SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2010, 09:23 PM
pat_smith1969 pat_smith1969 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 305
blurry action from HDPVR

When I record HD shows using my HDPVR the video looks GREAT, except where there is movement on the screen. For instance during the news the desk and background will look awesome but when the news person moves his/her head it will get all pixelated.

Any ideas what I can do?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2010, 05:49 PM
pat_smith1969 pat_smith1969 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 305
so no one has ever heard of this problem before?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-14-2010, 06:40 PM
fidget's Avatar
fidget fidget is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Posts: 1,184
What quality/bit rate are using? Have you tried recording at a higher quality?
__________________
Server: i5-2405S (4 core @ 2.5 GHz), 8GB RAM, NORCO RPC-4220 4U case
Tuners: 2 SiliconDust HDHomeRun , 2 Hauppauge HD-PVR Connected to 1 Pace700X and 1 TiVo Series 4
DVD Storage: 24 TB
TV Storage: 11 TB (4x1.5TB for recording, 5TB for archive)
Clients: 3
SageTV Extenders:5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-14-2010, 09:16 PM
hockeyfan hockeyfan is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 70
I've seen that on our LCD TV in the living room. On our DLP projector I do not have this problem (HD200 on both displays). So I'd start looking at the display.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-15-2010, 09:09 AM
pat_smith1969 pat_smith1969 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 305
I am using "high Quality" as a recording level. This particular source (HD-PVR) works fine most of the time, sometimes though it will do this. I wonder if it is not the provider, FIOS, sending a crappy signal, or the Set Top BOx that is a little messed up.

The next time this happens I will save off the recording and look at the raw recording on a PC. THis will tell me if it is a rendering issue, TV issue. I will also pay attention if the recording is in 720p or 1080i... perhaps the reason it is so random is because my system is doing something weird with one of these two resolutions.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-15-2010, 04:20 PM
fidget's Avatar
fidget fidget is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Posts: 1,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by pat_smith1969 View Post
I am using "high Quality" as a recording level.
The HD-PVR does not have a setting of "High Quality." I have mine set to "Best" (5.9 GB/hr) as the others didn't look quite right. I think it was the additional compression of the h.264 on top of the compression that Dish (or your cable provider) applied. I think the default is "Great" at 3.8 GB/hr. With "Best", my files are slightly smaller than an OTA broadcast recorded with my HD HomeRun.
__________________
Server: i5-2405S (4 core @ 2.5 GHz), 8GB RAM, NORCO RPC-4220 4U case
Tuners: 2 SiliconDust HDHomeRun , 2 Hauppauge HD-PVR Connected to 1 Pace700X and 1 TiVo Series 4
DVD Storage: 24 TB
TV Storage: 11 TB (4x1.5TB for recording, 5TB for archive)
Clients: 3
SageTV Extenders:5
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-15-2010, 06:27 PM
Spectrum Spectrum is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 720
You might want to create a custom recording bitrate to take advantage of the 13.5 Mbps that the HDPVR is capable of. See Andy's posts in this thread for details. The other thing you might be running into is a deinterlacing problem. On my system I can see the interlacing on my HDPVR recordings unless I use the Arcsoft h.264 decoder. An easy test for both would be to record a clip with the TME software bundled with the HDPVR and play it back in TME and in Sage to see if there is a difference.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-16-2010, 11:10 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,318
What is your playback method? Extender or computer?

My gut feeling is that it is the decoder being used. But if you are watching the output via a HD-100 or HD-200 extender, then that blows my theory out the window.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-05-2016, 01:00 PM
mangriotis mangriotis is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 345
I know this is 5 years old... but this problem seems to be getting worse lately.

Recordings from HDPVR that have a lot of motion (i.e. sports, typically) look like garbage, pixelated and blurry during the motion.

A power cycle of the HDPVR seems to correct this for a time, but it seems to be happening more often over the past 6 months or so.

I am using a HD300 for playback.

Anyone have any experiences with this at all??

Anyone still using HDPVR's?
__________________
m2
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-05-2016, 01:29 PM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by mangriotis View Post
I know this is 5 years old... but this problem seems to be getting worse lately.

Recordings from HDPVR that have a lot of motion (i.e. sports, typically) look like garbage, pixelated and blurry during the motion.

A power cycle of the HDPVR seems to correct this for a time, but it seems to be happening more often over the past 6 months or so.

I am using a HD300 for playback.

Anyone have any experiences with this at all??

Anyone still using HDPVR's?
It could be a failing hard drive. Check its health with HD Sentinel. The HDPVR's power supply might also be failing.
__________________
Server: XP, SuperMicro X9SAE-V, i7 3770T, Thermalright Archon SB-E, 32GB Corsair DDR3, 2 x IBM M1015, Corsair HX1000W PSU, CoolerMaster CM Storm Stryker case
Storage: 2 x Addonics 5-in-3 3.5" bays, 1 x Addonics 4-in-1 2.5" bay, 24TB
Client: Windows 7 64-bit, Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H, Core2Duo E6600, Zalman CNPS7500, 2GB Corsair, 320GB, HIS ATI 4650, Antec Fusion
Tuners: 2 x HD-PVR (HTTP tuning), 2 x HDHR, USB-UIRT
Software: SageTV 7
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-05-2016, 01:32 PM
mangriotis mangriotis is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 345
Don't think it's hard drive, I also have HDHR tuners and imported video files that are all fine... in addition, even while it's recording, if I power cycle the HDPVR, the recording goes back to normal.

I can try a new power supply to see if anything changes... haven't tried that yet.
__________________
m2
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-05-2016, 05:32 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,460
If it's a progressive decrease in HD-PVR performance, then that definitely sounds like what I've experienced with a slowly fading power supply.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Picture Quality / Blurry Text Jynxed Hardware Support 3 03-27-2008 05:03 PM
Picture is blurry and Dim dblazer General Discussion 7 09-01-2004 11:20 AM
Channels appear blurry bhoule SageTV Software 9 06-06-2004 10:19 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.