SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 08-30-2021, 10:02 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,199
Personally I find remote streaming to be trickier from cable than from streaming services. I can easily play Netflix/Prime Video/Apple TV+ content on my Smart TV, PC, phone, iPad, etc. It is trickier to do that with cable content, unless your cable provider makes that easy. Watching SageTV content on your Phone or iPad has never been straightforward and generally requires another app like Plex or AirVideoHD.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-30-2021, 10:49 AM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Personally I find remote streaming to be trickier from cable than from streaming services. I can easily play Netflix/Prime Video/Apple TV+ content on my Smart TV, PC, phone, iPad, etc. It is trickier to do that with cable content, unless your cable provider makes that easy. Watching SageTV content on your Phone or iPad has never been straightforward and generally requires another app like Plex or AirVideoHD.
I guess I should have specified that I meant remote streaming with the Spectrum app. My daughter uses it at college, and the channels they block she can pick up with the individual apps. She hasn't wanted to do SageTV remote streaming, we usually just use Plex. And since she is a Roku person that makes it harder to use SageTV anyway.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-02-2021, 10:14 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,339
We didn't have cable TV for the first 5-10 years of marriage. But we eventually got it and have kept it - largely because I use SageTV and a cable card tuner. This allows me to easily record and watch shows at any of my TVs around the house while paying just a $4 cable card fee. If I had to "rent" STB for each TV, we would have dropped cable long ago due to the extra cost. Most people I know are paying $50-100 or more per month just in box rentals.

My area is one of the first 50 markets scheduled to get ATSC 3.0 although they haven't started the process yet. If Spectrum drops cable card support, I have no doubt that we will drop TV service from them and use streaming and OTA only.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-02-2021, 10:41 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,199
ATSC has already been rolled out in many cities. But that may mean just one or two channels. It would be interesting to see people try to get the video files into SageTV using the HDHR ATSC 3.0 tuner.

Quote:
As of July 2021, ATSC 3.0 was on the air in 38 markets with another 9 markets scheduled to launch over the summer. The most recent market launch was Orlando, with Fox Television's WRBW-TV and WOFL-TV , Cox Media Group's WFTV-TV and WRDQ-TV, Graham Media Group's WKMG-TV, Hearst Television's WESH-TV and WKCF-TV, and University of Central Florida's WUCF-TV all broadcasting in ATSC 3.0.
https://www.nexttv.com/news/atsc-30-...ast-nextgen-tv
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-02-2021, 11:48 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,604
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
ATSC has already been rolled out in many cities. But that may mean just one or two channels. It would be interesting to see people try to get the video files into SageTV using the HDHR ATSC 3.0 tuner.



https://www.nexttv.com/news/atsc-30-...ast-nextgen-tv
Does not work on MiniClient or HD300. Blank screen no video/audio.... as expected.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 09-02-2021 at 11:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 09-04-2021, 10:32 AM
phelme's Avatar
phelme phelme is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
I keep cable around because it's one of the last services available that has nearly everything I watch in one place.

We all got exactly what we've been asking for all these years, channels a-la-carte, and I hate it, the streaming fragmentation.
yep, I'm with you, it's bad and indications are it's just going to get worse. I have to have multiple ways (i.e. Trakt.tv, lists in OneNote) to account for what we watch and where now, it gets tiring. They may hate the idea of the boomer's "cable," but the 20-somethings will just never know how nice it was to have a single guide and everything in one place.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-05-2021, 04:46 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,604
If you have XFINITY stream you can filter TV2GO and that should tell you what you will get with TVE more or less. Or get a Channels DVR trail and try it.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 09-05-2021 at 04:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spectrum detecting SageTV? Malfunction SageTV Software 9 01-29-2018 04:39 AM
Charter Spectrum??? KeithAbbott General Discussion 4 12-04-2016 04:32 PM
Anyone on Spectrum (TWC) with CC/STBs? Telecore General Discussion 4 10-31-2016 06:57 PM
CableCards and Which Cable Service to Use mike1961 Hardware Support 17 06-18-2014 06:38 PM
HD cablecards and SageTV pdxview Hardware Support 2 08-30-2008 10:26 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.