Avatar
OldPCGUY OldPCGUY is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 198
Similar Issue

I was seeing a similar issue but it was worse. I am not using comskip.

After succesive FF Sage gets stuck and Video playback gets stuck.
IF I RW twice then it gets unstuck and starts playing again.

I have 3 MPEG2 decoder options ATI, CyberPowerPDVD7, SAGE with Accel

ATI and Cyber both had this problem
Sage with Acceleration on did not

I am going to also try the properties changes Andy Reccommended.

Good Luck
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-27-2008, 07:18 AM
Dean_H Dean_H is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 105
I don't have the directory

Andy,

I've looked for the directory in regedit and I don't have it. I installed the PVR-500 some time ago. Could that mean that I don't have the latest drivers or something?

I've installed the latest demux file (latest as of this writing). The version 14 still had the same hanging issues.

Now Sage hangs (sometimes with HD recorded shows off of firewire) at the end of the show (circle of death as some have noted).

Dean...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
comskip, jumping, sagemc


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sage craps out recording 4 shows at once jgourd Hardware Support 4 10-01-2008 11:15 AM
Delete Live TV files after predefined time lenkost SageTV Software 3 09-14-2008 12:28 PM
STV: SageMC 16x9 Version 6.x (latest dev build) dflachbart SageMC Custom Interface 6112 04-04-2008 11:16 PM
Log file for Sage 6.1 freezing/crashing popechild SageTV Software 18 12-31-2007 06:30 PM
Recorded shows grouping dlandrum SageTV Customizations 2 09-16-2007 03:37 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.