SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2009, 03:54 AM
JohnLG JohnLG is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 16
SageMC and Comskip

I installed comskip monitor and it runs as a service. Things have been getting screwed up with replays going at double speed and skipping video and playing commercials.
What parameters should I use for comskip. The SageMC menu offers an option to disable/enable background commercial processing. Should I leave comskip as a service and use diable for this option, or should I cancel this service and leave it all to SageMC. I cannot find much docuemntation to assist me. Can someone help?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2009, 04:06 AM
dgeezer dgeezer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 293
My settings are (under SageMC menu - Comskip Options)
Background commercial processing Disabled
Commercial auto skip Enabled
Start Delay 0
Stop Delay 0
Broadcast Type 29.97 fps


Also edit comskip.ini in your comskip folder and be sure to enable creation of edl files.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-24-2009, 04:10 AM
dgeezer dgeezer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 293
If comskip is running correctly you will have several files created in your recordings directory. They will have the same name as the recorded show with the extensions .txt .log and .edl. Sage MC will use the .edl file to do it's skipping if it is present.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-24-2009, 05:42 AM
JohnLG JohnLG is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 16
Thanks for the replies. Does this mean that I keep comskip monitor as an automatic service and also enable backgound processing and enable commercial auto skip? What does background processing mean?

I have been getting the edl and log files so that has been working. But the payback seems out of sync. I deleted all the non--mpg files and started it all again today. Let's see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-24-2009, 05:45 AM
Djc208's Avatar
Djc208 Djc208 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SE Virginia
Posts: 674
As far as I know the functionality of SageMC to control comskip no longer works. It's kind of a left-over from earlier days so I'd leave it as disabled and let comskip monitor do it's thing.

As for the playback problems that should have nothing to do with comskip or comskip monitor. As stated above comskip monitor just runs comskip on new files and cleans up orphaned files on the drives. Comskip just generates the .edl file that SageMC uses to skip commercials.

So if commercials are not getting recognized properly then you can work with the comskip settings to try and get better accuracy, but not every recording will be perfect. If it's a playback issue then the problem is within Sage.

What exactly are the problems you're having? Does the timeline show the commercial (darker colored areas of the bar)? Can you use the right and left arrows and jump to the beginning/end of the commercial breaks? Is this on a PC or an extender?
__________________
Server: Core 2 Duo E4200 2 GB RAM, nVidia 6200LE, 480 GB in pool, 500GB WHS backup drive, 1x750 GB & 1x1TB Sage drives, Hauppage HVR-1600, HD PVR, Windows Home Server SP2
Media center: 46" Samsung DLP, HD-100 extender.
Gaming: Intel Core2 Duo E7300, 4GB RAM, ATI HD3870, Intel X-25M G2 80GB SSD, 200 & 120 GB HDD, 23" Dell LCD, Windows 7 Home Premium.
Laptop: HP dm3z, AMD (1.6 GHz) 4 GB RAM, 60 GB OCZ SSD, AMD HD3200 graphics, 13.3" widescreen LCD, Windows 7 x64/Sage placeshifter.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-25-2009, 06:09 AM
JohnLG JohnLG is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 16
Thanks for the reply.
I deleted all the old edl and txt and log files ans started again. This time the system seemed to work. I do get the black lines where comskip thinks there are commercials and sageMC jumps over them as it should. But comskip seems to miss a lot of commercials and I guess this means that I should fiddle with comskip parameters. It looks like comskip and sageMC are doing the right thing.
John
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-25-2009, 08:42 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
If you're trying to comskip .h.264 filkes from a HD-PVR you need to donate to comskip to get the donator's version that supports those file types.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-26-2009, 02:33 PM
JohnLG JohnLG is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 16
Gerry, Thanks for that advice. I am not yet up to H264 but when I do I will remember this.
Comskip seems to find the start of all commercials well enough but seems to switch back to the recording before all commercials are finished.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
comskip and SageMC TallMomof2 SageMC Custom Interface 4 01-12-2009 07:27 PM
comskip/comskip monitor - firewall?/SageMc spvoyek SageMC Custom Interface 2 12-17-2008 01:35 PM
SageMC and ComSkip traker1001 SageMC Custom Interface 2 03-18-2007 08:38 PM
SageMC Comskip jayrbrown77 SageMC Custom Interface 2 10-08-2006 09:58 PM
Need help with Comskip and SageMC Jynxed SageMC Custom Interface 2 09-29-2006 10:22 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.