SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-02-2022, 10:46 AM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 427
Best way to remove old tuner entries

I run a couple of network tuners, plus I've used a couple of VM's in the past and OpenDCT in a separate docker, so I have A LOT of dead/old tuner entries that show up when I try to add a new tuner.

What is the best/easiest way to remove them? I think in the past I've deleted the mmc/encoders section for each old one, which is a pain to search through all of them while preserving the active ones. I also see a section called RDP/encoder_name_Hauppauge with some dead ones, do these need to be deleted too?

Or is there an easier way or just delete one line maybe and the rest go away? Any tips appreciated.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-02-2022, 12:02 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,454
I agree, I have a bunch of old, dead DCT "tuners" that show up on the system. I need to know this as well!
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-2022, 01:05 PM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 427
I just realized I left off the ? at the end of the title. Sorry to those of you thinking I had a great way to do it, but hopefully someone else will come up with one.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-02-2022, 01:19 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,923
That is the easy way to delete them from the sage.properties file.
__________________
Channels DVR UBUNTU Server 2 Primes 3 Connects TVE SageTV Docker with input from Channels DVR XMLTV and M3U VIA Opendct.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-02-2022, 02:13 PM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
That is the easy way to delete them from the sage.properties file.
Easy? I just spent half an hour going through over 13000 lines parsing out the bad ones
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-02-2022, 02:33 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zogg View Post
Easy? I just spent half an hour going through over 13000 lines parsing out the bad ones
It is easier if you use notepad+
__________________
Channels DVR UBUNTU Server 2 Primes 3 Connects TVE SageTV Docker with input from Channels DVR XMLTV and M3U VIA Opendct.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-02-2022, 02:44 PM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
It is easier if you use notepad+
I actually did it that way and it wasn't too bad, just being dramatic. Unfortunately my 2 network encoders regurgitate everything so the list filled up again.

I wish you could tell your network encoder instance to only advertise it's native tuners, and not relist everything it sees. I don't need to see the same tuner being offered by 3 different systems, it really confuses and gums up the list.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-02-2022, 07:53 PM
jpwegas jpwegas is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 500
Just curious - after you remove the unwanted tuner entries, do you lose info about which tuner was used to record a show (when viewing show details)?

--John
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-03-2022, 12:38 PM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpwegas View Post
Just curious - after you remove the unwanted tuner entries, do you lose info about which tuner was used to record a show (when viewing show details)?

--John
Apparently not. I checked a recording recorded on a tuner that I knew was gone and it still showed that tuner's information.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-03-2022, 06:55 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,366
OK, so a couple of questions:
  • Why is it easier to use Notepad+ for this task as opposed to say, Notepad?
  • How does one determine which mmc/encoders entries to delete from the .properties file?
  • For each mmc/encoder that you want to remove, I'm assuming you delete all of the lines starting with mmc/encoders/0123456789/ (replacing 0123456789 with the specific encoder number that Sage has assigned). Are there any other lines in the .properties file that need to be modified?
Of course, this needs to be performed when the SageTV server is stopped, and after a backup of the .properties file has been made.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.11.5, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker (version 2.0.7)
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-04-2022, 05:05 AM
Malfunction Malfunction is online now
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Willoughby, Ohio
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
It is easier if you use notepad+
Notepad++?
__________________
ASRock B450M Pro4 AM4 MB, Ryzen 5 2600 3.4ghz, Crucial Ballistix Gaming 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4-3200, EVGA GT 1030SC, WD Black NVMe SSD 250GB, 1x WD120EFAX 12TB, 1x WD80EFAX 8TB, 1x WDBH2D0040HNC 4TB, USB-UIRT, Colossus 2, WinTV-DualHD USB, Windows 11 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-04-2022, 07:18 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,366
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithAbbott View Post
OK, so a couple of questions:
  • Why is it easier to use Notepad+ for this task as opposed to say, Notepad?
  • How does one determine which mmc/encoders entries to delete from the .properties file?
  • For each mmc/encoder that you want to remove, I'm assuming you delete all of the lines starting with mmc/encoders/0123456789/ (replacing 0123456789 with the specific encoder number that Sage has assigned). Are there any other lines in the .properties file that need to be modified?
Of course, this needs to be performed when the SageTV server is stopped, and after a backup of the .properties file has been made.
Answering my own questions:
  • Since I am using an Unraid docker, I used the editor within MobaXterm to modify the sage.properties file.
  • I ended up determining which encoders to remove by looking (in the .properties file) at the ip address for the encoder, along with the serial number of the HDHR device.
  • There are no additional lines in the .properties file that need to be modified.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.11.5, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker (version 2.0.7)
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two log entries in BMT Web UI? MacDaddy Batch Metadata Tools 1 12-18-2010 07:04 AM
Double Entries? ChaOConnor Sage My Movies 5 11-09-2010 07:08 AM
HD300 FAQ entries Opus4 SageTV Media Extender 5 09-13-2010 09:15 PM
entries in .frq file Sten3danny Hardware Support 0 07-29-2009 03:12 PM
No Data entries in EPG sfisher SageTV Software 4 03-03-2004 01:21 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.