SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux > SageTV for unRAID/Docker

Notices

SageTV for unRAID/Docker Discussion related to SageTV for unRAID/Docker. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to SageTV for unRAID/Docker should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 06-07-2021, 12:26 PM
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 274
@stuckless my attempts to roll back have not worked. I can restore the files, and change the container to Java 8, but it looks like it keeps automatically downloading the newer files on top of what I restore and updating the version to 9.2.5. If I restore the 9.2.2 JAR file it works but some functionality like my HDHR doesn't work.

Is there a way to stop it from downloading the update and overwriting my older files? Or could you restore the previous Java 8 container?
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 06-07-2021, 12:54 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zogg View Post
@stuckless my attempts to roll back have not worked. I can restore the files, and change the container to Java 8, but it looks like it keeps automatically downloading the newer files on top of what I restore and updating the version to 9.2.5. If I restore the 9.2.2 JAR file it works but some functionality like my HDHR doesn't work.

Is there a way to stop it from downloading the update and overwriting my older files? Or could you restore the previous Java 8 container?
I cannot restore the previous java 8 container... this java 8 container replaces the previous one. You can switch to Java 7... or in this Java 8 one... shut it down, restore your files, and int he container configuration, instead of "latest" for the version, use some other version #, and see if that works.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 06-07-2021, 02:31 PM
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I cannot restore the previous java 8 container... this java 8 container replaces the previous one. You can switch to Java 7... or in this Java 8 one... shut it down, restore your files, and int he container configuration, instead of "latest" for the version, use some other version #, and see if that works.
I did as you suggested for Java 8 with partial success. SageAlerts works again, but now I can't record from my HDHR Connect Quatro which is OTA. My HDHR Primes that work with OpenDCT work fine. I had quit using the Quatro with OpenDCT a while back because of a different problem and switched to native HDHR control.

I think I will try Java 7 and see what happens.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 06-07-2021, 02:58 PM
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zogg View Post
I did as you suggested for Java 8 with partial success. SageAlerts works again, but now I can't record from my HDHR Connect Quatro which is OTA. My HDHR Primes that work with OpenDCT work fine. I had quit using the Quatro with OpenDCT a while back because of a different problem and switched to native HDHR control.

I think I will try Java 7 and see what happens.
Okay, with Java 7 everything seems to be working again.

Question, is it safe/okay to copy over the latest JAR file?

Thanks again @stuckless!
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 06-08-2021, 04:30 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zogg View Post
Okay, with Java 7 everything seems to be working again.

Question, is it safe/okay to copy over the latest JAR file?

Thanks again @stuckless!
I would not, since that was the issue with the Java 8 container. ie, the Java 8 container is perfectly OK, but it automatically downloads the latest sagetv which is compiled for java 9 and doesn't work under Java 8. ie, it's a sagetv build issue not a docker container issue.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 06-08-2021, 09:34 AM
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I would not, since that was the issue with the Java 8 container. ie, the Java 8 container is perfectly OK, but it automatically downloads the latest sagetv which is compiled for java 9 and doesn't work under Java 8. ie, it's a sagetv build issue not a docker container issue.
So before trying Java 7, I tried Java 8 and changed the version so it wouldn't download the update. It was running 9.2.2.268 and still didn't work correctly as I mentioned below, my HDHR Quatro using native tuning didn't work properly. So I'm not sure the Java 8 container is perfectly okay.

Regardless, I really appreciate your help and updates since you aren't a SageTV user anymore.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 06-08-2021, 09:39 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I just installed the telnet client... I interpreted the question "does it have telnet" to mean does it have a telnet client.
I asked for this to be included as it facilitates using telnet scripting to turn on or reboot SageTV extenders. I have most of my extenders "power on" when the docker restarts.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 06-09-2021, 09:20 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zogg View Post
My HDHR Primes that work with OpenDCT work fine. I had quit using the Quatro with OpenDCT a while back because of a different problem and switched to native HDHR control.
Can you post a link to the process to get OpenDCT running? Does it run in its own docker or in the SageTV docker?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 06-09-2021, 10:06 AM
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Can you post a link to the process to get OpenDCT running? Does it run in its own docker or in the SageTV docker?
I'm not aware of a guide, but you can find the docker for OpenDCT in Community Applications on your Unraid server. If you haven't already installed CA then you should, seriously.

I'm pretty sure I just installed the docker, started it, stopped it after a few minutes (to let it discover my HDHR's, then edited the properties (or config, whichever) file to match what I had running in Windows. It really wasn't hard.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 06-09-2021, 02:03 PM
egeller egeller is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Can you post a link to the process to get OpenDCT running? Does it run in its own docker or in the SageTV docker?
It runs in its own Docker container. The openDCT support link is found HERE in the Hardware Support Forum. There are 101 pages to wade through. Search will be your friend. I just checked my server and it says that the OpenDCT docker resides in the same repository, Stuckless', where the Sage Dockers reside. Setup involves running it in console mode for 30 seconds or so. It will do a scan. Then you can update the config, as needed and you should not have to touch it again.

Related to Java 16, I updated my server because it seemed to make sense at the time. Now I find that the Plex Sage Scanner no longer is working because the Sagex API GetMediaFileForName no longer exists / works (at least in my case). That's OK, because I use Plex more for imported files than Sage Recordings. I wonder what's going on.

Should we find a place to collect a list of impacts / things that break with Java 11 and 16? or is that here?
__________________
Server:UnRaid;2x Intel Xeon E5; SuperMicro moboard;Also:BM3000 w/ WMC; 2x Ceton ETH 6; OpenDCT
SageTV Extender:3x HD200 1x HD300
Sage TV: 9.2.1, Standard STVi, Comskip Playback, Web Interface, 24 Hour Clock, SRE, YouTube2015, Playon
All in lovely Drexel Hill, PA
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 06-10-2021, 11:07 AM
egeller egeller is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by egeller View Post

Related to Java 16, I updated my server because it seemed to make sense at the time. Now I find that the Plex Sage Scanner no longer is working because the Sagex API GetMediaFileForName no longer exists / works (at least in my case).
OK. I am getting smarter. GetMediaFileForName resides in a Javascript file in ../server/sagex/services/plex.js. It is like an add-on to the API, written for the Plex plugin.

For some reason, Java 16 is not accessing / running /including the Javascript code as it is supposed to. The resulting error is "java.lang.NullPointerException: Cannot invoke "javax.script.ScriptEngine.getBindings(int)" because "engine" is null". Since I do Python, and not Java, I need to learn more to figure out if I can fix it. If anyone has any thoughts, let me know.

Meanwhile, investigating.
__________________
Server:UnRaid;2x Intel Xeon E5; SuperMicro moboard;Also:BM3000 w/ WMC; 2x Ceton ETH 6; OpenDCT
SageTV Extender:3x HD200 1x HD300
Sage TV: 9.2.1, Standard STVi, Comskip Playback, Web Interface, 24 Hour Clock, SRE, YouTube2015, Playon
All in lovely Drexel Hill, PA
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 06-10-2021, 11:41 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by egeller View Post
It runs in its own Docker container. The openDCT support link is found HERE in the Hardware Support Forum. There are 101 pages to wade through. Search will be your friend. I just checked my server and it says that the OpenDCT docker resides in the same repository, Stuckless', where the Sage Dockers reside. Setup involves running it in console mode for 30 seconds or so. It will do a scan. Then you can update the config, as needed and you should not have to touch it again.
I installed the OpenDCT docker last night and it did install but I am not sure that it is working properly and it seems to stop after a while. When I look at the logs (see below) there are some errors but I don't know if these are only related to bintray no longer existing or if they are bigger issues. But I am not sure how you run it in console mode in a docker. Do you have to start an ssh session in the docker and run some commands?

Nothing is populated in the appdata folder other than creating folders called /appdata/opendct/etc, /appdata/opendct/log and /appdata/opendct/opt - but these folders are all completely empty.


Docker log:
Code:
Errors were encountered while processing:
opendct_-1_amd64.deb
ownership of '/opt/opendct' retained as sagetv:sagetv
ownership of '/etc/opendct' retained as 99:sagetv
ownership of '/var/log/opendct' retained as 99:sagetv
ownership of '/var/run' retained as root:sagetv
mkdir: cannot create directory '/var/run': File exists
mkdir: cannot create directory '/var/run/opendct': File exists
OpenDCT Install Complete :-)
/usr/bin/install-opendct.sh: line 41: /etc/opendct/conf/opendct.properties: No such file or directory
Launching OpenDCT
/usr/bin/install-opendct.sh: line 44: /opt/opendct/console-only: No such file or directory
% Total % Received % Xferd Average Speed Time Time Time Current
Dload Upload Total Spent Left Speed
Installing OpenDCT ...
--2021-06-10 13:29:12-- https://dl.bintray.com/opendct/Releases/releases//opendct_-1_amd64.deb
Resolving dl.bintray.com (dl.bintray.com)... 52.43.227.140, 52.42.38.157, 52.40.89.93, ...
Connecting to dl.bintray.com (dl.bintray.com)|52.43.227.140|:443... connected.
% Total % Received % Xferd Average Speed Time Time Time Current
Dload Upload Total Spent Left Speed
Installing OpenDCT ...
--2021-06-10 13:29:12-- https://dl.bintray.com/opendct/Releases/releases//opendct_-1_amd64.deb
Resolving dl.bintray.com (dl.bintray.com)... 52.43.227.140, 52.42.38.157, 52.40.89.93, ...
Connecting to dl.bintray.com (dl.bintray.com)|52.43.227.140|:443... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 403 Forbidden
2021-06-10 13:29:13 ERROR 403: Forbidden.

dpkg-deb: error: 'opendct_-1_amd64.deb' is not a debian format archive
dpkg: error processing archive opendct_-1_amd64.deb (--install):
subprocess dpkg-deb --control returned error exit status 2
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 06-10-2021, 12:23 PM
phantomii phantomii is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I installed the OpenDCT docker last night and it did install but I am not sure that it is working properly and it seems to stop after a while.
The original container points at bintray so it will not load properly or work. There is however a new docker container for OpenDCT forked off the original which I have installed (it looks to Github) and it appears to be working properly after about a day of testing. Work was done by Madz and the container is here to pull down and give this container a try:

https://github.com/00madz/opendct-docker

Once installed I had to make some edits to the opendct properties file to get Exoplayer to work on Android Clients but otherwise it seems to be working well.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 06-10-2021, 12:27 PM
egeller egeller is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Drexel Hill, PA
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Nothing is populated in the appdata folder other than creating folders called /appdata/opendct/etc, /appdata/opendct/log and /appdata/opendct/opt - but these folders are all completely empty.
Attached is the folder structure of opendct on my server. Many of the sub-folders have files in them. If yours are empty, then my guess it is the bintray thing that prevented the download of the code.

I would advise pinging @EnterNoEscape, author of opendct. You can do that in a private message or on the hardware subforum link in my earlier comment, above. I am not sure he does Unraid, but he would need to be involved if the container needs updating.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg screenshot.616.jpg (64.9 KB, 8 views)
__________________
Server:UnRaid;2x Intel Xeon E5; SuperMicro moboard;Also:BM3000 w/ WMC; 2x Ceton ETH 6; OpenDCT
SageTV Extender:3x HD200 1x HD300
Sage TV: 9.2.1, Standard STVi, Comskip Playback, Web Interface, 24 Hour Clock, SRE, YouTube2015, Playon
All in lovely Drexel Hill, PA

Last edited by egeller; 06-10-2021 at 12:29 PM. Reason: quote fix
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 06-10-2021, 12:38 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
But I am not sure how you run it in console mode in a docker. Do you have to start an ssh session in the docker and run some commands?
On the Unraid web gui, left clicking on the icon immediately to the left of the docker name should bring up a small menu. The second item in the menu should say "Console". Click on that, and a console window is displayed.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.9.2, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 06-10-2021, 12:58 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by phantomii View Post
The original container points at bintray so it will not load properly or work. There is however a new docker container for OpenDCT forked off the original which I have installed (it looks to Github) and it appears to be working properly after about a day of testing. Work was done by Madz and the container is here to pull down and give this container a try:

https://github.com/00madz/opendct-docker

Once installed I had to make some edits to the opendct properties file to get Exoplayer to work on Android Clients but otherwise it seems to be working well.
How do you install dockers manually? I always just click on install from the CA plugin. And are there any parameters that you have to set, like the folder paths?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 06-10-2021, 03:35 PM
phantomii phantomii is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
How do you install dockers manually? I always just click on install from the CA plugin. And are there any parameters that you have to set, like the folder paths?
If I recall (and I am no expert) I clicked on the original Template and changed the download location to "00madz/opendct" and named it opendct. If it is successful it should load and stay loaded without shutting down. You should also see files under the openDCT directories in appdata.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 06-10-2021, 04:42 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,109
Thanks - that got it up and running. Now I do see additional folders and the opendct.properties file is populated with info, including from my HDHR tuners.

I was able to start an ssh into the docker with "docker exec -it opendct /bin/bash" from an ssh session on the unRAID server.

But when I go to run the console it is already running. Do you need to run the console manually in unRAID?

Once I get that sorted out I can start to do the config.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 06-10-2021, 04:52 PM
phantomii phantomii is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Thanks - that got it up and running. Now I do see additional folders and the opendct.properties file is populated with info, including from my HDHR tuners.

I was able to start an ssh into the docker with "docker exec -it opendct /bin/bash" from an ssh session on the unRAID server.

But when I go to run the console it is already running. Do you need to run the console manually in unRAID?

Once I get that sorted out I can start to do the config.
I did not run the console at all. I think it runs at startup but I did not manually run it.

The edits I did were around these settings and in your opendct.properties file, make sure for each tuner you have this set:

sagetv.device.-XXXXXXXXX.consumer=opendct.consumer.FFmpegTransSageTVConsumerImpl

It seemed t default to this:
sagetv.device.-746196406.consumer=opendct.consumer.DynamicConsumerImpl

And with the default settings ExoPlayer did not work on my android devices using my HDHR Primes for Live TV and recordings pulled from the new OpenDCT Docker......
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 06-10-2021, 04:56 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,109
Thanks. I am just playing around with OpenDCT right now as I am not 100% sure that I need it. I am not really using the AndroidTV client right now as I have lots of extenders and I find that they work more reliably. But OpenDCT has the advantage of dealing with tuner contention.

Once I have OpenDCT running on my unRAID, I am assuming that I can also use these OpenDCT tuners on multiple SageTV servers? I have a backup server running Windows with SageTV as well so I will want to set up my OpenDCT tuners on there.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking to install SageTV again (Docker, HDHR, SageTV Miniplayer) dinki SageTV Software 1 08-10-2020 06:43 AM
Docker Configuration via Synology Docker GUI Carlton Bale SageTV for unRAID/Docker 15 06-02-2020 12:00 PM
Docker Containers updated to 1.0.4 stuckless SageTV for unRAID/Docker 24 03-27-2018 09:57 PM
Docker Containers updated to 1.0.3 stuckless SageTV for unRAID/Docker 10 03-20-2018 12:56 PM
Updated Docker Container stuckless SageTV for unRAID/Docker 42 10-31-2016 05:22 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.