SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2013, 09:03 AM
dstanley's Avatar
dstanley dstanley is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: LaHave, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 291
Server Time Question

I have a small 'gripe' and I don't know if this has been addressed before or not.

I have Sage set to record a few minutes 'early' as a default. However, when I start my playback I almost always have to skip back to catch the start of the show.

Years ago this was a non-issue but now with networks programming the start of their shows almost to the starting second of the time-slot it is annoying.

I believe I am using the time server that my Cable TV provider is using but I am consistently having to skip back 10 seconds to see the start of my shows on playback.

Doing some Google searches I cannot seem to find something that would deliberately set my servers on-board clock to an NTP server minus 10 seconds - that would be ideal!

I was hoping that there may be an 'undisclosed' setting in the sage.properties that would let me achieve a playback at the -10 second point? Seems Sage knows where to start playback if I have a padding on a recording so I wonder how it 'knows' where the start point should be.

Like I say - I can always skip back - but if someone has an idea to defeat this I would be thrilled.

ps. finally redid my WHS V1 system to Windows 8 using storage spaces - i think it was time to retire that OS - only 'complaint' is there seems to be some 'lag' when starting playback and some 'spinning cursor' at points - I think it may be drive spin-up!?

Dwight
__________________
SERVER: Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz - UnRaid Server 6.8.0/DVB LibreELEC with Docker stuckless-sagetv-server-java9 MOTHERBOARD: ASRock-Z77 Extreme4 / 32GB RAM CACHE DRIVE: SSD 1TB ARRAY: 24TB/7 DRIVES PARITY: 8TB
EXTERNAL DEVICES: 4x HD-PVR's Firewire Channel Changing
TUNERS:NO LONGER RECORDING LIVETV
CLIENTS: 2xHD300 2xHD200 SONY ANDROIDTV MINI-CLIENT
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2013, 10:04 AM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,152
You could use the Web Server to adjust the start time back on your recordings by 10 seconds but it is not automated so you would have to do it for each recording that you want to change.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2013, 10:22 AM
dstanley's Avatar
dstanley dstanley is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: LaHave, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 291
Thanks ... I did not see that before. I will try it out with a recent recording. Still wish there was a 'universal' setting somewhere that would trigger playback 10 seconds earlier than what Sage thinks is the start.

Dwight
__________________
SERVER: Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz - UnRaid Server 6.8.0/DVB LibreELEC with Docker stuckless-sagetv-server-java9 MOTHERBOARD: ASRock-Z77 Extreme4 / 32GB RAM CACHE DRIVE: SSD 1TB ARRAY: 24TB/7 DRIVES PARITY: 8TB
EXTERNAL DEVICES: 4x HD-PVR's Firewire Channel Changing
TUNERS:NO LONGER RECORDING LIVETV
CLIENTS: 2xHD300 2xHD200 SONY ANDROIDTV MINI-CLIENT
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-30-2013, 11:09 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Any chance your clock just needs to be set correctly? This might even remove the need for the start padding. I realized just how critical the clock was over time as I ran into some issues where, perhaps not coincidentally, I kept missing the first 5-10 seconds of shows; very rarely was it more than that, so I saw no reason to record everything an extra minute earlier. I wound up creating a task in Windows on all my computers which sets the clock every 14 minutes. This has eliminated the issue I was having, so maybe it would work for you, too?
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-30-2013, 04:39 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,331
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstanley View Post
Doing some Google searches I cannot seem to find something that would deliberately set my servers on-board clock to an NTP server minus 10 seconds - that would be ideal!
You could make your own utility with AutoIt. Here's an example with most of the heavy lifting done already:

http://www.autoitscript.com/forum/to...pull-from-ntp/
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.10.3, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker (version 2.0.6)
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-30-2013, 04:48 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,846
You could use Atomic.Clock.Service.3.1. You can offset clock how you want it forward backwards etc.... but it is not free.

http://www.abstime.com/atomic-clock-sync/
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-30-2013, 06:26 PM
Denali Denali is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 168
This is what I use, simple & free. Add to Windows startup, set it and forget.
I use -10 with 5400 seconds update.
http://www.analogx.com/contents/down...s/Freeware.htm
__________________
HTPC: Gigabyte GA-Z170XP-SLI, I7-6700, 16GB, Windows 10 Pro x64, Hauppauge HVR-1600, WinTV-dualHD, Colossus 2, Samsung 850 EVO 120GB, Seagate 3TB, WD 3TB, 3TB, 5TB, Java v1.8.0_231, SageTVx64 v9.2.1.826, Samsung UN60EH6003F, Dish ViP222K, ViewHD 1x2 HDMI Splitter.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-30-2013, 07:03 PM
dstanley's Avatar
dstanley dstanley is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: LaHave, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 291
thanks for all the input ...

I have lots to check out now. I am sure that one of these will work for me.
Great stuff guys!

Dwight
__________________
SERVER: Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz - UnRaid Server 6.8.0/DVB LibreELEC with Docker stuckless-sagetv-server-java9 MOTHERBOARD: ASRock-Z77 Extreme4 / 32GB RAM CACHE DRIVE: SSD 1TB ARRAY: 24TB/7 DRIVES PARITY: 8TB
EXTERNAL DEVICES: 4x HD-PVR's Firewire Channel Changing
TUNERS:NO LONGER RECORDING LIVETV
CLIENTS: 2xHD300 2xHD200 SONY ANDROIDTV MINI-CLIENT
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Server died to day, time for a new one lovingHDTV Hardware Support 15 12-12-2009 01:33 PM
new server time garbageman Hardware Support 2 10-07-2009 11:34 AM
Another HD question, audio this time opy01 Hardware Support 2 09-25-2008 07:20 AM
Time to do some upgrades - a few question Mortanis Hardware Support 2 07-07-2008 11:20 AM
Sage Server Time bjterry62 SageTV Software 21 11-08-2007 11:16 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.