SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2020, 07:49 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,697
ATSC 3.0 Tuners?

It is disappointing that there don't appear to have been any ATSC 3.0 tuners announced at CES this year.

However SiliconDust, makers of the HDHR, do appear to have a placeholder web page at: https://www.silicondust.com/about/in...ee-antenna_tv/

It would be nice to see some tuners become available so that we can start capturing OTA ATSC 3.0 in SageTV.

edit - I did find a tuner that has been around since June. But you don't appear able to order it:

https://www.geniatech.com/product/a683/
https://www.cnx-software.com/2019/06...-usb-tv-tuner/
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server

Last edited by wayner; 01-09-2020 at 07:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2020, 12:22 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
It is disappointing that there don't appear to have been any ATSC 3.0 tuners announced at CES this year.

However SiliconDust, makers of the HDHR, do appear to have a placeholder web page at: https://www.silicondust.com/about/in...ee-antenna_tv/

It would be nice to see some tuners become available so that we can start capturing OTA ATSC 3.0 in SageTV.

edit - I did find a tuner that has been around since June. But you don't appear able to order it:

https://www.geniatech.com/product/a683/
https://www.cnx-software.com/2019/06...-usb-tv-tuner/
There are ATSC 3.0 tuners but unless you got 1.5k in your back pocket there point in buy one and fact that Advanced Television Systems Committee just give the go ahead to start building tuner we should see USB and Set-top box in next 6 months.
Just keep eye out on CordCuttersNews and Antenna Man and there should at lease 60+ television station markets airing by the end of 2020.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-2020, 01:06 PM
Galaxysurfer Galaxysurfer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary, AB CANADA
Posts: 282
I talked to Hauppauge support. They have added live chat as of 6 months ago. I asked my agent who told me they are introducing products at 2021 CEC show.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-2020, 01:11 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,697
I wonder about Silicon Dust as they make the HDHR. I wonder if/when they will have an ATSC 3.0 version of the HDHR.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-2020, 02:18 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
I wonder about Silicon Dust as they make the HDHR. I wonder if/when they will have an ATSC 3.0 version of the HDHR.
I'm sure they will next year
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-05-2020, 04:17 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,697
By next year you mean 2021? I would hope we would have devices available before that.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-05-2020, 06:03 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
By next year you mean 2021? I would hope we would have devices available before that.
Whatís the rush? To me ATSC3.0 for TV is a lot like 5g for phones - itís interesting to read about, but Extremely premature for most consumers to think about buying products. Might make sense in a couple years.

Most networks arenít broadcasting atsc3.0 yet. Most TVs donít have atsc3.0 tuners built in. There are no free (government sponsored) or cheap external adapters that you can use with an older tv. I think this will be a very slow transition.

Similarly, 5g cell networks are extremely limited in coverage, the first generation of equipment is not significantly faster than 4gLTE, power efficiency and battery life are poor,... Right now you are much better off with a 4g phone. But no doubt 5g will probably gain parity with 4g by end of this year and be noticeably better by end of 2021.
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-05-2020, 07:00 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,697
Why shouldn't we have ATSC 3.0 as it give us 4K in OTA? Netflix has had 4K for over five years, I have had some cable content in 4K for several years. Pretty much any TV you buy is 4K.

Think back to 15-20 years ago when HD started. The best place to get HD in the early years was OTA. Now OTA is the last place getting upgraded to the next higher resolution.

4K for OTA is not as bleeding edge as 5G for phones.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-06-2020, 03:16 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Why shouldn't we have ATSC 3.0 as it give us 4K in OTA? Netflix has had 4K for over five years, I have had some cable content in 4K for several years. Pretty much any TV you buy is 4K.

Think back to 15-20 years ago when HD started. The best place to get HD in the early years was OTA. Now OTA is the last place getting upgraded to the next higher resolution.

4K for OTA is not as bleeding edge as 5G for phones.
When OTA first went digital is wasn't really about improving the quality as it was about freeing broadcast frequency space for other uses. Getting a better quality picture was a side effect.

Perhaps I'm a TV Luddite (still only have 720p TV's) or maybe that my vision couldn't even tell the difference but personally I don't see a good reason to uproot a standard. It means broadcasters have to replace equipment in the name of a higher res picture with no real return for them (like more channel space). It's one thing for Netflix who can just transmit a different file format over the existing infrastructure.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-06-2020, 04:02 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
When OTA first went digital is wasn't really about improving the quality as it was about freeing broadcast frequency space for other uses. Getting a better quality picture was a side effect.

Perhaps I'm a TV Luddite (still only have 720p TV's) or maybe that my vision couldn't even tell the difference but personally I don't see a good reason to uproot a standard. It means broadcasters have to replace equipment in the name of a higher res picture with no real return for them (like more channel space). It's one thing for Netflix who can just transmit a different file format over the existing infrastructure.
LoL you must still be on 32" then
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-06-2020, 04:38 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
4K for OTA is not as bleeding edge as 5G for phones.
On May God Pleases for love god don't tell me you think 5G bleeding edge as turn out to be more of a joke that only work going in major metropolis city just nothing but a bunch marketing hype as there way tell with all conflicting stories from review.
Will I see 5G haha that must likely be 10/15 years from now as T-Mobile is joke in my town and AT&T Towers are much further away.
4k OTA is much more bleeding edge as it get full min 7 to high 14 day EPG + Photo and many other detail I get it before 5G will ever show up here LoL even where I live at in the middle of the boonies.
And there be none of this 480i/1080i it supposed be all progressive video signal

Last edited by SHS; 02-06-2020 at 05:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-06-2020, 05:01 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
LoL you must still be on 32" then
32" bedroom, 52" living room
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-06-2020, 05:41 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
32" bedroom, 52" living room
You 52" has be 1080 I don't recall there making any that big as 720p only display.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-06-2020, 05:42 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
You 52" has be 1080 I don't recall there making any that big as 720p only display.
Nope. 720p DLP projection.

http://support.jvc.com/consumer/prod...lId=MODL027718

Bought in 2006...lol.

I did say I have low standards to meet.

Last edited by wnjj; 02-06-2020 at 05:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-06-2020, 05:51 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Nope. 720p DLP projection.

http://support.jvc.com/consumer/prod...lId=MODL027718

Bought in 2006...lol.

I did say I have low standards to meet.
Oh that not what I was thinking
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTv Compatible ATSC / ClearQAM Tuners USB unclepoo Hardware Support 1 03-22-2016 06:01 PM
ATSC Channels Not Available On All Tuners, Just Some Sage v7 Savage1701 Hardware Support 4 01-21-2011 06:30 AM
Multiple ATSC Tuners... STV's channel selection criteria? transco SageTV EPG Service 3 06-30-2009 08:48 AM
Hard drive bandwidth - 2 HD Tuners & 4 Analog Tuners electronics4lif Hardware Support 17 05-06-2008 06:28 AM
Combo vs. Discrete Tuners (ATI 650 or seperate SD and HD tuners) dmiraclejr Hardware Support 5 10-09-2006 11:34 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.