SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v7 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 7 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 7 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-04-2022, 01:55 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,139
Plex and updating SageTV libraries - not happening.

Anyone have any recommendations for making Plex update my SageTV directories/libraries? JellyFin and AirVideoHD are updating as shows are recorded, but Plex hasnít updated in months, even though Iím continually updating their server software.

Any ideas to kickstart it while away from the server (on vacation).
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-05-2022, 10:03 PM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 398
You need extended filenames enabled in SageTV. This will require stopping the server and modifying the properties file.

HERE is more information.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-2022, 10:24 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zogg View Post
You need extended filenames enabled in SageTV. This will require stopping the server and modifying the properties file.

HERE is more information.
Thanks - I'm experimenting with this now, and not sure it's doing the trick.

With a W10 installation of SageTV and Plex, is there anything you'd recommend regarding Plex's Library setup, aka the 'Advanced' area where 'Scanner' and 'Agent' are set up?
That's where I'm thinking my problem may be.
I have TWO tuners, each which record to specific drives, and each tuner records a combination of movies and tv shows.
Something tells me PLEX doesn't want things set up this way...
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2022, 11:13 AM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Thanks - I'm experimenting with this now, and not sure it's doing the trick.

With a W10 installation of SageTV and Plex, is there anything you'd recommend regarding Plex's Library setup, aka the 'Advanced' area where 'Scanner' and 'Agent' are set up?
That's where I'm thinking my problem may be.
I have TWO tuners, each which record to specific drives, and each tuner records a combination of movies and tv shows.
Something tells me PLEX doesn't want things set up this way...
I haven't changed any of those settings from the default. Both my Agent and Scanner are set to "Plex TV Series".

I will say the thumbnails are horribly wrong for a lot of shows, but I don't use Plex much so I really don't care.

Otherwise, Plex wasn't finding my recordings either until I followed that post and enabled extended filenames. I don't remember doing anything else.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-10-2022, 02:22 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zogg View Post
I haven't changed any of those settings from the default. Both my Agent and Scanner are set to "Plex TV Series".

I will say the thumbnails are horribly wrong for a lot of shows, but I don't use Plex much so I really don't care.

Otherwise, Plex wasn't finding my recordings either until I followed that post and enabled extended filenames. I don't remember doing anything else.
Okay. I deleted my older libraries, re-added them, and all of a sudden, things started to show up. Wildly inaccurate as far as movies vs. tv shows, but at least the content is listed now thanks
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sagetv recorded tv + plex and sub-directories sDiesel SageTV Software 2 03-22-2022 10:51 PM
Debug SageTV Server on Linux (focus on native libraries not java) mwnswiss SageTV Github Development 0 09-19-2015 03:45 AM
Plex 4.0 - better peruse the Plex.forum before updating.... tvmaster2 General Discussion 18 08-17-2015 10:16 AM
Eventghost, Plex and SageTV lovingHDTV SageTV Software 16 09-18-2014 09:04 PM
SageTV v6 hangs upon loading [First time happening!] royhuang SageTV Software 1 09-13-2008 12:53 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.