SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-21-2009, 10:37 AM
windynook windynook is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wirral
Posts: 7
Freesat BBC HD Problem.

I am new to SageTV. I am using latest versions on a trial basis.

I added a Nova S2 satellite card and have installed SageTV (for WHS) on my WHS. I used the WHS consol to install software, and downloaded latest hardware XP drivers from Hauppauge.

I then installed SageTV client on my Vista 64 PC. The channel search completed sucessflly, and includes BBC HD, though not ITV HD.

The channels work fine except for BBC HD which produces a play back error code 0x80040217.

The H.264 video decoder filter does not list any known video decoders even though I had Power DVD ultra Ver 9 intalled at the time I installed STV client. Since installng STV client have added powercinema ver5, but still do not see any known H.264 decoders. When I list all decoders I cannot find any that solve the problem, and none include H.264 in their title.

Am I looking in the right place to solve this problem? Why is the PowerDVD decoder not listed? Any help would be appreaciated. I do not know how to manually add a decoder, but I am a quick learner. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-22-2009, 01:41 PM
windynook windynook is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wirral
Posts: 7
After searching the Forum I have tried ffdshow, and cyberlink H.264 codec, packs after installing them on my STV client. Both provide good picture quality on BBC HD, but I am experiencing the same sound break problem reported by other users.

Would installing the codecs on the WHS, on which I run my STV server, help?

Has anyone found a solution to this sound problem?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-23-2009, 04:45 AM
brewston brewston is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Surrey
Posts: 719
You are about at the point I got to, before I gave up and bought an HD200 !

codecs definitely need to be installed on the client, not server. I think I used CoreAVC to get BBC HD displayed...
__________________
Tecra M5, 2 x HD200, 2 x HD300
2 x PCTV 290e
Win 7, Sage 7.1.9, Phoenix 2 STV
Stephane's XMLTV Importer, Digiguide,
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-28-2009, 07:18 AM
windynook windynook is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wirral
Posts: 7
Talking BBC HD Sound Problem Solved

I tracked down the cause of the BBC HD sound problem on my setup.

I am using Trial versions of the latest STV WHS and STV client editions. My hardware is an AMD based mother board with ATI 3200 graphics on the board. I have had BBC HD working in both XP pro, Vista 32 and Vista 64. I am using the Nova S2 card

My sound problem was caused by FFDShow codec. Not selecting the FFDShow codec in STV, or even uninstalling the software makes no difference to the problem once the software has been installed. IF you have it on your computer, and are have the sound problem, then you may want to try rolling back to an Image made before FFDShow installation or try creating a clean build. Rolling back to an earlier Image worked for me.

I am using the H.264 codec which I purchased from cyberlink. I supports hardware accelleration and the pictures and spound are really good.

I have not yet tried ITV HD so I do not know if the H.264 codec will work on this channel.

I hope people find this helpful. SageTV were not very impressed when I informed technical support.

I am now turning my attention the the EPG. I am using tvtv but many channels are missing.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-28-2009, 12:39 PM
Lucas Lucas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 1,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by windynook View Post
I have not yet tried ITV HD so I do not know if the H.264 codec will work on this channel.
Should be OK with the latest native recording patch.
__________________
Windows 10 64bit - Server: C2D, 6Gb RAM, 1xSamsung 840 Pro 128Gb, Seagate Archive HD 8TB - 2 x WD Green 1TB HDs for Recordings, PVR-USB2,Cinergy 2400i DVB-T, 2xTT DVB-S2 tuners, FireDTV S2
3 x HD300s
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-31-2009, 04:31 AM
keefb keefb is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: LONDON UK
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by brewston View Post
You are about at the point I got to, before I gave up and bought an HD200 !

codecs definitely need to be installed on the client, not server. I think I used CoreAVC to get BBC HD displayed...
Brewston, you sound like just the person I need to contact. I have an HD200 on order, & I have a dual Nova DVD-T card in my WHS running the sageTV server. I am looking to put a Nova-S2 HD DVB-S2 in the server to get Freesat & ITV/BBC HD channels. Have you cracked this yet with the HD200?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-31-2009, 10:30 AM
brewston brewston is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Surrey
Posts: 719
Quote:
Originally Posted by keefb View Post
Brewston, you sound like just the person I need to contact. I have an HD200 on order, & I have a dual Nova DVD-T card in my WHS running the sageTV server. I am looking to put a Nova-S2 HD DVB-S2 in the server to get Freesat & ITV/BBC HD channels. Have you cracked this yet with the HD200?
Yes, I have it all working. Has been for a while... Its all server side config though, nothing to do with the HD200 (apart from not having to mess around with codecs etc ) as a quick & rough guide using Digiguide & Stephane's importer:

install Digiguide and setup all the channels (freeview & freesat)
install your tuner cards and drivers, check they can be seen in Sage - run a scan on both
install stephane's importer and the DG2XML bits. Create 2 lineups, freeview & freesat
go into Sage and match the lineups to the tuners. Unlike most people, I don't edit down the .frq file after the first scan, I just disable all channels and enable the ones I have EPG data for.
__________________
Tecra M5, 2 x HD200, 2 x HD300
2 x PCTV 290e
Win 7, Sage 7.1.9, Phoenix 2 STV
Stephane's XMLTV Importer, Digiguide,
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-02-2010, 04:30 AM
keefb keefb is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: LONDON UK
Posts: 71
Brewston,

Man thanks for this. Glad to hear that it all works as expected. I assumed that the setup was all on the server. Do you get the Freesat radio channels? I know SageTV doesn't yet do DVB-T radio. I hope it's in V7.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-02-2010, 12:54 PM
brewston brewston is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Surrey
Posts: 719
No radio channels. Sage won't do audio without video I believe...
__________________
Tecra M5, 2 x HD200, 2 x HD300
2 x PCTV 290e
Win 7, Sage 7.1.9, Phoenix 2 STV
Stephane's XMLTV Importer, Digiguide,
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Channel five on freesat paulie SageTV United Kingdom 7 11-29-2008 05:04 AM
Problem viewing BBC HD on Sage Mac client MCE-Refugee SageTV Mac Edition 1 09-14-2008 11:00 AM
Best S2 Card for FreeSat bartley9 SageTV United Kingdom 7 08-28-2008 07:45 AM
BBC News instead of BBC Three taylormadearmy SageTV United Kingdom 6 05-27-2008 10:09 AM
BBC Freesat to launch in 2008 nielm SageTV United Kingdom 4 04-29-2007 03:47 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.