SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #81  
Old 09-17-2021, 02:41 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,219
I can see it now:
ABC OTA: $2.99/month
ABC OTA/Disney+: $7.99/month
ABC OTA/Disney+/ESPN/hulu: $13.99/month

NBC OTA: $2.99/month
NBC OTA/Peacock Premium: $4.99/month
NBC OTA/Peacock Premium Plus: $9.99/month
And so on, and so forth...
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.9.2, SageTV (java11) & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 09-20-2021, 03:41 PM
Malfunction Malfunction is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
I wonder how many more years until the networks figure out how to charge for their OTA service. It's gotta be killing them to give anything away for free.
All they have to do is continue putting out a weaker signal with every repack, thereby forceing the customers into CATV and Satellite.
__________________
ASRock B450M Pro4 AM4 MB, Ryzen 5 2600 3.4ghz, Crucial Ballistix Gaming 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4-3200, EVGA GT 1030SC, WD Black NVMe SSD 250GB, 1x WD120EFAX 12TB, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 1x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, Colossus 2, WinTV-DualHD USB, Windows 10 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 09-20-2021, 04:37 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,996
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
I wonder how many more years until the networks figure out how to charge for their OTA service. It's gotta be killing them to give anything away for free.
Isn't it part of their FCC license to broadcast that it is free? That's why they are ALLOWED to run commercials, if I remember my Red and Blue channels from history. In the U.K., your yearly license fee pays for OTA, but are they allowed to run commercials at The Beeb and Ch 4?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 09-20-2021, 04:47 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,198
That's why they are allowed to use the RF spectrum. It seems silly to me that other rebroadcasters, like cable, have to pay for local OTA channels. They should have cable tiers with everything except OTA channels as anyone who wants can use an antenna to pull them in.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 09-20-2021, 04:54 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,996
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
That's why they are allowed to use the RF spectrum. It seems silly to me that other rebroadcasters, like cable, have to pay for local OTA channels. They should have cable tiers with everything except OTA channels as anyone who wants can use an antenna to pull them in.
Do they HAVE to pay for them, or does the public demand cable supply the OTA channels, hence, that revenue stream you were talking about - Disney doesn't give ABC away for free to Comcast, do they?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 09-20-2021, 05:02 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,198
I think they used to be free but starting several years ago the cable/sat companies had to start paying for the channels. So Comcast pays ABC. Or rather, Comcast pays ABC a fee that they collect from you, the end viewer.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 09-21-2021, 01:52 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I think they used to be free but starting several years ago the cable/sat companies had to start paying for the channels. So Comcast pays ABC. Or rather, Comcast pays ABC a fee that they collect from you, the end viewer.
Yes, thatís my understanding of it too.
It infuriates me because in theory, broadcast tv makes its money from advertising and their ad rates are based on the size of their audience. So it should be to their advantage to have cable re-broadcast their content to a wider audience. Really, if anything, they should be paying the cable operators, not the other way around.
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.