SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-22-2006, 12:52 PM
davefred99 davefred99 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 158
Deciding between amd dualcore or single core?

I have doing a little research on my next projects. I plan on upgrading my desktop pc and possibly installing sage client on it. I currntly am using a pretty old P3 1.2 sytem that has pretty much outlived its usefullness. I am also planning on building a dedicated Sage Client PC for my livingroom pc.
I am planning on using the MSI 6150 motherbaords for both because of the onboard 6150 graphics for now and the ability to upgrade later if need be.
I just cant decide with the prices of AMD 939 processors falling soon, which way to go. I dont normaly run much in the backround other than Sage TV. It seems to me that a faster single core processor would run HDTV better than a slower clocked dual core. The real benifits of a dualcore are for running multiple processes at once.
Can someone please enlighten me on the pros and cons, dual vs single core.
Thanks, Dave
__________________
Server:
SageTv 7.19, XPpro
AMD XP-M 2400 45w@2.2GHZ, 1Gig Ram NF7-S ver2
Seasonic S-12 380w, NEC 3520a Onboard SoundStorm S/PDIF out
WD-Caviar 120GB IDE (System) Seagate (3) Baracuda 250GB sata (Pooled)
GF-7600gs Forceware 93.71 Nvida-Decoder V.4.02.223HDHR-Prime 3-Digital Fios ,HDhomeRun-Qam/FIOS
Clients:GA-MA78GM-S2H -AMD 4800- Sage TV Client-FireFly Remote - Amd x2 Turino LAPTOP - HD-100 + MVP Client DVR Verizon Fios/ B]

Last edited by davefred99; 07-22-2006 at 01:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-22-2006, 04:57 PM
craigap craigap is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Monroe, WI
Posts: 348
All I have to say is that I wish I went dual core. The one time you want/need to run something in the background while you watch TV will probably lead you to the same effect. I have an AMD 3700+ and I get stuttering video when doing certain multitasking.(i.e. Ripping CD's).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-22-2006, 07:30 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,643
I doubt dual core would make much difference... esp. for CD I/O. I believe that Windows stops task scheduling and interrupts to a great extent during CD spin-ups.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-22-2006, 08:43 PM
dblaine2 dblaine2 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 307
I believe stevech is correct but read this thread if doing other things where dual core would greatly help.

http://forums.sage.tv/forums/showthread.php?t=19073
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.