SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-04-2009, 11:39 AM
jerryt jerryt is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 832
!! HDPVR support in Windows Media Center !!

Release in beta

hxxp://dvblogic.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=1086
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2009, 09:18 AM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner
Anybody try this? Looks like a pretty rigged setup to get it working.
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-2009, 09:25 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
It's not going to be easy for anyone to get it working - especially if you're in North America. I'm still waiting to hear from someone who's actually got it working.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-2009, 11:37 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Isn't it Windows 7 only?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-2009, 11:46 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Isn't it Windows 7 only?
It's Any Windows Media Center that has h.264. So in essence yes mostly Windows 7. I think there are some copies of Vista with TV Pack that had h.264
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-11-2009, 12:06 PM
Clift Clift is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 555
Beta 2 has just been released and there are some interesting improvements already:

The beta 2 includes the following new features:
- EPG (TV Guide) support from an XMLTV file
- Support for any MCE-Compatible IR Blaster
- Scheduled launch of an external script or program to update the XMLTV file
- Unicode channel name support in Config.xml
- Includes a tool that wisely imports/updates Config.xml's channel list from an XMLTV file (thanks to Philibert)
- Includes a tool that learns IR Code from any MCE-Compatible IR Receiver


http://dvblogic.com/phpBB3/viewtopic...start=30#p3773
__________________
Server:W7 Ultimate, SageTV 7.1.9
Capture Devices: HVR-2250, 2x HD PVR 1212
Clients:
1x STX-HD100
3x STP-HD200
@cliftpompee
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-12-2009, 04:53 AM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,764
Sounds painful.
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-12-2009, 07:44 AM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcjenkins View Post
Sounds painful.
Yeah, and given enough time in the day, I would try it, but I am a person whom likes to see it work for others first before investing that amount of effort.
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-13-2009, 04:25 PM
heffe2001's Avatar
heffe2001 heffe2001 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 1,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejaner View Post
Yeah, and given enough time in the day, I would try it, but I am a person whom likes to see it work for others first before investing that amount of effort.
It really doesn't look much more complicated than using a DVB-S tuner in Sage with MyTheatre and xmltv for guide info.
__________________
Server: AMD Phenom 2 920 2.8ghz Quad, 16gb Ram, 4tb Storage, 1xHVR-2250, 1 Ceton Cable Card adapter, Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-13-2009, 04:35 PM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,764
It is a quite a bit more painful than using an HDPVR in SageTV though. That was my measuring stick.

B
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-18-2009, 09:09 AM
Beefcake550 Beefcake550 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 706
It doesn't seem impossible and for people that really want MCE, they will say it's "not bad".

Unfortunately, there are so many other problems with MCE that you couldn't pry my sageTV setup from my cold, dead body.

Allow me to stream DVDs and BluRays to cheap extenders ($200 or less) and it would be worth looking at because Sage can do that now.

Also, make is a plug-in to WHS.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-19-2009, 09:52 AM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beefcake550 View Post
It doesn't seem impossible and for people that really want MCE, they will say it's "not bad".

Unfortunately, there are so many other problems with MCE that you couldn't pry my sageTV setup from my cold, dead body.

Allow me to stream DVDs and BluRays to cheap extenders ($200 or less) and it would be worth looking at because Sage can do that now.

Also, make is a plug-in to WHS.
DVD's can be done apparently, with some linking tricks. Probably not more hassle than the HDPVR "hack"
http://www.htpcug.org/DVDLibraryonEx...8/Default.aspx

Not sure about BluRay etc....
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-19-2009, 10:06 AM
Beefcake550 Beefcake550 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 706
Interesting read about getting DVDs to play on extenders. I honestly can't see myself ever switching back to MCE due to my investment in SageTV and it's extenders. I have everything I need/want - except HD Audio playback from bluray rips. I bought a PCH-A110 to handle that.

-Brian
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-19-2009, 10:07 AM
Clift Clift is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 555
Kinda long video...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WdTXoXjNJGA
__________________
Server:W7 Ultimate, SageTV 7.1.9
Capture Devices: HVR-2250, 2x HD PVR 1212
Clients:
1x STX-HD100
3x STP-HD200
@cliftpompee
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-19-2009, 10:20 AM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
Brent at GeekTonic had this article up a few days ago:
http://www.geektonic.com/2009/02/hau...rosoft-on.html

If Hauppauge and MS are working together it will potentially help all of us with HD-PVRs. New, more stable drivers would almost certainly be the result.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-19-2009, 11:23 AM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelenWeathers View Post
Brent at GeekTonic had this article up a few days ago:
http://www.geektonic.com/2009/02/hau...rosoft-on.html

If Hauppauge and MS are working together it will potentially help all of us with HD-PVRs. New, more stable drivers would almost certainly be the result.
Yeah, I see that being a good thing for drivers. It would be nice to see multiple IR blaster support come out of this.
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-24-2009, 09:43 PM
TechJunkie TechJunkie is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USA, Southern California
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejaner View Post
Yeah, I see that being a good thing for drivers. It would be nice to see multiple IR blaster support come out of this.
I agree this is great news about Microsoft and Hauppauge working together to make sure the HD-PVR works on Windows 7. With the next version of Windows Home Server being based on Windows 7 we can expect a smooth transition for SageTV to run all its supported hardware to work on the new version of WHS.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 Media Center ikarus79m General Discussion 178 05-23-2009 06:04 AM
Using Windows Media Center as Client barogers SageTV Software 4 12-28-2008 05:43 PM
Windows 7 Media Center details released! LehighBri General Discussion 8 10-29-2008 07:02 AM
Powering on my HD-100 starts Media Center in windows JayElVee SageTV Media Extender 2 03-12-2008 11:02 AM
Need help want to use sage tv and windows media center gav Hardware Support 1 03-09-2006 11:25 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.