SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-06-2004, 02:40 PM
zwombat zwombat is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1
SageTV hangs on start if SageTV Service is Enabled/Running

If I set the SageTV Service
(windows service) to start automatically, then when I launch SageTV, it
hangs at the point that says "Initializing Sage TV Service" and becomes
non-responsive.

If I switch the SageTV Service to disabled (not automatic startup), then
SageTV launches with no problem and works.

This appears to be a bug of some sort since it is clearly tied to whether
the service is enabled or disabled.

Here's the details of what happens:

First I ran the SageTVServiceControl.exe program and clicked on Enable for the service and then clicked on Start. I waited until the status updated to reflect that the service had started.

Then I launched SageTV itself.

SageTV stopped at the message "SageTV Service is initializing".

I started SageTV at around 6:26AM my time and it was still stuck there when I came back at 7:02AM so then I end tasked it since it wasn't working. So that's over a half hour I waited.

If I then disable and stop the SageTV Service I can then launch SageTV without problem.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2004, 02:56 AM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
Do you have a software firewall running? if so it may be blocking the network connection used for the 2 processes to communicate -- reconfigure your firewall to allow the 'sagetvservice.exe' to run as a server...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-07-2004, 06:00 PM
edgley's Avatar
edgley edgley is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Surbiton, England
Posts: 401
This is my new problem too.

All is fine when not run as a service, but hangs when it is.

I dont have any firewalls or SP2 so I know that it is not that
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-07-2004, 07:40 PM
DFA DFA is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 638
I had to configure the service to enable "Allow service to interact with desktop". Stanger89, et. al. have said that should not be necessary and have not had to do so themselves. I intend to investigate further with my system. But at the moment, works for me as a quick fix.

DFA
__________________
Wrong information is worse than no information

Last edited by DFA; 11-07-2004 at 07:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-07-2004, 07:58 PM
edgley's Avatar
edgley edgley is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Surbiton, England
Posts: 401
Didnt work for me
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-07-2004, 08:13 PM
gotuitdan gotuitdan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 105
This is *exactly* the problem I have with the service. I really wish I could figure out why.

If anyone figures it out, please post...

thanks a lot!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-08-2004, 12:13 PM
edgley's Avatar
edgley edgley is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Surbiton, England
Posts: 401
I hope so too, as I had to spend two whole evenings to get 2.1 working, and the only reason was to have the service!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-08-2004, 01:24 PM
DFA DFA is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 638
Without Sage running or in sleep mode, have you tried to directly start and stop the service from the OS Services dialog box? What does it do when you try to control the Sage service directly from the Sevices menu dialog? Does the Event log show anything about a failure to start and why?

DFA
__________________
Wrong information is worse than no information

Last edited by DFA; 11-08-2004 at 01:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-08-2004, 02:13 PM
gotuitdan gotuitdan is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 105
At least in my case, the service *is* running despite SageTV.exe freezing on the "Initializing Service" text.

I don't ever have trouble starting/stopping the service from the Admin control panel or from SageTVServiceControl. I just can't start SageTV.exe
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-08-2004, 02:48 PM
DFA DFA is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 638
Got it. Mine pauses for some seconds at "Initializing Service" but unlike your issue, moves on. Sorry, nothing to contribute.

DFA
__________________
Wrong information is worse than no information
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-08-2004, 02:57 PM
mostlyfodder mostlyfodder is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 170
i had the same problem. i've not sorted it out yet and was initially wondering if it had to do with a recent custom .STV module i'd imported. in the end, i think it was not related to that custom STV file as things are working well for me now. here's how:

i was able to get sage to start by turning off the service and rebooting. it then booted correctly into sage, but sage had reverted to the previous (unmodified) .STV file. so, i re-imported the customized STV and rebooted (with the service both disabled and not started) and that solved my problem.

i've not yet tried to turn on the service. so am not sure what caused the trouble but now i don't think it was the stv module.

-fodder

ps- my sage wasn't locking on the splash screen; it would get to the non-maximized sagetv window but the window contents were entirely blank (black, in fact.) it was getting past the splash screen fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.