SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-07-2009, 03:01 PM
Savage1701 Savage1701 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 668
USB PCI Card & Hauppauge USB ATSC Tuner Sticks and/or HD-PVR - Do They Work?

Just curious if anyone has tried using some of the various USB-based ATSC tuners or an HD-PVR with a PCI add-in card, and if they have had success/failure/issues?

One CPU I am looking at using for a SageTV server only has a total of 4 motherboard-based USB ports, 2 on the back and 2 internal headers. I'll need one for a sound card and another for a HD-PVR and one for the front header on the server chassis. That leaves one for a tuner stick. I'd like to have a few more available if a PCI-based USB card will work.

I'm suspecting connecting a hub to one of the ports will cause all sorts of trouble, so I don't want to go that route.

Thanks for any info.

Last edited by Savage1701; 07-07-2009 at 03:02 PM. Reason: clarify
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-07-2009, 03:48 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Just get a USB 2.0 Hub. It'll work just fine... hubs don't degrade the capabilities of USB. In fact, odds are the 4 ports you already HAVE on your MB are from a single controller, with a 4 port hub.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-07-2009, 04:07 PM
Savage1701 Savage1701 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 668
Good point Fuzzy and now that I think about it, probably true. I guess I was more concerned that that was sort of like connecting a hub to a hub.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-07-2009, 06:49 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Hubs are designed to support daisy-chaining, more or less like Ethernet switches. You can extend the topology as far as you like, up to something like 128 devices total.

Do be aware, though, that some USB devices draw power from the bus, and your motherboard can power only a few devices that way. So if you're plugging bus-powered devices into a hub, make sure the hub has its own power supply.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-07-2009, 07:18 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by GKusnick View Post
Hubs are designed to support daisy-chaining, more or less like Ethernet switches. You can extend the topology as far as you like, up to something like 128 devices total.

Do be aware, though, that some USB devices draw power from the bus, and your motherboard can power only a few devices that way. So if you're plugging bus-powered devices into a hub, make sure the hub has its own power supply.
Technically, I think the limit is a depth of 8, and max devices of 127.. you can't just keep extending lengthwise, but you CAN to up to 8 points between controller and device. Either way, you shouldn't have a performance problem associated with using a hub in this instance, the only issue you might have, as discuessed, is power. If you are using windows, you can monitor how much power each device on your USB chain is using by looking at the properties of the Hub in device manager. It will show how much power each 'compliant' device is using... keep in mind, some devices do not properly request/report their usage.. but good compliant ones do.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:42 PM
Savage1701 Savage1701 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 668
Thanks. Sounds like a plan. I've got a great Supermicro server that comes up strong everywhere but in the USB port department.

I will make sure it is a powered hub. That much I did know to do. I was just worried about daisy chaining.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding Serial Port - PCI Card or USB Adapter? ChuckSchick Hardware Support 1 07-21-2008 06:05 AM
Artec T14A mini USB ATSC OTA Tuner dagar Hardware Support 8 07-14-2007 06:49 PM
Fusion Card - USB or PCI? aperry Hardware Support 6 12-08-2005 06:11 AM
USB WinPVR & 250 PCI Card Any problems? Diginerd Hardware Support 7 07-24-2004 10:52 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.