SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2005, 03:46 PM
kregory's Avatar
kregory kregory is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Progress bar advances by 2-4 seconds at a time

I have enjoyed Sage trouble free for 3 months now however. I installed a new Mobo and processor last weekend. I also reformatted at reinstalled everything. Ever since then sage has been acting up. The green progress bar on the bottom of the screen adavces by 2-4 seconds at a time. Play back is smooth for about 20 minutes when all of a sudden it jumps ahead 30 minutes almost as if it is trying to catch up with the progress bar. I am currently using v2.1 I tries v2.26 and tried using the malore .stv I have reinstalled sage 3 times trying to determine a cause. I have also deleted the properties file... nothing seems to affect it. I should mention that my recording from before the move still play fine it is only the ones that have been recorded since.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2005, 10:12 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,620
Since you've changed hardware & your old recordings play fine, I would look at making sure the tuners are working properly, since it sounds like the recordings are not getting created correctly. You can try playing a new recording in some other app to see if they play OK in differnt program. And, try making recordings using the software that came with your encoder(s) to see how they turn out. Once you know those recordings are being created correctly, you can return to looking into what SageTV is doing.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-20-2005, 10:21 AM
kregory's Avatar
kregory kregory is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 15
I have been unable to get the Haupauge tv software to work on either of my systems since I bought the card. I have found that all the trouble recordings are split into several files where as the recordings that don't have trouble playing are single files. Any thoughts?
__________________
My Sys:
P4 3.0ghz Prescott w/ HyperThreading
1.5gb Ocz Ram
Asus p4s800
(2)PVR-150mce
19" Viewsonc
27" Sdef Magnavox Flat Screen
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-20-2005, 10:45 AM
kregory's Avatar
kregory kregory is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Also if I play the individual split files in WMP10 they play fine aside from being split.
__________________
My Sys:
P4 3.0ghz Prescott w/ HyperThreading
1.5gb Ocz Ram
Asus p4s800
(2)PVR-150mce
19" Viewsonc
27" Sdef Magnavox Flat Screen
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-22-2005, 05:18 PM
kregory's Avatar
kregory kregory is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 15
I was able to get WinTv working and it records fine. However sage continues to have recording problems. I recorded a show last night and it advances by 27 seconds at a time. I have no idea what to try next.
__________________
My Sys:
P4 3.0ghz Prescott w/ HyperThreading
1.5gb Ocz Ram
Asus p4s800
(2)PVR-150mce
19" Viewsonc
27" Sdef Magnavox Flat Screen
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-24-2005, 05:29 PM
pjwerdna pjwerdna is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: UK, Slough
Posts: 397
This, or something similar has come up before here http://forums.freytechnologies.com/f...ead.php?t=7384

No definitive solution that I can see yet! I've not had a reoccurance yet after I managed to get it to go away.
__________________
SageTV Server : Akasa Inifiiti Case, Gigabyte GA-P35C-DS3 MB, 8600GT, Core2 Duo (E6850 3GHz), 4GB RAM, ~6TB Filestore , Nova-TD500, TBS 6280, SageTV 7.1.9
New Client 2 :MSI P67A-GD53, i5 2500K Quad core (3.3GHz), 12GB, Windows 10 Pro (and test SageTV 9 Install)
Sage Client 1 : HD300, Logitech Harmony One
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-24-2005, 05:50 PM
carlgar carlgar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 1,866
Kregory,

Did your previous board and CPU support Hyper-threading? Have you tried disabling the HT? I have a lot of problems with SageTV every time I try to use it with HT enabled.
__________________
Server : Intel Core i7 2.8 GHz Processor: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R Motherboard: 6 GB Memory : 1 120 GB Intel SSD :3 2 TB WD hard drives:1 Hauppauge PVR 2250: 3 HDHomeRuns:1 HD300 extender;1 HD200 extender;1 HD100 extender 2 MVP Media Extenders: Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium all updates applied, SageTV V7.1.7.254.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-25-2005, 04:28 AM
kregory's Avatar
kregory kregory is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Yes, I have tried disabling HyperThreading and the problem is unchanged. I have had several stability problems ever since I changed Mobos so I have ordered a new Asus P4s800 which is coming tomorrow. I will try the new board and see if that effects it. Is anyone out there successfully using hyperthreading and Sage?
__________________
My Sys:
P4 3.0ghz Prescott w/ HyperThreading
1.5gb Ocz Ram
Asus p4s800
(2)PVR-150mce
19" Viewsonc
27" Sdef Magnavox Flat Screen
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-25-2005, 04:36 AM
Wheemer's Avatar
Wheemer Wheemer is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Deer Lake, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,493
No problems here...

Last edited by Wheemer; 02-25-2005 at 04:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-25-2005, 09:52 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by kregory
Is anyone out there successfully using hyperthreading and Sage?
Yes -- I have had no problems with HT enabled on one PC and with dual processors on another. (I don't know what else to suggest, though.)

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-25-2005, 12:12 PM
kregory's Avatar
kregory kregory is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Thanks, it is most likely the motherboard I will post with results after I replace it.
__________________
My Sys:
P4 3.0ghz Prescott w/ HyperThreading
1.5gb Ocz Ram
Asus p4s800
(2)PVR-150mce
19" Viewsonc
27" Sdef Magnavox Flat Screen
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-26-2005, 08:23 AM
kregory's Avatar
kregory kregory is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Just an update... i replaced My POS ECSpt800ce mobo w/ an Asus P4s800 and everything is working flawlessly! I also added a second PVR150mce and this machine is amazing. Other than some very minor tinkering I am through with it. I would like to thank all of you who have helped me
__________________
My Sys:
P4 3.0ghz Prescott w/ HyperThreading
1.5gb Ocz Ram
Asus p4s800
(2)PVR-150mce
19" Viewsonc
27" Sdef Magnavox Flat Screen
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.