SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Studio

Notices

SageTV Studio Discussion related to the SageTV Studio application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the Studio software application should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-02-2016, 01:43 PM
CollegeProject CollegeProject is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 119
clipping /error on big text

Anyone else noticed in studio if you go about about 100 on size of a text widget theme the text doesn't display correct and gets stretched and cut out?

Didn't notice this until recently when trying to start using on icon-font and needed to make bigger. It does the same thing with a default font when going really large. Is this a bug or am I missing a setting?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-2016, 01:46 PM
CollegeProject CollegeProject is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 119
Also of note I noticed the icon font only works if I put the font manually in the default sagetv\fonts folder vs the standard of loading it in the theme properties like i do other fonts. Found it odd.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-03-2016, 10:00 AM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
I think the clipping you are seeing is limited to the Android mini client. I noticed in P2 that really large text seems to work fine on normal clients and the HD300. But on the Shield it gets messed up.
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-03-2016, 10:07 AM
CollegeProject CollegeProject is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
I think the clipping you are seeing is limited to the Android mini client. I noticed in P2 that really large text seems to work fine on normal clients and the HD300. But on the Shield it gets messed up.
This was actually on my development MS surface machine wasn't even on the android or extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-03-2016, 10:08 AM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
Could be something with the font then - maybe try loading a different one and see if it still happens?
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-03-2016, 10:39 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
I think the clipping you are seeing is limited to the Android mini client. I noticed in P2 that really large text seems to work fine on normal clients and the HD300. But on the Shield it gets messed up.
That's interesting that you would see that... The Android MiniClient (like HD300) doesn't actually render fonts... Fonts are rendered on the server and then sent to the MiniClient as bitmaps (in the same way as images,etc) (I think a Full Client actually does render it's own Fonts)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
Could be something with the font then - maybe try loading a different one and see if it still happens?
He was trying to scale up Material Icon Font, but noticed the same issues with regular fonts. Have you played with getting Material Icons to show using the Icon Font?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-03-2016, 02:21 PM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
I haven't tried super huge font icons, but at 36 it works fine. The settings gear in this picture is a font icon.

Attached Images
File Type: png FontIcon.png (60.4 KB, 102 views)
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-03-2016, 02:25 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,169
I know in the past we noticed "certain" fonts have issues on extenders. In Gemstone we implemented the options slide outs with a sideways font and it worked great on clients but would NOT render on any extender so we ended up creating bitmaps for each set of text we wanted to display sideways.

May be related.

k
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-03-2016, 02:28 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
I haven't tried super huge font icons, but at 36 it works fine. The settings gear in this picture is a font icon.

Nice!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DTS 'clipping' srcurtis SageTV Beta Test Software 0 09-27-2010 05:00 PM
VBR MP3 Clipping / Cutting Off the First 2 Seconds of Songs ptzink SageTV Software 0 02-21-2010 08:22 PM
PVR500 Audio Clipping on 2 Channels sfisher Hardware Support 0 11-28-2005 01:17 PM
PVR250 Audio Clipping srcurtis Hardware Support 5 01-25-2005 05:52 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.