SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-04-2010, 12:42 AM
andyvr4 andyvr4 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Salem, VA
Posts: 41
How does sagetv wake the system

Hi,

I was wondering how sagetv wakes the system from sleep. I'm sure it's using the RTC alarm, but does sage write directly to the RTC alarm or does it tell windows that it needs to wake up at a certain time and then let windows handle it?

In Windows media center I know it schedules a task to wake the system before a recording should start in the task scheduler which you could look at to confirm that it was setting the correct wake-up time, I was wondering if there was anywhere like that, that you could look at with sagetv to confirm when the system would next wake up!

I was also wondering if the system woke up to do EPG updates, or if the system is in stand-by when an EPG update is suppose to occur will the system just run the update the next time it boots up?

Thanks,
Andy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-04-2010, 09:11 PM
andyvr4 andyvr4 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Salem, VA
Posts: 41
Somebody's bound to know this!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2010, 01:09 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
I don't... it just works.. :-)
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2010, 01:45 PM
starfire starfire is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: England, UK
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyvr4 View Post
Hi,

I was wondering how sagetv wakes the system from sleep. I'm sure it's using the RTC alarm, but does sage write directly to the RTC alarm or does it tell windows that it needs to wake up at a certain time and then let windows handle it?
Not sure how Sage does it but there is a Windows API call to do this, SetWaitableTimer

I doubt Sage would hit the hardware RTC directly, if indeed it even could.
__________________
2 X HD300, 2 X HD100 & KVM unRAID Host with SageTV Docker using TBS 6285 Quad DVB-T2 & TBS 6984 Quad DVB-S2 Tuners
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-07-2010, 08:58 AM
andyvr4 andyvr4 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Salem, VA
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by starfire View Post
Not sure how Sage does it but there is a Windows API call to do this, SetWaitableTimer

I doubt Sage would hit the hardware RTC directly, if indeed it even could.
I didn't realize that was an option, that does make since that Sage would use it, but I would appreciate it if somebody could confirm. I just like knowing how it's working so if something doesn't work I know better where to go and fix it!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-07-2010, 04:14 PM
starfire starfire is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: England, UK
Posts: 505
The only people who know for sure are the Sage developers and I doubt they will tell
__________________
2 X HD300, 2 X HD100 & KVM unRAID Host with SageTV Docker using TBS 6285 Quad DVB-T2 & TBS 6984 Quad DVB-S2 Tuners
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black sceen on system wake up tsitalon1 The SageTV Community 2 09-28-2010 08:03 AM
Wake system from standby with MCE remote? GTwannabe Hardware Support 7 09-23-2006 09:42 AM
Sage UI only displays partial menu on wake up from system tray pschweig SageTV Beta Test Software 1 04-23-2006 04:59 PM
My system won't wake up (or at least the DVI video won't) gtd885a Hardware Support 9 11-18-2005 10:57 PM
Wake up system from suspend with StreamZap remote taltman Hardware Support 3 11-16-2004 09:44 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.