SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-08-2008, 09:40 AM
Dekard's Avatar
Dekard Dekard is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 249
Vista, QAM and 1080p

Hey guys, I used Sage pretty extensively back in the version 4 and version 5 days with a linux server, htpc and hauppage extender. After fighting with a massive amount of stability issues over a one year period I dropped Sage and switched to Vista Home Premium and have had a more better experience.

Of course, its also a significantly simpler setup with fewer features but hey! It works!

Anyway, I'm a little frustrated with the current state of the beta drivers for clear qam for Vista and I'm thinking of switching back to Sage for the Clear QAM support. I'll list the hardware I've got, the hardware I'm thinking of getting and then look for your comments.

Currently owned:
Dell Dimension c521 (half height)
Athlon x2 3800+
2 gigs ram
400g hard drive
nvidia 7300 gs > svideo > sdtv
Vista View Saber 2020
MCE Remote control + receiver

One thing I'll mention, if I switch to Sage it will be on a single box with no extender. No server\client setup, just one pc with a tuner or two.

I'll be buying a 1080p capable HDTV in the very near future. I've seen a lot of talk about about the 780 tuner and I'm leaning towards that since I've got a HALF HEIGHT pc. Is there a better half height (or usb) dual qam tuner? I'll be using the MCE remote and I've reviewed the thread on that, looks pretty simple.

Besides the video card being likely too weak for full 1080p, is there anything else I need to worry about?
__________________
www.overclockingwiki.org
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-2008, 09:57 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
I'm using the HD Homerun. I highly recommend it. It sits on your network and has two tuners. QAM and ATSC or a mixture. (Also works with MCE and VMC)

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2008, 06:25 PM
Dekard's Avatar
Dekard Dekard is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 249
I've got a HD set top box from Comcast right now. There are a mountain of HD channels available through this box. The tv I'm using has a QAM tuner so I've tried that already and I'm getting only a few channels, perhaps 5 or so compared to the 250+ I can get with the tuner box.

Would the HD Home Run allow the reception of all those channels? Do I need to be looking at integregration of my set top box with Sage or my Vista MCE box?
__________________
www.overclockingwiki.org
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-12-2008, 07:01 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
You would get the same 5 or so that your TV QAM tuner is getting. No difference there.


Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-12-2008, 08:58 PM
Dekard's Avatar
Dekard Dekard is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by gplasky View Post
You would get the same 5 or so that your TV QAM tuner is getting. No difference there.


Gerry
so, the only way around this situation is cablecard, right?
__________________
www.overclockingwiki.org
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-13-2008, 12:21 AM
ke6guj ke6guj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,355
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dekard View Post
so, the only way around this situation is cablecard, right?
no, not the only way.

There are currently 3 ways in Sage to record an HD cable channel in HD. One way is QAM, two other ways are to capture directly from an HD STB, either via firewire (there may be 5C encryption on the firewire port that may prevent you from recording some or most channels) or with a R5000-HD mod (will allow capture of all paid-for channels but runs$400).

Hopefully HD component capture may be soon coming to Sage to add a forth method.

Cable card is supposed to work in Vista Media Center, and on certified hardware, so a Sage solution may not be possible.
__________________
- Jack
__________________________________________
Server: AMD Phenom 9750, 2GB RAM, 2 Hauppauge PVR500, 1 Firewired DCT6200, 1 HDHomerun tuning 2 QAM channels, Vizio 37" HDTV LCD, 1 USB-UIRT

Clients: 1 MediaMVP, 1 Placeshifter Client, & 1 SageTV Client.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDTV, QAM - General Questions ThePaladinTech General Discussion 9 11-29-2007 04:02 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.