SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations > SageMC Custom Interface

Notices

SageMC Custom Interface This forum is for discussing the user-created SageMC custom interface for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2010, 12:12 AM
sagetv5150 sagetv5150 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Laguna Niguel, CA
Posts: 41
SageMC on Win7 64-bit?

Hi,

I apologize if this has been addressed somewhere in these forums. But I have scoured them trying to see if anyone else is experiencing my issues. And havenít found any help. So Iím reaching out now.
I had been using the latest/greatest SageMC interface on Win XP SP3 for quite some time. Enjoyed it thoroughly, and was solid as a rock. I use an HD200 extender in my configuration. I recently decided to upgrade my PC to Windows 7 64-bit. While I realize SageTV isn't "officially" supported on Win7 (as Tech Support was nice enough to tell me), I figured it would work ok given various user experiences. The default STV works fine. But when I put SageMC 6_3_9, 6_3_9a, or 6_3_9b pre-release 23 on top, the stability falls apart. I had the latest version of Java installed, but then read some posts about some people having java issues. So I rolled back to version 6 update 12. But nothing helps. I have my heapsize set to 1 GB (1024). Phoenix jar version 1.44. SageMC symptoms include:

- spinning "circle of death" (sometimes forever until sage process is killed)
- tunes to a different channel than that selected
- general sluggish navigation

Note these symptoms don't occur right away. Only after navigating around the app for a bit (10 min or so) after restarting the Sage Service (which btw won't shutdown cleanly in my Services panel after SageMC has exhibited this behavior).

So my question is, has anyone gotten SageMC to work well on Win7 64-bit (realizing it is running as a 32-bit app)? Iíve even tried playing with Win7ís ďcompatibility modeĒ, trying Win XP SP3 and Vista. But the issues persist. If someone is having success with the SageMC interface with SageTV on Windows 7 64-bit, any pointers for things I could try/look at? Iíve reinstalled several times now, but same problem.

Thanks in advance.

- Tim
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2010, 06:33 AM
SWKerr SWKerr is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,178
I have it running on a Windows7 64 bit client without issues. No experience with extender. I have not seen a similar post.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2010, 12:01 AM
sagetv5150 sagetv5150 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Laguna Niguel, CA
Posts: 41
Thx SWKerr. Out of curiosity, what version/update of java are you running?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2010, 09:39 AM
mdnttoker mdnttoker is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 442
I'm running on Win7 x64 w/SageMC and HD200 extenders...no problems.

One little tidbit I always followed was installing the x64 JAVA first, and then the x32 JAVA...don't know if that would help you...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-22-2010, 09:51 AM
sagetv5150 sagetv5150 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Laguna Niguel, CA
Posts: 41
Interesting, I'll give it a try. I figured that since Sage was a 32-bit app, there was no need to even install x64 JAVA. I only have x32 installed currently (update 13 right now).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sagemc, windows 7


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USBUIRT MultiZone support with Win7 64-bit? Tiki Hardware Support 1 12-29-2009 02:33 PM
How to artificially reduce RAM on Vist & Win7 64-bit systems. freewheeling Hardware Support 0 12-13-2009 10:08 PM
Windows 7 64 bit or 32 bit? rosemary General Discussion 21 12-10-2009 10:51 AM
Vista 32 bit and then Windows 7 32 bit EVR abbott_m SageTV Software 13 08-05-2009 08:01 AM
5700Le(128-bit) Vs MX 4000(256-bit) LegolasX21E Hardware Support 8 03-05-2005 09:17 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.