SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2008, 08:23 PM
AJ Bertelson AJ Bertelson is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 532
AnyDVD rips not playing in sagetv

Picked up AnyDVD this weekend before they went to a subscription based payment system and I am unable to get my DVD rips through AnyDVD to work.

If I rip the DVD through DVDdecrypter it works with sagetv. I know it's probably something simple I am missing but I unchecked the option to remove the adverts and skip rite to the title screen.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-29-2008, 08:26 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
How are you making them? Copying the files? Using the built in "rip" function?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-29-2008, 09:16 PM
AJ Bertelson AJ Bertelson is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
How are you making them? Copying the files? Using the built in "rip" function?
Rip video to hard disk is how I am doing it.

The default options are selected.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-29-2008, 09:21 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Make sure it's not sticking the rip in a wierd subdirectory of where you told it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-29-2008, 09:32 PM
tedson tedson is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 88
It is working for me. I am using anydvd with dvd shrink 3.2 to make isos. Then I load the isos with virtual clone drive and copy the folders out of the iso file to a subdirectory on the server. None of the extenders HD100 or 200 have any problems playing the, but you have to make sure the main folder the rips are in is both shared and that the path to the folder is in the form //machine/dvdfolder instead of c:/dvdfolder or the extenders wont play the dvds.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-29-2008, 09:41 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
What's the purpose of the ISOs, that seems completely unnecessary, DVD shrink will rip directly to a folder....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-29-2008, 10:23 PM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
I use AnyDVD HD (paid version, not sure that matters) to rip all my Blu-rays. I then use TSMuxer GUI to convert only the movie and selected sound tracks to a .ts file (generally 30% to 50% smaller size than the movie folder). I do downmix DTS HD to DTS (and include the AC3 2 channel track for DTS Blu-ray rips) and DD True HD gets downmixed to DD 5.1. All the downmixing is for compatability with my SageTV Clients and HD 200.

I've only done about 30 rips so far, but all play without issue.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT

Last edited by HelenWeathers; 12-29-2008 at 10:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-29-2008, 11:02 PM
AJ Bertelson AJ Bertelson is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Make sure it's not sticking the rip in a wierd subdirectory of where you told it.
yeah no weird directories and I can now report that a dvd rip of dvddecrypter doesn't work.

Example,
Casino royale ripped with both dvd decrypter and anydvd doesn't play back in sagetv. I get a error in playback now(there was a problem accessing your file system), using sagetv codec.

Last edited by AJ Bertelson; 12-29-2008 at 11:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-29-2008, 11:19 PM
GTwannabe's Avatar
GTwannabe GTwannabe is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 434
AnyDVD ripper appends the disc title to whatever path you tell it to use. Assuming you can find them, they will play just fine in SageTV.
__________________
Intel NUC SageTV 7 server - HDHomeRun PRIME - 2TB iSCSI ReadyNAS storage
Intel i3 HTPC SageTV 7 Client - Win 7 x64 - Onkyo TX-674
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-30-2008, 07:34 AM
briands briands is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 1,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJ Bertelson View Post
yeah no weird directories and I can now report that a dvd rip of dvddecrypter doesn't work.
If I recall, the default Sage video decoder will not decode DVDs. You need to go to Setup/Detailed settings/ DVD and set the DVD decoder filter to something OTHER THAN SageTV MPEG decoder.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AJ Bertelson View Post
Example,
Casino royale ripped with both dvd decrypter and anydvd doesn't play back in sagetv. I get a error in playback now(there was a problem accessing your file system), using sagetv codec.
Or it might be how you have permission set up to your shared folder. Can you play other files from the same drive?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-30-2008, 09:48 AM
AJ Bertelson AJ Bertelson is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by briands View Post
If I recall, the default Sage video decoder will not decode DVDs. You need to go to Setup/Detailed settings/ DVD and set the DVD decoder filter to something OTHER THAN SageTV MPEG decoder.


Or it might be how you have permission set up to your shared folder. Can you play other files from the same drive?
Yes I have the microsoft mpeg decoder as DVD and the multimedia codec.

I did change something around though as I finally got my terrabyte and a half drive hooked up to my sagesver that runs xp home. The files were originally stored in mydocuments video folder on my workstation computer that ran XP pro with the mydocs directory was shared out and this setup worked.

After the drive got installed I transfered mydocs folder over to the sageserver and this was where I experienced my problems. All of the video files except the DVD rips work. Music and photo files also work.

edit-I just verified through changing the import directories that the exact same DVD rip will play from the XP pro workstation(through sage of course) but will not play through the sageserver drive that is running XPhome.

Last edited by AJ Bertelson; 12-30-2008 at 10:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-30-2008, 08:47 PM
Ryokurin's Avatar
Ryokurin Ryokurin is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 455
Send a message via ICQ to Ryokurin Send a message via AIM to Ryokurin Send a message via Yahoo to Ryokurin
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
What's the purpose of the ISOs, that seems completely unnecessary, DVD shrink will rip directly to a folder....
Its just basically to make it easier to archive. One file, so you can basically take a image program like virtual clone drive, set it to take isos and just double click to mount.

One big thing to note however, making a iso does not completely clean the disc, so while it may be playable, it can still potentially throw some programs like dvd shrink due to the partial protection still on the disc. Ripping to a folder cleans the disc completely.

One thing I would try is to see if any other program will play the ripped files. Try something like zoom player or media player classic (but toggle its built in codec to see if its a wrong directshow setting, or something else)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-30-2008, 09:19 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
I thought you said you were Disc->ISO->Virtual Drive->DVD Shrink->Folder, why not just Disc->DVD Shrink->Folder?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-31-2008, 08:16 AM
moamoa's Avatar
moamoa moamoa is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelenWeathers View Post
I use AnyDVD HD (paid version, not sure that matters) to rip all my Blu-rays. I then use TSMuxer GUI to convert only the movie and selected sound tracks to a .ts file (generally 30% to 50% smaller size than the movie folder). I do downmix DTS HD to DTS (and include the AC3 2 channel track for DTS Blu-ray rips) and DD True HD gets downmixed to DD 5.1. All the downmixing is for compatability with my SageTV Clients and HD 200.

I've only done about 30 rips so far, but all play without issue.
This is pretty much what I want to do. Is there a guide at all the shows the apps required and step in order to do this?

Cheers.
__________________
SageTV Server 7.0.23 - SageTV Client on 50" Plasma - HD100 Extender on 42" Plasma - HD300 on 92" Espon EH-TW3200 Projector 5.1 DB/DTS on all clients.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-31-2008, 09:42 AM
tedson tedson is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 88
Sorry you are right the ISOs aren't a must. I keep them in a separate backed up archive and use them to burn copies of the movies for the car dvd player. It gets so hot in there that I have had DVDs warp more than once. The folders go into the drive sage uses. I wish sage would play the ISOs directly, but such is life. Since I use both I keep both, but going to ISO before going to folders is not a "must" step.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-01-2009, 06:32 AM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJ Bertelson View Post
yeah no weird directories and I can now report that a dvd rip of dvddecrypter doesn't work.

Example,
Casino royale ripped with both dvd decrypter and anydvd doesn't play back in sagetv. I get a error in playback now(there was a problem accessing your file system), using sagetv codec.
Reassign ownership or permissions to that folder. It came from another machine and the current ID can't access the rips.

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-07-2009, 03:33 PM
Patilan Patilan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lake Forest, Illinois, USA
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedson View Post
I wish sage would play the ISOs directly, but such is life.
Regarding ISO files, I have two curious observations:

1. If you drag-drop your ISO file directly on top of SageTVPlayer.exe, it plays the movie without a problem.

2. If you add ".iso" to "seeker/video_library_import_filename_extensions=" in "Sage.properties", import the ISO in your video library, and click "View Video Detail", you'll see that Sage correctly recognizes what's inside that file. It would say for example:
Code:
1 hour 37 minutes

File: [C:\DVDs\John and Jane's Wedding.ISO]
Format: MPEG2-PS[MPEG2-Video 16:9 480i@29.97fps,
AC3/384Kbps@48kHz 5.1]

File Size: 3.04 GB
...all perfectly correct! But if I try playing it from there, SageTV aborts with "sage.PlaybackException: ERROR..."

The above two observations make me think that there must be a relatively easy way to make SageTV play ISO files.

Maybe some of the more knowlegeable guys here can come up with some ideas?

Patilan

Last edited by Patilan; 01-07-2009 at 03:36 PM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-07-2009, 03:38 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
SageTV (PC) can't play ISOs. Only folders. The Extenders can however play ISOs.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-07-2009, 04:45 PM
Patilan Patilan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lake Forest, Illinois, USA
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
SageTV (PC) can't play ISOs. Only folders. The Extenders can however play ISOs.
Stanger, I am aware of that. But my question was, if the UI can see correctly what's in the ISO, and if sagetvplayer can play the ISO, then what's the holdup?

I mean, so many players (many of them free) can play ISO's, why should SageTV not be able to play ISOs? I think that it would be a useful new feature for SageTV, with minimal programming effort on Sage's part.

Patilan

Last edited by Patilan; 01-07-2009 at 06:43 PM. Reason: typos grrr
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-07-2009, 04:58 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patilan View Post
Stanger, I am aware of that. But ny question was, if the UI can see correctly what's in the ISO, and if sagetvplayer can play the ISO, then what's the holdup?
There's no Dshow splitter for an ISO.

Quote:
I mean, so many players (many of them free) can play ISO's, why should SageTV not be able to play ISOs?
Almost nothing can play ISOs. Only VLC and XBMC (and only on the xbox?), not TheaterTek, not Zoomplayer, PowerDVD, WinDVD, VMC, etc. Everything else that "supports" them, mounts them to a virtual drive or requires mounting them to a virtual drive.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Playing a recorded show locks up PC rswoods SageTV Software 3 12-16-2008 09:36 AM
Playing back Bluray, how do you do it. m1abrams General Discussion 3 11-17-2008 12:32 PM
Blu Ray playing blues... Big Jeff General Discussion 6 10-31-2008 06:15 PM
Playing live TV through the HD Extender brboot SageTV Media Extender 1 10-14-2008 11:27 AM
HD-100 hangs playing DVDs rips rdefino SageTV Beta Test Software 2 06-03-2008 09:21 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.