SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 11-30-2004, 11:04 AM
zinkpig zinkpig is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 51
the issue that we we were having was with video freezes in plextor recordings . ITs on the recording itself not just a issue with playback. The video locks up and once it does the same frame is "stuck" till the end of the recording. The audio is properly encoded. In two instances there was intermittent video audio failure( abt 1-5 min segments) and pixellation.. There was also one instance of audio video asynchrony.
hm..how are you able to play a plextor recordings on the 350 tv out?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-30-2004, 11:12 AM
sudipto sudipto is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 239
George,

I do not have the 350 in my system and I have seen this problem (right now I have the Plextor and two 250's in this system). The easiest way for me to reproduce this problem has been to try doing timeshift when another recording is going on. So the comment by korben_dallas about taxing the system does make sense.

Try this --
- Start a recording on the Plextor
- Start another recording on a second tuner in the system
- Let the Plextor record for a while (5-10 minutes) and then start watching the show on Plextor (while both are still recording)
- Do frequent fast forwards while you are watching the show that is being recorded by Plextor
- Sooner or later you should be able to reproduce this problem.

I am using the quality setting "DVD Standard Play" with the Plextor but others have used different profiles and have been able to reproduce this as well.

Good luck and let us know if you need any more info !
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-30-2004, 11:20 AM
sudipto sudipto is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 239
BTW, could one of the moderators (Opus4 ?) please change the title of this thread to something more appropriate to the current discussion. Something like ...

Recording problem with Plextor PX-TV402U. Video frame gets stuck

or something similar.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-30-2004, 11:31 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,620
Sure, I can change that.

Oh, and zinkpig: the Plextor can also record in mpeg2 format, so I figure that is what was being played on the 350.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-30-2004, 12:06 PM
zinkpig zinkpig is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 51
oops forgot abt that
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-30-2004, 03:26 PM
omslaw omslaw is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 79
What about your systems? What Service Packs? What version of DirectX?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-30-2004, 03:58 PM
sudipto sudipto is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 239
My system --

Athlon XP 2600
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
2 x 512MB Crucial PC2100 in dual channel
ATI Radeon 9600 non-pro -- driver catalyst 4.11
On-board nForce SoundStorm audio
2 x Hauppauge PVR 250 (one OEM, one Retail) -- driver version 1.18.021.22254
1 x Plextor PX-TV402U -- driver that came on the CD
Windows XP Pro w/ SP1
SageTV 2.1 (server enabled) using original .stv at the moment
DirectX 9.0c
HDD1: 250GB Maxtor -- primary master
HDD2: 200GB WDC -- primary slave
OD1: Pioneer DVR-A04 -- secondery master
OD2: -none-
Promise TX100 IDE RAID card
HDD3: 200GB WDC -- pri master on Promise TX100
HDD4: 200GB Seagate -- sec master on Promise TX100
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-30-2004, 04:44 PM
zinkpig zinkpig is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 51
Athlon XP 2000
ASUS A7N266-VM
512 MB 2100
Maxtor 250 gb IDE 1 master (10gb os partition/ 240 gb video partition 64k blocks) atleat 20gb freespaceon video partition
pioneer dvr 06 IDE 2 master
matrox g450 dual head AGP
NEC 2 port usb2 pci card
Windows xp pro /sp2
directx 9c
Java with all updates
1x hauppauge PVR usb2 (connected to usb2 card )
1x plextor convertx tv402u (connected to usb2 card )
sage tv 2.1 w/ server enabled and mpeg4 time shift disabled
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-30-2004, 05:08 PM
korben_dallas's Avatar
korben_dallas korben_dallas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,250
Intel 875PBZ w/ 3.2GHz P4 HT
4 x 256MB PC3200 Corsair in Dual Channel
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB
Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro
2 x 80GB SATA in Raid 1 (mirrored) for OS
1 x 120GB ATA for Sage only

Clean install of XP Pro SP2, java from sun.com/java, and Sage 2.1 in service mode.

The Plextor is the only capture device on my system, connected to analog cable (Comcast).

Last edited by korben_dallas; 11-30-2004 at 05:12 PM. Reason: edit
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 12-02-2004, 01:51 AM
zinkpig zinkpig is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 51
seems like its happening more frequently now..another 3-4 hrs of recordings corrupted. George, I still cant seem to find any pattern. It happened today when only 1 show was being recorded and once when 2 shows were being recorded. the only pattern i seemed to observe is that all the faulty ones happened in a row.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 12-02-2004, 09:59 PM
korben_dallas's Avatar
korben_dallas korben_dallas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,250
What is your Sage default quality setting, and if you individualized them, the quality settings of your favorites?
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 12-02-2004, 10:13 PM
zinkpig zinkpig is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by korben_dallas
What is your Sage default quality setting, and if you individualized them, the quality settings of your favorites?
default = great (mpeg2)
hauppauge pvt usb2 = dvd standard play
plrxtor convertx = Dix certifiled home theatere high quality

no defaults for programs. every thing that gets recorded with the plextor is divx quality.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 12-02-2004, 10:23 PM
dvd_maniac's Avatar
dvd_maniac dvd_maniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 1,899
I am noticing serious issues recording with the Plextor as well. Before all I noticed is that the video stops and audio continues then the video starts up again or freezes until the end. Now I am getting serious ghosting and digital distortions in my recordings, like watching satellite TV in a blizzard. I have a 4 tuner setup and the only problems I have are from the Plextor unit, other 3 Hauppauges work fine. I record very little in Divx, so I have not noticed any problems there. I record mostly in DVD standard quality and that is where I am noticing it.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 12-02-2004, 10:41 PM
zinkpig zinkpig is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 51
sounds like what i have too..does yours record anything well at all ?
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 12-03-2004, 12:02 AM
dvd_maniac's Avatar
dvd_maniac dvd_maniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 1,899
Yes, most of the time it is fine. Just sometimes. I wonder if it is Sage or Plextor?
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 12-03-2004, 10:52 PM
CarlG's Avatar
CarlG CarlG is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 79
I kinda have the same problem, I run Px-M402U through svideo...except with me the ConvertX will just freeze on a frame...then the file is corrupt. I thought at first that it was because I was watching what I was recording, then I watched a whole movie and recorded it and it was fine. The only thing i could think of after that was that maybe the unit was struggling with high motion with panning and zooming because I record alot of football with it. Just last sunday I figured I could record the football game while sage was in sleep mode because that's what's been working for me and this last one garfed and the file was toast So I tried watching a football game while recording after that and it worked fine go figgure.

Someone mentioned about very stuttery recordings....I got that when I was trying to record onto one IDE drive, with my os being on a Sata Drive(WD Raptor). I'm really not sure if IDE drives are fast enough to take on tha Plextor because I just have a Raptor combined with 2X250 Gig Maxtors in raid 0.

Also you guys, I am VERY picky about how windows gets installed. Don't install it any old way. This guide is for Intel Chipsets, but there is a theme there that can and should be applied to any motherboard. If you're interested go here http://www.abxzone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=34558
My plextor is working pretty good, just it'll get me when i least expect it, and I think my install is as good as it gets. Sorry for such a long post and pretending I know what I'm talking about....hopefully this gets resolved because not knowing whether my game is being recorded or not kills me if i can't watch it
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 12-04-2004, 03:41 AM
zinkpig zinkpig is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 51
IDE band width is well over what is required by the plextor. Ide is @ atleast 66 MBPS (megabytes per second). Even if the plextor used the maximum bandwidth possible with a usb2 device (480 MbPS - mega bits pet second) its nowhere near the maximum possible by an ide device.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 02-07-2005, 02:52 PM
follower follower is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 96
Plextor Failure

I have just hooked up a Plextor and am seeing the same problem reported. I have a 250 and now a Plextor and have the default quality set for DivX High Quality Theater. I have had both the Audio Out of Sync problem and the stuck video (with the audio still working) problem as well. Once the problem with the stuck video occured two other shows had the same stuck video. Does anyone have an new information on this issue. The last update is a month ago Is there a work around. I have the 2.1 GA and are not installing the betas. Thanks in advance for any updates.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 02-07-2005, 03:11 PM
korben_dallas's Avatar
korben_dallas korben_dallas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,250
I haven't seen this problem in quite a while. Make sure you install the updated drivers from Plextor http://www.plextor.com/english/suppo...downloads.html. Also, I've been on the beta's for about 3 weeks now, so that may also have something to do with not seeing the problem lately.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 02-07-2005, 03:23 PM
sudipto sudipto is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by korben_dallas
I haven't seen this problem in quite a while. Make sure you install the updated drivers from Plextor http://www.plextor.com/english/suppo...downloads.html. Also, I've been on the beta's for about 3 weeks now, so that may also have something to do with not seeing the problem lately.
Same here. I too have not seen this problem in a long time, and I too am using the latest betas as they are coming out.

I haven't even installed the latest Plextor drivers (plan to do that soo though) and yet the problem seems fixed ... so I must thank Frey for this !
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.