SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-16-2017, 07:38 PM
Deacon Crusher Deacon Crusher is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 504
ATSC 3.0 4K HEVC tuner (is there one?)

Thread ready and waiting for when a tuner exists. The standard is here and approved.

https://www.engadget.com/2017/11/16/...-broadcasting/
__________________
Server: PhenomII X4 810, 16GB, 4850, C: 256GB Samsung SSD, D: HGST 3TB, E: HGST 4TB, H: 3T Seagate, 1.5 TB on NAS via UNC, Win 10 x64,
Sage 9 Cable provider is Comcast, Schedules Direct
Tuners: 4 ATSC - 2 seperate HD Homeruns all via Channel Master CM2016 on roof, 6 cable via 2 hdhomerun primes (opendct), 1 HD-PVR (in tuner priority order)
Clients: Wired: HD300, HD200, HD200 running Squeeze Slave, Placeshifters, HD200 (via wireless N bridge)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-17-2017, 07:34 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,409
Any idea when any stations will actually start broadcasting in ATSC 3.0? It sounds like there will be a test in Phoenix, and apparently South Korea plans to broadcast the upcoming Winter Olympics in ATSC 3.0. Hopefully Silicon Dust will make an ATSC 3.0 version of the HDHR.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-2017, 04:41 PM
BobPhoenix BobPhoenix is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Any idea when any stations will actually start broadcasting in ATSC 3.0?
Well if it will require new broadcast equipment my local channels will be the last to get it so I'm sure it will be at least a couple of years in the future before I would need it.
__________________
"Keep your goals away from the trolls"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-18-2017, 01:56 AM
texneus texneus is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: DFW
Posts: 278
The standard might be here and approved but that doesn't mean it's going to be mainstream anytime soon. ATSC 1.0 took the better part of 10 years to transition from analog. The situation today really isn't much different. Stations will need to move to make space, just about all existing transmission infrastructure will need to be scrapped and replaced. New licenses need to be applied for and granted. You will need to replace your TV (or at least get a "converter box").

I remember distinctly ATSC broadcasts began in earnest in DFW around 2000. It was eight years after that (EIGHT YEARS) when the analog signals were shut off. Heck, we still have an analog station! KNAV 22 in Fort Worth.
__________________
Server: Xeon E3-1225, 32GB RAM, Open Media Vault 5, SageTV Docker
Tuners: HD Homerun Quatro (OTA)
Clients: NVidia SheildTV x3
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-18-2017, 11:21 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,409
I asked Silicon Dust if they are working on an ATSC 3.0 version of the HDHR. Here is their response:

Quote:
We are monitoring the situation with ATSC 3.0. The standard is not yet finalized, tuning components to receive it are extremely limited on the market, and other than a handful of test broadcasts on the air, there has been no indication that broadcasters will actually adopt it. The federal government is not providing stations with an extra channel the way they did during the analog to digital conversion, so any broadcaster who does make the switch will be losing all of their viewers unless they make arrangements with another station to keep their channel available via an ATSC broadcast.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-19-2017, 11:11 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I asked Silicon Dust if they are working on an ATSC 3.0 version of the HDHR. Here is their response:
As people buy newer 4k TV (2017) they all ready shipped with ATSC 3.0 support.
There are two key facts for 4k to work
1: ATSC 3.0 Tuner
2: HEVC/H265 Decoder
3: That means that mobile device can also be support just like in europe.

My guest that only the biggest city may get this first in next few years where demand will be highest like LA, New York and min other along with simultaneously transmit of ATSC 1.0.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-19-2017, 05:34 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,409
So are you saying that 2017 TVs ship with ATSC tuners? I thought that the spec was just being finalized now.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-19-2017, 06:36 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
So are you saying that 2017 TVs ship with ATSC tuners? I thought that the spec was just being finalized now.
Keep in mind there a diff in finalized tech daft spec vs FCC approve to broadcast base on those daft spec which was only in the test phase.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Better tuner (ATSC) than the HDHR v2? stanger89 Hardware Support 20 01-31-2012 09:53 AM
USB Sabrent ATSC Hybrid TV Tuner ladyharley Hardware Support 0 04-17-2011 09:55 AM
Why Is My ATSC Tuner All Of A Sudden DVB? Savage1701 Hardware Support 2 08-04-2009 11:39 AM
Best Card with OTA ATSC tuner? menace Hardware Support 8 12-13-2008 03:32 PM
phantom HDHR atsc tuner dnlmln SageTV Software 2 01-01-2008 01:23 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.