SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-08-2008, 05:05 PM
JWise1203 JWise1203 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Hauppauge HD PVR on Windows Server 2008

Hello,

I have a need to run Windows Server 2008 (x64) as my OS. I am trying to get the HD PVR to work on my system. The drivers installed succesfully however I am not able to configure the HD PVR as a source in SageTV.

I have read about the BDE files I needed to extract from Vista and register. I have done this and it has not helped.

Can anyone help me out?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-09-2008, 07:45 AM
Beefcake550 Beefcake550 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 706
First thing, is what version of Sage are you using (both client and server). I know 6.4.8 (latest release) is required to see the tuner.

Sorry, I don't ahve WS2K8, so I will be of limited help.

Quick question...does WS2K8 have Windows Home Server functionality? like automated backups of client PCs and the whole sparse file system and console?

-Brian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-09-2008, 06:24 PM
JWise1203 JWise1203 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beefcake550 View Post
First thing, is what version of Sage are you using (both client and server). I know 6.4.8 (latest release) is required to see the tuner.

Sorry, I don't ahve WS2K8, so I will be of limited help.

Quick question...does WS2K8 have Windows Home Server functionality? like automated backups of client PCs and the whole sparse file system and console?

-Brian
I am using version 6.4.8.184. I was able to see the tuner on a Vista X64 machine. It's not dectecting the tuner at all in Server 2008, although the driver is installed.

Windows Server 2008 does not have the features of client backups and so forth that Windows Home Server does. It is meant for medium to large business applications.

I need this OS for some testing and development (through MSDN subscription). I was looking to use this as my main OS if possible.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-10-2009, 12:45 PM
msteward1 msteward1 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 2
Any update on this?

I'm having the same issue .. HD PVR installs fine into Windows 2008, but Sage gives the "No video capture devices were found.". Is this a known issue? I've tried the latest beta of sage (6.5.11), as well as the latest drivers for HDPVR (1.0.5.3 and 1.0.5.4 beta) with no luck. Thanks,

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-10-2009, 01:31 PM
Peter_h Peter_h is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kailua, HI
Posts: 798
Did you install the "total Media Theatre" software package?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-10-2009, 01:51 PM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Did you restart (I know simple question)

Also the theatre package is not needed unless you wish to view on that pc.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-10-2009, 02:28 PM
msteward1 msteward1 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 2
Installed the Total Media Extreme and Theater, installed the 'Desktop Experience' component of Windows Server 2008 (includes Windows Media Player, AERO, etc.), reinstalled Sage 6.5.11, rebooted, and still receive same message.

So I figured then I'd check the Total Media Extreme software to find out if this even works. Within TME I'm able to select the Hauppage HD PVR, but each time I do I receive and error about it not being ready or already in use "The device is not available, or being used by another application.". I then removed Sage just in case this was causing the conflict and tried again, same result...

So far results under 2008 are suspect... Thanks all for any responses so far. Take care,

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-13-2009, 01:12 PM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,260
I am just getting a Windows Server 2008 computer on my network. I hope to move my SageTV to this computer since it will run 24/7. I have a HDHR and a HD-PVR.

So this is a little concerning to see that perhaps the HD-PVR won't work. I assume you were installing the Vista 64 drivers on the WS2008 machine?

I had hoped that the Vista64 driver would work on the WS2008 since it is based on the same OS code.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (32bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Charter cable)
OpenDCT
HD-100 HD Extenders
HD-300 HD Extenders
Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-13-2009, 03:32 PM
Motofreak75 Motofreak75 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 578
Send a message via ICQ to Motofreak75
Server 2008 doe NOT include any form of BDA support,so you have to manual install BDA files and you have enter a fair bit into the registry to get analog tuners going. there is script I posted on this forum, have you guys tried that ?

Because your trying to use the HD-PVR, thats reg file I posted might not work, but it got all my other PVR1800 Hauppauge devices to show under sage.

Good luck
__________________
12.04 server Sagetv7
HD-pvr / 2250 /PVR 500 / DVBS w/rotor & 36 inch dish
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hd pvr, server 2008


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capture Devices Gone After Reboot hchucky Hardware Support 6 11-14-2008 10:24 PM
SageTV with Windows home server Michaelreed01 SageTV Placeshifter 4 09-06-2008 07:37 AM
SageTV V6.4.7 Release Candidate is Here! Narflex SageTV Beta Test Software 2 08-12-2008 01:11 PM
Sage + DirecTV HD DVR question subhadipsas Hardware Support 11 07-08-2008 11:45 PM
List of issues Sage 6.3.6 with HD extender Spriter SageTV Beta Test Software 5 01-24-2008 09:31 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.