SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-24-2008, 10:04 AM
getstarted getstarted is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 53
Channel changing problem through Sage, please help

Here is my setup:

Dish 311 receiver
Sage 6.4
USB-UIRT
Harmony 880 Receiver
Visiontek HD 650 TV tuner card


connected receiver to Visiontek via S-Video cable. When I try to change the channel (either through TV Guide or direct input), it is going to channel 84(HSN). No matter what number I input.

When I key in, lets say 799. Sage thinks that channel doesn't exist.. but when i do up and down.. sage puts that number in sage window, but still go to 84 channel.. Please help.

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-24-2008, 01:32 PM
dadof4 dadof4 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ontario, NY
Posts: 149
The method you are using to switch channels (USB-UIRT) is not working. Sage thinks the channel has changed but it is remaining the same on your receiver. Sounds like an issue with the USB-UIRT. Can you see the lights flashing on the USB-UIRT blaster?
__________________
2.3 GHz AMD Phenom 9600 Quad Core, 2GB DDR2 RAM, Asus M4N78 Pro MB, XP Pro, PVR150, PVR1600, HDHR, HDPVR x 2, USB-UIRT, 160GB OS HD, 500GB SATA Recording HD, 500GB USB Media HD, HD100 x 2, HD200 x 2

Last edited by dadof4; 11-24-2008 at 01:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-24-2008, 04:20 PM
getstarted getstarted is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 53
Yes, it is flashing..

And USB-UIRT is working for all other commands. How does usbuirt communicates to the receiver? Do I have keep USB-UIRT close to the receiver?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-24-2008, 05:07 PM
dadof4 dadof4 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ontario, NY
Posts: 149
The USB-UIRT acts just like your handheld remote. I don't have Dish but use the USB-UIRT with my Time Warner cable box. The output from the USB-UIRT is placed so it is directed towards the IR sensor on my cable box. I actually have two cable boxes so I added external blasters (LED's) to the USB-UIRT and taped them to the IR sensors on the boxes. If you only have one Dish receiver external blasters are not necessary. Just make sure the light from the USB-UIRT is pointed to the sensor on your Dish receiver.
__________________
2.3 GHz AMD Phenom 9600 Quad Core, 2GB DDR2 RAM, Asus M4N78 Pro MB, XP Pro, PVR150, PVR1600, HDHR, HDPVR x 2, USB-UIRT, 160GB OS HD, 500GB SATA Recording HD, 500GB USB Media HD, HD100 x 2, HD200 x 2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-24-2008, 05:44 PM
getstarted getstarted is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by dadof4 View Post
The USB-UIRT acts just like your handheld remote. I don't have Dish but use the USB-UIRT with my Time Warner cable box. The output from the USB-UIRT is placed so it is directed towards the IR sensor on my cable box. I actually have two cable boxes so I added external blasters (LED's) to the USB-UIRT and taped them to the IR sensors on the boxes. If you only have one Dish receiver external blasters are not necessary. Just make sure the light from the USB-UIRT is pointed to the sensor on your Dish receiver.
So i put the light towards to the receiver, does it also need to pointing towards the remote to accept the commands??

When I change the channels, it is changing on the Sage. But it is not changing on the sub. Always showing channel 84.

Also some are suggesting to change the .ir file. What need to be changed? What is repeat 4 or something?? Thanks,

Last edited by getstarted; 11-24-2008 at 05:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-24-2008, 09:24 PM
dadof4 dadof4 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ontario, NY
Posts: 149
You set up the USB-UIRT in Sage setup for the Video source. It is there you can teach the USB-UIRT your remote's commands.
__________________
2.3 GHz AMD Phenom 9600 Quad Core, 2GB DDR2 RAM, Asus M4N78 Pro MB, XP Pro, PVR150, PVR1600, HDHR, HDPVR x 2, USB-UIRT, 160GB OS HD, 500GB SATA Recording HD, 500GB USB Media HD, HD100 x 2, HD200 x 2

Last edited by dadof4; 11-24-2008 at 11:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Channel Changing Problem zazz SageTV Software 1 08-09-2008 08:25 PM
sage freezes when changing channel for scheduled recording JUC SageTV Software 3 11-30-2007 07:38 AM
Sage Channel Setup Problem mike1961 SageTV Beta Test Software 2 12-14-2006 04:10 PM
"Failed setting infrared transmitter port" Hauppague 45 btn MCE Rollup nekogaijin Hardware Support 7 10-26-2006 10:54 PM
StephaneM's XMLTV importer Question gerberdude SageTV EPG Service 11 07-31-2006 06:50 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.