SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-04-2013, 08:36 AM
dgeezer dgeezer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 293
Network Traffic Flow Question

My sage TV setup consists of a SageTV server with a couple tuning cards and an HDHomerun located in my wife's office here on the farm. It's close to the road and has Time Warner cable access. Our house is about 800 feet from the road and is connected to the office with fiber optic cable and 100mbit fiber converter boxes. We have an HD300 and HD200 at the house. I currently store all our ripped movies and music on the SageTV server. I also have a linux "server" located in our house. I use this to backup her and my office pc's so as to have readily accessible storage kind of offsite.

Here's my question: If I store my rips on the linux server in my house would this create more traffic over the fiber link or less? In other words would the movies travel directly from the Linux server to my HD300 via my gigabit switch in my house or would the stream travel up the fiber link to the sagetv server in the office and then back down the same link to my HD300? Any ideas how I could test this?

I haven't noticed any problems, but I worry that as we add more devices the fiber connection may become a bottleneck.

Simplified diagram (doesn't show printers, wireless access points etc.)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2013, 10:30 AM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgeezer View Post
My sage TV setup consists of a SageTV server with a couple tuning cards and an HDHomerun located in my wife's office here on the farm. It's close to the road and has Time Warner cable access. Our house is about 800 feet from the road and is connected to the office with fiber optic cable and 100mbit fiber converter boxes. We have an HD300 and HD200 at the house. I currently store all our ripped movies and music on the SageTV server. I also have a linux "server" located in our house. I use this to backup her and my office pc's so as to have readily accessible storage kind of offsite.

Here's my question: If I store my rips on the linux server in my house would this create more traffic over the fiber link or less? In other words would the movies travel directly from the Linux server to my HD300 via my gigabit switch in my house or would the stream travel up the fiber link to the sagetv server in the office and then back down the same link to my HD300? Any ideas how I could test this?

I haven't noticed any problems, but I worry that as we add more devices the fiber connection may become a bottleneck.

Simplified diagram (doesn't show printers, wireless access points etc.)
I am quite certain that sage will pass of the network path to the item by which your traffic would go directly to the source. So in your example if you have your sage server local ont he same switch, the request would go out to sage, then sage would tell the hd300 where the media is when a playback is requested. hd300 woudld then go directlyl to the network path to access the media, not a round trip back to the sage server
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-04-2013, 12:58 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiX64 View Post
I am quite certain that sage will pass of the network path to the item by which your traffic would go directly to the source. So in your example if you have your sage server local ont he same switch, the request would go out to sage, then sage would tell the hd300 where the media is when a playback is requested. hd300 woudld then go directlyl to the network path to access the media, not a round trip back to the sage server
Sage Streams to the extenders only PC Clients read the file directly... if using UNC Paths or mapped drives.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-04-2013, 02:09 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Sage Streams to the extenders only PC Clients read the file directly... if using UNC Paths or mapped drives.
That's what I though as well.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-07-2013, 02:42 PM
dgeezer dgeezer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 293
Thanks for the replies. I havent had time to look into this much further. I did start a video playing on my HD200 which originated on my linux server and then shut down my SageTV server. The video stopped playing about 30 seconds later which is about how long it takes for the SageTV box to shut down and close my Teamviewer session.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-07-2013, 04:17 PM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobPhoenix View Post
That's what I though as well.
Seems odd, and i don't buy it. Completely unecessary to broker a file that hd300 or hdx00 can play directly through sage server.

If that is in fact how they do it, it would be interesting to talk to Jeff et. al. on why the hell that decision was made.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-07-2013, 05:45 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiX64 View Post
Seems odd, and i don't buy it. Completely unecessary to broker a file that hd300 or hdx00 can play directly through sage server.

If that is in fact how they do it, it would be interesting to talk to Jeff et. al. on why the hell that decision was made.
That is easy to test when you using an extender you will see the Sage Server CPU usage go up... when using a client you will barely see cpu usage.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-07-2013, 06:39 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
My understanding is also that only PC clients will pull files straight from the source, if using UNC paths or mapped drives. I'm not sure why extenders don't do the same.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-08-2013, 09:11 AM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,151
The UI is run off the server for an extender when in extender mode. So the file then has to be streamed from the server. How would the UI runnning on the server know where you are in the file if it played it back directly from the file on the extender when you brought up position bar? Granted that could be worked out in the protocol but I doubt it is.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDHomerun Network traffic load MalibuDave42 Hardware Support 10 01-07-2009 07:50 PM
Traffic QueOnda SageTV Customizations 2 12-16-2008 05:30 PM
Traffic congestion and traffic cams zzmystique SageTV Australia/New Zealand 9 05-23-2008 03:03 AM
Network traffic to/from MVP navels SageTV Media Extender 0 07-23-2007 05:54 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.