SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-31-2005, 08:46 PM
mightyt's Avatar
mightyt mightyt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: CA.
Posts: 1,293
Unhappy Upcoming Recordings Bug?

I am noticing that on both my Sage 2.0.20 client w/nielm STV (which points to a 2.0.20 server) and my Sage 2.2.8 server with Cayars STV (a new build) that the Upcoming Recordings at the bottom of the screen are both inconsistent. To be clearer, they should both show all of my “manual” and “favorite” shows scheduled to record over the next 2 weeks within the EPG. Well, both systems only show “some” and not others scheduled to record.

Example ...

I have Commander in Chief, One Tree Hill and Smallville all set as favorites on both systems.

Commander in Chief is on Tuesday 11/1. One Tree Hill is on Wednesday 11/2 and Smallville on Thursday 11/3.

On the client system the Upcoming Recordings shows Commander in Chief, but not One Tree Hill and Smallville.

On the server system the Upcoming Recordings shows One Tree Hill, but not Commandr in Chief and Smallville.

Any ideas??

Thanks, T.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-31-2005, 11:00 PM
mightyt's Avatar
mightyt mightyt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: CA.
Posts: 1,293
I think I just figured this out myself ...

On the 2.2.8 system I found a setting in the ...

Detailed Setup > Server > Scheduling - Look Ahead Days

It was set to 3 ... I set it to 14 and restarted Sage and WA-LA! Upcoming Recordings now shows my scheduled recordings out 14 days!!

As for the 2.0.20 client w/Nielm's STV, well more of my scheduled shows have shown up as the night went on. Apparently it is set to 7 days but I can't find anywhere in the Detailed Setup where this can be changed? Probably a setting in the properties file ... Doesn't really matter anyway since I am moving to 2.2.8.

Thanks, T.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-01-2005, 06:05 PM
src666 src666 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 459
Be aware that increasing the lookahead days can seriously impact your performance and (I think) stability. It's been discussed elsewhere, so you might want to do a search on lookahead.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-01-2005, 09:23 PM
mightyt's Avatar
mightyt mightyt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: CA.
Posts: 1,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by src666
Be aware that increasing the lookahead days can seriously impact your performance and (I think) stability. It's been discussed elsewhere, so you might want to do a search on lookahead.
Hmmm ... Really ... !!

Is there a preferred maximum? It was set at 3 by default ... I set it to 14 to line up with the EPG ... Do you know is 7 would be OK?

Thanks ... I will try and search for it ... T.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-01-2005, 09:38 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,620
Among other posts about it is this one. Some people had been reporting problems if the lookahead was set for extra days; for some people, it works fine.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-01-2005, 09:48 PM
mightyt's Avatar
mightyt mightyt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: CA.
Posts: 1,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4
Among other posts about it is this one. Some people had been reporting problems if the lookahead was set for extra days; for some people, it works fine.

- Andy

Thanks Andy ...

Any idea of what the symptoms are? I have my 2.2.8 test box running overnight now and just checked it out and it appeared to be still running OK. I haven't actually watched anything from it other than test plays, but it has not locked up or anything. Wondering what I should be looking for??

T.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-01-2005, 10:01 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyt
Any idea of what the symptoms are?
You may have to do some searching for that, or wait for someone who had the problem -- I seem to recall something about the schedule creation never completing or some such thing & maybe other problems. If it works for you: fine. But, since EPG data changes, a 14 day schedule isn't really needed.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-01-2005, 10:07 PM
src666 src666 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 459
I know that when I had it set to 14 days, performance (menus, guide, searches, etc.) really took a dive. I have 5 tuners and 2 channel lineups, and the overhead of continually looking for upcoming recordings, conflicts and alternate timeslots really slowed things down. Once I dropped back to 3 days, things started working well again.

It really depends on your configuration (lineup, tuners, hardware, etc.), just as a reference I'm running Sage Server on an Athlon64 2800 with 1 GB of RAM. Even when nothing was recording, performance was impacted pretty seriously.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-01-2005, 10:28 PM
mightyt's Avatar
mightyt mightyt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: CA.
Posts: 1,293
Interesting ....

That's good info ... Right now I am testing the box with my WinTV USB2 PVR. My 3 other internal PVR-250's are still sitting in my old box in "production"! ... I only have a single cable hookup.

So, by what you are saying I may not see an impact until I make the final move and bring the other tuners over.

Since I am in test mode I will leave it at 14 just to see if anything happens. When I go live I will cut it back, unless something goes haywire.

My menus seem to be OK and I am able to search pretty rapidly ...

So ... so far, so good ... I'll let you know ...

Oh ... BTW ... This box is a 3GHz P4 with 1gb RAM ...

Thanks, T.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-02-2005, 12:11 AM
ke6guj ke6guj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,355
What'll start happening is that Sage will take longer to compile a recording schedule on startup and when it needs to update its schedule during normal operation. If you are unlucky, it won't be able to compile the schedule in a "resonable" time and then get stuck in a 99% loop. Sage would still work, but either you won't get a schedule at all, or else, the schedule'll stop updating. My system would do that sometimes at startup, and sometimes after a week of uptime. Sage would still work, but in a sluggish way since the CPU was chugging along at 99%

Question, if you are beta'ing a new server, why not mess around with V3?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-02-2005, 12:14 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by ke6guj
Question, if you are beta'ing a new server, why not mess around with V3?
Uh, yeah... you really are going to want to upgrade your SageTV installation.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-02-2005, 01:01 AM
mightyt's Avatar
mightyt mightyt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: CA.
Posts: 1,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4
Uh, yeah... you really are going to want to upgrade your SageTV installation.

- Andy

Actually I did intend on doing just that ... I mentioned this in another post somewhere ...

I started getting all of my new server components back in January. Today I am running v.2.0.20 on my old server. After everyone was talking up CES and I heard about v.3 I decided to hold my build for it. Well ... Winter turned in to Spring and everyone was anxiously waiting on the bata arrival of v.3. I hung in there hearing beta would release by summer. Finally summer came and the beta did eventually release. Sage would not provide a target date on official release and the beta went through the end of summer with no end insight. I also figured when it was released there still might be some lagging bugs and didn't know if developers would quickly release all of the mods I was interested in. I finally decided that all the money I spent on hardware was being wasted as my components became more and more outdated. So, I gave up and pulled all the hardware together and installed the already mature v.2.2.8. Of course right after I did that, v.3 went into RC ... But again ... who knows when it will finally go live. So, I am sure I am going through this upgrade to what will become an "n-1" release the minute I am done customizing it just the way I want it!!

Of course ... When I finally power up the new server in my entertainment center I will hate it because you all will be talking about stuff in 3.0 that I want .... Arrrggghhh ... I I only new when to expect the release I could have synchronized my hardware purchase around it ...

Oh well ... what can you do? ... T.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-02-2005, 03:15 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,620
No. You misunderstood.


You

really

are

going

to

want

to

upgrade

your

SageTV

installation.




- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-02-2005, 05:44 AM
waynedunham waynedunham is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4
You may have to do some searching for that, or wait for someone who had the problem -- I seem to recall something about the schedule creation never completing or some such thing & maybe other problems. If it works for you: fine. But, since EPG data changes, a 14 day schedule isn't really needed.
Just as a data point on this, I've got analog cable (75 or so channels) 4 tuners , single lineup and I've got my lookahead set to 7 days with IR on. Startup takes a bit longer as it compiles the list of things to be recorded, but nothing huge.
The first time you go to the scheduled recordings and live guide after starting Sage it will give me a spinning Sage icon for maybe 2-3 seconds, but after that no problems.

I've got about 50 favorites set up, most set to only record new episodes.

Probably about 40-50 more that get found by IR that I've watched but haven't set up favorites for.

If you have more/larger lineups or more elaborate favorites with IR turned on you might have issues with sluggishness.

I've never tried setting the lookahead out to the max of the guide, 7 days is enough for me.

Oh yeah, this on a P4-2.8ghz with 1 gig of ram running 3.0.11 Beta. I now see that I've definitely got to update since it's officially out of BETA.
__________________
Wayne Dunham

Last edited by waynedunham; 11-02-2005 at 05:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-02-2005, 08:54 AM
mightyt's Avatar
mightyt mightyt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: CA.
Posts: 1,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4


Very

Funny



You're Probably Right !!

Naaa !! No Way I Wanna Start All Over Again !!

Well, OK ... Maybe !!!

And ... How Did I Know That I Would Hear That From You Andy??

T.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-02-2005, 09:06 AM
mightyt's Avatar
mightyt mightyt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: CA.
Posts: 1,293
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyt

Very

Funny



You're Probably Right !!

Naaa !! No Way I Wanna Start All Over Again !!

Well, OK ... Maybe !!!

And ... How Did I Know That I Would Hear That From You Andy??

T.


WAIT !!!!

ANDY ... You Dirty Dawg !!! You used me ....

I just saw the announcement from 6:05 am !!!! ARRRRGGGHHH !!!!

YOU ARE RIGHT ... NOW I WANT TO UPGRADE !!!!

I HATE YOU !!!! .... j/k You're the MAN !! ....


OK ... Now I'm feeling ill !! I think I need a sick day ... Maybe enough time to START all over with SAGE 4 !!!!


T.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-02-2005, 09:15 AM
mightyt's Avatar
mightyt mightyt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: CA.
Posts: 1,293
Oh ... MY ... GOD!

Did I just read ...

Version 4.0 also includes the long-awaited SageTV Studio Software Development Kit (SDK) ???????


This just keeps getting better !!!

That seals it ... Now I HAVE TO UPGRADE !!!!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-02-2005, 09:22 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyt
That seals it ... Now I HAVE TO UPGRADE !!!!
See? I _told_ you that you are going to want to upgrade.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.