SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-05-2022, 09:00 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,158
AirVideoHD app in Apple app store - anyone using?

I’ve been using this app for a long time with SageTV.
It’s flawless - never seems to choke, and is nearly bulletproof on Apple devices.

As well, it’s maybe the ONLY app for Sage users on iOS?

Anyway, I don’t believe there’s been an update in a long time…and now I hear Apple is going to start removing apps from the app store if they haven’t been updated recently. ‘Recently’ hasn’t been defined, but I’m assuming this app would qualify.

Anyone know anything about the developers, because the internal link for support goes to a ‘502 Bad Gateway’

I’d hate to lose this app from the app store….
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-05-2022, 09:56 AM
t4runnr t4runnr is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 85
I've actually been using Jellyfin for my iOS devices. So my Sage server and Jellyfin server are on the same machine accessing the same files. Sage for the house and Jellyfin when travelling (using the iphones or ipads).

Works really well. So well that should I ever stop using Sage, I think Jellyfin will be my go to.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-05-2022, 11:15 AM
TGsell TGsell is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Glen Head
Posts: 108
I use AirVideo religously and it's got a lot of great features. I certainly hope they dont remove it. Does Jellyfin allow downloading?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-05-2022, 01:41 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,410
I continue to use AirVideoHD as well as it has been the best way to play back the video files. I am worried about this as well.

There are other things that can be used in various ways, like Plex, but they are not always as flexible as AirVideoHD and may not work on active recordings.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-06-2022, 07:24 AM
t4runnr t4runnr is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by TGsell View Post
I use AirVideo religously and it's got a lot of great features. I certainly hope they dont remove it. Does Jellyfin allow downloading?
I've never used downloading but Jellyfin allows downloading. I believe its user based so you can give certain users access and others not. I used to use AirVideo but Jellyfin pretty much took that over.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-06-2022, 07:09 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by t4runnr View Post
I've never used downloading but Jellyfin allows downloading. I believe its user based so you can give certain users access and others not. I used to use AirVideo but Jellyfin pretty much took that over.
what platform do you use Jellyfin on, Windows, etc. Any installation advice for a rookie?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-09-2022, 09:02 AM
t4runnr t4runnr is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
what platform do you use Jellyfin on, Windows, etc. Any installation advice for a rookie?
The server itself is installed on the same pc as my sage server. Both pull from the same folders that all my mkv's are on. Don't worry about the properties files. Jellyfin will ignore those. Keep in mind, that I do not use sage for any live tv or recordings. I usually just import tv shows into sage and jellyfin. Therefore, I don't know how jellyfin works with actual sage recordings.

The clients are all iphones/ipads. I do have a spare firestick that I take with me when travelling. That way I can watch my stuff at a hotel rather than what the hotel offers.

Last edited by t4runnr; 05-09-2022 at 09:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-09-2022, 10:30 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by t4runnr View Post
The server itself is installed on the same pc as my sage server. Both pull from the same folders that all my mkv's are on. Don't worry about the properties files. Jellyfin will ignore those. Keep in mind, that I do not use sage for any live tv or recordings. I usually just import tv shows into sage and jellyfin. Therefore, I don't know how jellyfin works with actual sage recordings.

The clients are all iphones/ipads. I do have a spare firestick that I take with me when travelling. That way I can watch my stuff at a hotel rather than what the hotel offers.
Must be something wrong I'm doing with ports/passwords - so far I can't make a connection

UPDATE: password trouble. now it's working on my LOCAL network.
However, any idea where the setup is done to use a DNS server remotely as the login address? That's easy with AirVideoHD
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson

Last edited by tvmaster2; 05-09-2022 at 10:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-09-2022, 01:16 PM
t4runnr t4runnr is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 85
Sorry. I don't know that part (DNS servers)

I just use the IP that comcast has for my home plus the port that Jellyfin uses (8096).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-09-2022, 04:58 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by t4runnr View Post
Sorry. I don't know that part (DNS servers)

I just use the IP that comcast has for my home plus the port that Jellyfin uses (8096).
Thanks, figured it out - forgot I had to enter the ports in my router. Up and running, kinda.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-11-2022, 09:56 AM
t4runnr t4runnr is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Thanks, figured it out - forgot I had to enter the ports in my router. Up and running, kinda.
Glad you got it worked out, kinda.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-12-2022, 01:59 PM
TGsell TGsell is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Glen Head
Posts: 108
Tried Jellyfin on my Sage server running W10/64bit and it looks like a viable alternative to AirVideo once you get used to some of the quirks. One thing I found is that the IOS Jellfin app is good but I could not get the download button on the menu - however using Chrome on an iPhone worked perfectly once you get the download location worked out and use VLC or another to playback. The downloading functionality is critical for family when they travel so they are not depending on airline internet etc... thanks directing us to Jellyfin!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-16-2022, 07:25 AM
t4runnr t4runnr is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by TGsell View Post
Tried Jellyfin on my Sage server running W10/64bit and it looks like a viable alternative to AirVideo once you get used to some of the quirks. One thing I found is that the IOS Jellfin app is good but I could not get the download button on the menu - however using Chrome on an iPhone worked perfectly once you get the download location worked out and use VLC or another to playback. The downloading functionality is critical for family when they travel so they are not depending on airline internet etc... thanks directing us to Jellyfin!
I googled the Jellyfin app for IOS and downloading and it appears to not be an option because of limitations on how/what what used to write the app.

In your case for flights, I just asked my family what movies they want for the flights. Then I used handbrake to make a IOS friendly mp4 file and then sync to their phones using itunes on my pc. extra steps but not terrible. the conversion also allows me to downsize the file of the movie from mkv to mp4 and allow the phones to hold more movies.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-16-2022, 10:20 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by t4runnr View Post
I googled the Jellyfin app for IOS and downloading and it appears to not be an option because of limitations on how/what what used to write the app.

In your case for flights, I just asked my family what movies they want for the flights. Then I used handbrake to make a IOS friendly mp4 file and then sync to their phones using itunes on my pc. extra steps but not terrible. the conversion also allows me to downsize the file of the movie from mkv to mp4 and allow the phones to hold more movies.
Good tip. Handbrake takes a while though. What preset are you using for these airline-friendly files?

Also, is ANYONE using JellyFin through a DNS server - which I would think is the safe way to do it when travelling? I've got mine working fine, but was wondering about the ports they use, and if anyone's figured out how to select custum ports for privacy sake.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-16-2022, 10:39 AM
metapath's Avatar
metapath metapath is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingston, WA nw of Seattle
Posts: 108
Here's another thank you for the pointer to Jellyfin! Great app. Even the Recording function works well. Alas, no comm skip so Sage is still my main media program.

Yes, Jellyfin plays back SageTV recordings with no problem, just point Jellyfin to the Sage recordings directory.

TVMaster2: The port used by Jellyfin can be changed by going to Dashboard / Advanced / Networking. It's the first option.

At the risk of hijacking this thread, can I ask if there's a way to get Jellyfin to play DVD rips? Right now, I have to use MakeMKV (want to avoid lossy transcoding with Handbrake), and I have far too many movies to want to do this for everything.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-16-2022, 02:00 PM
t4runnr t4runnr is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Good tip. Handbrake takes a while though. What preset are you using for these airline-friendly files?

Also, is ANYONE using JellyFin through a DNS server - which I would think is the safe way to do it when travelling? I've got mine working fine, but was wondering about the ports they use, and if anyone's figured out how to select custum ports for privacy sake.
Handbrake can take a while. So I counter that with movie lists from everyone 1-2 weeks in advance and run a batch conversion. But that was before I upgraded my main PC. It now has a 5950x cpu so converting a 14gb mkv to a 2+gb mp4 only takes roughly 15 minutes.

I just use the default handbrake preset for devices>apple 720p. If the mkv has multiple audio channels, I drop all but the one I'll listen with. That saves file size as well. I don't do anything more than 720p since my old eyes can't tell the difference between 720 and 1080 or higher on a 6.1 inch phone screen.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-16-2022, 03:28 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by metapath View Post
Here's another thank you for the pointer to Jellyfin! Great app. Even the Recording function works well. Alas, no comm skip so Sage is still my main media program.

Yes, Jellyfin plays back SageTV recordings with no problem, just point Jellyfin to the Sage recordings directory.

TVMaster2: The port used by Jellyfin can be changed by going to Dashboard / Advanced / Networking. It's the first option.

At the risk of hijacking this thread, can I ask if there's a way to get Jellyfin to play DVD rips? Right now, I have to use MakeMKV (want to avoid lossy transcoding with Handbrake), and I have far too many movies to want to do this for everything.
Thanks, I'll let you know how the ports work out

I added my DVD Rips folder - some files played without a hitch. Some did not. I believe DRM is the problem: did the rip strip it, or leave it. Just went to Dashboard, Add Library, Content Type: Movies. Name it whatever you want.

UPDATE on Ports: tried changing the http port, but could not get a connection to happen. Any idea where else there may be a line of code that has to be changed? Updated my router, logged out, logged in, but no connection. Changed back to 8096, and everything connected fine.

UPDATE to the update: got a different port working. No idea how or why. Classic.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson

Last edited by tvmaster2; 05-16-2022 at 08:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-16-2022, 06:47 PM
TGsell TGsell is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Glen Head
Posts: 108
Tried Jellyfin and its by far the best alternative to AirVidHD I know of thanks to this thread. One thing: since downloading to an IOS device is key for me (wife, kids, travel)..I found that the Jellyfin IOS app didnt show the download button... however accessing via Chrome on the same device worked. You just need to know where chrome is storing the download obviously and make sure you have a program like VLC to playback the file. thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-16-2022, 08:49 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by t4runnr View Post
Handbrake can take a while. So I counter that with movie lists from everyone 1-2 weeks in advance and run a batch conversion. But that was before I upgraded my main PC. It now has a 5950x cpu so converting a 14gb mkv to a 2+gb mp4 only takes roughly 15 minutes.

I just use the default handbrake preset for devices>apple 720p. If the mkv has multiple audio channels, I drop all but the one I'll listen with. That saves file size as well. I don't do anything more than 720p since my old eyes can't tell the difference between 720 and 1080 or higher on a 6.1 inch phone screen.
cool. thanks.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-16-2022, 08:53 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by t4runnr View Post
The server itself is installed on the same pc as my sage server. Both pull from the same folders that all my mkv's are on. Don't worry about the properties files. Jellyfin will ignore those. Keep in mind, that I do not use sage for any live tv or recordings. I usually just import tv shows into sage and jellyfin. Therefore, I don't know how jellyfin works with actual sage recordings.

The clients are all iphones/ipads. I do have a spare firestick that I take with me when travelling. That way I can watch my stuff at a hotel rather than what the hotel offers.
Have you found a way to watch live video from a Sage tuner (Hauppauge) which isnít on JellyFinís approved tuner list? Havenít found a way yetÖ
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the prefered way to store blu's? AJ Bertelson SageTV Software 28 04-16-2011 01:20 PM
Virtual Store? srothwell SageTV Software 3 11-17-2009 03:42 PM
No MVP's at Sage Store ? davefred99 SageTV Media Extender 2 07-19-2008 06:45 AM
how to specify where to store shows mpegripper SageTV Software 2 01-25-2005 11:55 PM
New PVR-250 from Sage store, help? silkshadow SageTV Software 4 11-27-2004 12:29 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.